Ratings based on 4,033 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford,Ojio

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Valet parking of $49/night is ludicrous.
Close to the metro stop and tourist sights, wonderful restaurants, great grounds and pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

A Classic for Everybody

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Lot's of space in our suite.
Cons: Improve the elevators. The physical size can't be changed, but doors open and close repeatedly for no reason and the logic stops them on empty floors.
Location: Connecticut Avenue is a block away and has lots of international eateries and a metro stop to access everything DC has to offer.
It's a grand old hotel with rich history that has been kept up rather nicely. It has an abundance of room. The lobby is huge and must have been a HQ for what seemed to be at least a thousand people decked out in colored t-shirts for a Rise-Up march on DC. With all of that, everything seemed to function just fine. The staff, from the doormen to the maids, were extremely pleasant and helpful. They didn't skimp on room service as we had fresh linens every day. I would certainly return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel but has organization and service issues

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Check in was delayed by what was explained to me as being due to late check outs. I was never told about the fee for " incidentals that would be charged to my card. I was mistakenly over charged and when I inquired, I was told that "it was a system glitch and a mistake on their part" without an apology and the burden was on me to contact my bank to reconcile the issue. Nice pool-kids loved it! Small, slow antiquated elevators that could not keep up with the volume of traffic in such a large hotel. Great that it was walking distance from the National zoo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY NICE

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: STAFF COULDNT DO EVOUGH FOR US
Cons: SATISFIED
Location: CLOSE TO METRO FINE LOCATION
EXTRA HELPFUL STAFF, SERVICE WAS GREAT.LOCATION FINE NEAR METRO AND SHOPS. CONCEAGE EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OC, CA

Terrible food service

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Our overall hotel experience was ok. The information desk was most helpful and kind. The hotel cleaning staff was helpful and kind. The food service (breakfast buffet/room service) was the worst I've ever experienced in my life! Many of the servers were rude and acted as if we were wasting their time. The hotel manager was very apologetic and did comp our meal after our disturbing confrontation with the food staff. I think their food staff could use some positive professional development on customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstandind stay!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Omni Shoreham is a truly glamorous hotel steeped in history and charm. The staff was superb and the location so convenient.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value was good enough

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Value was good enough. Difficult to use public transportation from the hotel, timing of the Circulator bus, maybe I just didn't figure out how to get to the "M".... Room was clean, but beat up, it's in need of an update. Good value for being close to DC but the parking was high at $49/day, that adds up after 4 days. Food avail at pool & restaurant was so-so, burger & crab-cake sandwich were excellent. Pizza and Caesar salad (no croutons) were not.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Like a hotel in a botanical garden

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: ground floor, garden
Cons: wayfinding is a little challenging
Location: many things to do nearby
Awesome location and experience. Big City hotel in a more pastoral location. great for families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vintage elegance

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Location: Great location for zoo, restaurants, National Cathedral
Great old hotel, lobby and grounds. Kudos to front desk for dealing with grumpy guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Only negative comment is that food menus do not include gluten free options. We have a child with celiac, so we could never eat at the restaurant. The only thing we could get her, was fruit cups at Morsels.