Ratings based on 3,753 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

$160/night;NO parking;NO complimentary breakfast

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Too expensive with out basic amneties. $160 /per 1 day + taxes Parking not included (valet parking $49/per night) Complimentary breakfast not included. (We paid for breakfast). Ended up with lots of extra charges because we were unaware of them when making reservation through Expedia. I will never recommend this hotel to others.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Screw up with resevations and food.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Great conferencesand weddings going on. That's all they can do. Otherwise forone night exhausted travelers, just...doesn't...exist.
Cons: It was so bad, I could write a lengthy punchlist.
Yhe resevations lost my first reservation, after charging me $189. The hotel operator said I was being taken to a 'lodge'. Upon arrival, the front desk never heard of it. I was exhadusted and frustrated . They got the additional $319 rate through Expedia. Then front desk gave me a $25 complimentary foid and beverage card. But the in house dining never answered. But they askedpeople to leave a message and 'your food and beverage will be delivered.' It never arrived. In frustration after 3.5 hours, I left and slept in my car. The room smelled musty and the bathroom had a sewage smell. Altogether, I am out over $500.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Bay , Ca

Beautiful old hotel, hard place to sleep

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Well the floors creak awfully, so people ablove you make tons of noise , the ÅC units are these crappy 90's motel versions that are noisy and come off and on, doors slam a lot . You get the picture. The lobby is beautiful . I talked to someone at the front desk who offered another room but admitted I would probably have similar problems. It's an elegant hotel , close to the Metro ..if you can sleep anywhere go for it
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane

Convenient! - Eating places and the Metro.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Within two blocks, great variety of good food, with a variety of price ranges.
Large historic hotel, with a beautiful back yard facing the park. Excellent breakfast choices.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place! Amazing decor and location.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Cons: Parking is too expensive.
Location: Eat, walk, jog, nature. Convenient to everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great location, Parkview Rooms not great

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The lobby, gardens and pool are gorgeous.
Cons: Try not to get the Parkview Rooms and hope Omni gives the rooms a good facelift soon!
Location: You have the red metro line less than a block away and Open City Cafe was a lovely place for breakfast. The location is possibly the best thing!
This is a beautiful, old, historical hotel in a convenient location. However the rooms (we were back in ParkView rooms WAY in the back of the hotel) are not to be recommended. It is quite a trek to get to them and they are no different than any hotel built in the 80's. They were also showing some wear, desperately in need of an update. Housekeeping also did not reach our room on the 3rd day of our stay by 3p. We told the front desk as we left again around 5 for the evening, and they STILL had not serviced our room, so we went without, although they came by with new towels after contacting them late in the evening upon return. This was disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel starting to show some wear

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: It is nicely located close to restaurants, a CVS and a metro station.
Cons: I think some repair work could be done to improve the room we stayed in.
Location: The National Zoo is close by and the metro station can take you where you need to go. The metro is about a half mile away.
I don't want to make this an overwhelmingly negative review. My experience was adequate at the Omni Shoreham, but I wouldn't put it any higher up on the scale. I am not someone who relies on staff or usually has many problems so they were okay for the most part, but some of the furniture in our room wasn't cleaned well. Also, there are spots in the room ceiling where there were cracks or places with possible water damage and the room did have a moldy smell at times. The biggest problem we had was that one of the elevators broke, causing us for a day and a half to pretty much stop on every one of the 8 floors as we went both up and down the elevator to our room. Normally, I wouldn't have a problem using stairs, but we were staying on the seventh floor and after walking 10 miles around town all day we didn't feel like walking 7 flights to our room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Beautiful hotel, excellent customer service in every area I was in contact with.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

You would never know you were in a busy city

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Beautiful. Looked out over the pool. Surrounded by trees. You would never guess you were in DC.
Cons: Not having big weddings u der your sleeping guests who have early morning meetings.
Location: Lots of shops and restaurants. Close to subway. Easy to get to all DC attractions.
Very quiet on all nights except one. Wedding with drums below us. Complaint was dealt with appropriately.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business mtg

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice hotel but a little dated. Took awhile to check in because there was only one person available. Ate at the Robert restaurant and there was a limited menu and the waiter was not very attentive. Nice location of you want to be outside the hub bub.