Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Enjoyable stay - great location

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Bed comfortable - room spacious - host very personable
Cons: After being on a cruise the traffic noise was a problem at first!
Location: Walking distance to all attractions and restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baden-Württemberg

Haus mit tollem Ambiente

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Die schöne Einrichtung und das tolle Ambiente. Hier stimmte alles
Cons: Es gibt nichts zu verbessern.
Location: Die Sehenswürdigkeiten Washingtons sind von hier aus gut erreichbar
Wir hatten drei Nächte in Mount Vernon gebucht und waren völlig begeistert von diesem schönen Haus. Es ist wunderbar eingerichtet und der Besitzer legt viel Wert auf Stil. Frühstück mit klassischer Musik und Silberbesteck. Ein toller Gegensatz zur Plastikgeschirrmentalität der Amerikaner! Lage gut, nicht weit bis zur nächsten U-Bahn, aber vieles ist auch fußläufig gut zu erreichen. Frühstück war klasse, alles frisch und selbst gekocht und jeden Tag etwas anderes. Für uns war das Haus etwas gan Besonderes. Besitzer und Personal sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melb. Australia

Hospitality Plus!!

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The establishment is located in a reasonably quiet residential area which is only 5 minutes walk to a beautiful restaurant precinct and supermarket.
We had the most wonderful stay at Mt Vernon Bed & Breakfast. Keith is host of this wonderful establishment, and what a host at that!! We stayed in the Cleopatra Room which was clean, spacious and well appointed. The bed was incredibly large and comfortable and the bathroom was also very generous in size, in fact large enough to also house a spa bath in addition to a shower. The room was charming with plenty of light and character. Upon arrival we were greeted with a huge smile and a welcome glass of wine or beer whilst being shown around the room and its facilities. But the absolute highlight of our stay was the magnificent breakfast served each morning at 8.30am around a beautifully set communal table. It's such a great experience to meet fellow guests and travellers from around the world and to compare travel notes in a friendly environment. The breakfast was absolutely delicious too with plenty of variety. We started with a small fruit plate as a starter followed by banana and coconut pancakes with maple syrup and/or fresh herb sprinkled scrambled eggs, freshly brewed coffee and fresh juice. There's also plenty of room to sit and read or relax in a lovely sitting room at the front of the house. We loved our stay at Mt Vernon and will definitely be visiting Keith and his staff again when next in Washington DC. We can't recommend this B&B highly enough - sometimes words just don't seem to say enough.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Great location...great place to stay.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: The freedom of coming and going.
Location: Very close to metro. Safeway around the corner. Restaurants within walking distance.
Within less than a mile walking distance to the DC convention center/metro. House is huge and beautiful. Very quiet interior. Close to major roads like New York Ave. Safeway is around the corner and plenty of places to eat. Breakfast was fantastic. I have a gluten issue and they accommodated me. It was like being at home and being taken care of all the same time! Keith is a wonderful host and makes sure you know all the comforts of the home and the best way to relax.
5 out of 5
by Gary from Houston, TX

Easy Access to National Mall

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful, kind staff. Delicious breakfast served family style which allowed enjoyable interaction with other guests. Walked to restaurants, Capitol, and Union Station.
5 out of 5
by Edward from Indianapolis

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent - wonderful breakfast - Keith and Mildred(?)were great hosts cooks - we definitely will go back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shawn from DC


Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Just an absolute wonderful time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice B&B near Convention Center

Posted Feb 21, 2016
A very nice B&B close to the DC convention center. The full and plated breakfast each morning was a wonderful way to start your day in Washington DC. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staiff and owner were exemplary.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great 2nd Empire B&B close to a Metro station

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing Bed and Breakfast. A fellow named Keith owns and runs this house and keeps it in great shape. Personal attention to guests and terrific food and coffee. Original 19th century woodwork and stained glass windows are great for fans of 2nd Empire architecture. I will definitely stay there again. Only issue is limited parking.