Ratings based on 498 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & cozy

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Very clean and well appointed
Cons: More access to king sized beds.
Location: Near Georgetown but a long walking distance from from major attractions.
Disappointed we didn't get a king sized bed as requested at the time of reservation. We did check in early the day of arrival so expected availability of our bed preference. However, we were pleased they accommodated us early. Room VERY small but well appointed and clean. Remainder of the facilities were fine. They furnished a lot of momentos in celebration of the Inauguration.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, not a Renaissance quality building

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: staff
Cons: Re-flag it as a Fairfield Inn
The staff was very good -- positive attitude, tried to be helpful even during a very busy period. The issue is that in order to price this hotel like a Renaissance, Marriott put that label on what is really a Fairfield Inn quality of building: tiny overcrowded rooms with tiny windows that don't open, very mediocre and tiny bathrooms, third-rate lobby. Marriott is putting lipstick on a pig by calling this a Renaissance rather than a Fairfield. Too bad because, as I said, the staff really have a good attitude and try to be helpful whenever they can.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, needs some remodel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
While the hotel is in a good location, rooms need some help. I did not expect to find a bathtub with large spots without coating in a 4-star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from california

Excellent hotel for the inauguration

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Beautiful, location and staff
Cons: It was all perfect
Location: Close to metro...close walk to Georgetown. Illy coffee next door .
We stayed here for president Trumps inauguration and the staff was amazing. Although the prices were high during the specific days, the experience was amazing , the hotel spoiled us with special treats each night and a collectible inauguration picture . They were the best !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston SC

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over a weekend. My room was very comfortable in all aspects. The staff were lovely and always offering to help. I used the fitness gym facility both days and I found the equipment to be well maintained. I especially liked the sitting area in the lobby. There is an illy coffee shop right there so you can grab an excellent coffee and relax on one of the numerous sofas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room surprisingly cramped for luxury hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Wonderfully helpful, friendly, and efficient staff.
Cons: If the room architecture cannot be changed, then fully disclose how cramped it is, and drop the rate. This was not a luxury experience.
Location: Great restaurants nearby- Risika. The Metro is a 5-10 minute walk through decent neighborhood.
Given the room rates and the hotel's self-proclaimed status as a luxury hotel, I was surprised by how tiny and cramped the room was. There was barely room to walk around the furniture. There was a swing-out table top to serve as the only desk. When it was swung out, it completely blocked all passage, and there was barely room to put a chair at it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Welcoming to All

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: A lovely lobby area with an attached coffee shop was very convenient .
Cons: You might consider having complimentary coffee in the lobby (at least until the coffee shop is open).
Location: The location was perfect.We were able to walk to and from destinations- about 7 miles.
My daughters, granddaughters, and I recently stayed when we came to DC for the Women's March. We arrived early Saturday morning when many inauguration attendees were having coffee and/or preparing to leave. Although our reasons for visiting Washington were very different, our treatment from the staff was not. We were all welcome and treated with utmost courtesy and respect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

Triple Check your Booking - you may get charged!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: It was in a reasonable distance to Metro, and tourist attractions.
Cons: Professionalism of the housekeeping staff.
Location: Variety of restaurants, cafes, chemists and Metro in walking distance
Even though I had booked a room that included internet, I was advised that I would be charged an internet charge per night, I was advised that my booking only included the free Wi-Fi in the foyer and reception area. After much going back and forward and my firmness to say that internet WAS included in the cost of my room, as per my booking confirmation, they decided honour the booking. ALSO a major concern, make sure you lock your room, housekeeping had a habit of just barging in at 8.30 am in the morning even though we had the Do Not Disturb Sign on the Door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Small rooms

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Their website said 275 square feet but I doubt it. On the positive side - staff was very friendly and location is convenient to all the sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inaguration stay

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Hotel was a great location for all events. Staff were great- especially GiGi on the club level.