Ratings based on 1,854 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nice place, 2 blocks from convention center.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
staff were very helpful, room was small (historic bldg) but comfortable. cable tv options better than usual with sports, turner classic movies, and fox news
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2016
We arrived in the morning not expecting our room to be ready (wanted to store our luggage) but they upgraded us and got us settled in a beautiful room in the new wing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Pretty from the outside but...

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: Good location
Very friendly staff and pretty from the outside but the bathroom had dirty looking, old tile and grout and tub--I wore socks every time I had to go into the bathroom and wish I had flipflops for the shower. No iron in the room and we were told we had to go downstairs to get ice which was a pain since we were on the 4th floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel in good location.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Close to the whitehouse and spy museum and AAAS
Excellent historic hotel downtown DC. Not a lot of amenities but lot of good restaurants in the area. The staff was outstanding!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, FL

Worthwhile Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: friendliness, good housekeeping, staff friendly throughout; fitness center; TV access screens very good and easy to operate.
Cons: faster internet
Location: monuments close, public library is within walking distance and variety of menus and atmospheres.
The décor is inviting and the facilities are well kept up and clean. Front desk is open 24/7 and fitness room is tip-top. Food in the restaurant is good albeit prices on some items are very high, e.g. glass of orange juice is $4. I found the mgr responsive as I needed a larger room to hang business attire and in short order a change was made with no extra charges. Internet access is s-l-o-w and a bit cumbersome in terms of frequently needing to log in. Password was changed after using it a few days with no warning or reminder. Location is ideal and accessible to many DC sights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Cons: There really wasn't very much I could find fault with but if I had to include one thing it would be larger coffee cups. The serves were tiny.
This was a lovely introduction to theUSA for us being our first stop. The hotel staff on check in were very helpful and even upgraded us to a junior suite with a box of boutique chocolates too! Old fashioned charm all the way. The service was very good, the rooms clean, complimentary water bottles each day, and very centrally located. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Stayed many times

Posted Sep 30, 2016
I always enjoyed staying in the old historic part of the hotel. The new addition that was added is beautiful and modern. Have not had a room in the historic part since all the renovations but can attest that the new rooms are fantastic. A convenient three block walk to the Mt. Vernon metro keeps me coming back when in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Wanda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know you love the renovations as much as we do. We look forward to your next stay with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: See above.
Excellent staff, restaurant, and room was very comfortable. The location enabled us to walk to the main attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Lovely staff in decent hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
The room is small-ish but comfortable. It was nicely decorated in neutral colours with a relatively big bath. It had most amenities you eould expect, but lacked a vanity kit which they struggled to get, but they went out of their way eventually to obtain it. Breakfast was good in a nice room. The gym was functional but very small. Downtown location which was fine, although we were recommended not to walk back in the evenings. The rate was staggering, but it was during a big event so probably not representative. For the rate I paid, it seemed very expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to convention center

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Clean Great bed sheets and pillow Nice bathroom Better than I expected