Ratings based on 4,373 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deserted area

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The hotel is a short walk to the Mall but not much else. No nearby restaurants or cafes, and on Sunday there was no place to get a coffee other than a Starbucks a couple of blocks away with lousy service. Georgetown is about a 30 minute walk and the Metro about 10 minute walk. There is a dismal CVS nextdoor. Hotel staff not terribly helpful. If someone standing by the door they might open the inner door for you but not the outer one, but mostly your on your own with the doors and your luggage. I had a broken coffee pit and radio in the room. Both were replaced but I realized the coffee packets left were not meant to be used with the coffee maker they provide. I booked a King bed but was given a room with two queens because I had requested a room in a quiet location. As it turned out, it was quite noisy anyway. You can hear doors closing all the way down the hallway and the Housekeeping staff make tremendous noise early and late. They don't seem to know that guests might like some quiet at those hours. It's fairly easy to get a cab or Uber, but don't expect to do anything much in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elmira, ON

Friendly, convenient accommodation

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Great little hotel. It was nice to have a kitchen for breakfast and snacks. Pharmacy with groceries was next door as was a liquor store! Staff were very helpful and friendly. Quiet -- and welcoming to all ages. Not many ammenities but if you can live without a pool, this is a great spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideally close to local focal points

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The food was good and reasonably priced at the restaurant. The Washington Post was delivered each morning to your door. Staff: courteous & efficient
Cons: Elevator to ground floor would have been nice. The opening of the elevator was 5 steps higher than the front desk. More variety in menu of restaurant
Location: I was there on matters relating to research at George Washington University. It was 2 blocks away the seminar I was attending.
Very pleasant and convenient with respect to my local needs and objectives. Reasonably priced with courteous and efficient staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closest hotel to State dept and lincoln memorial

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The staff here is great, many of them have been there for a long time. This is basically a boutique hotel with a restaurant, not a lot of meeting space, but very comfortable. The rooms are large the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms and kitchens are spacious for a hotel. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matawan, NJ

Impeccable Property

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: I liked the cleanliness and the polite and helpful staff.
Cons: The valet parking was a little expensive but I guess that is to be expected.
Location: There aren't many businesses in the area but there was a Whole Foods about 4 blocks away. The White House was only 4 blocks away.
My wife and I booked our room while on the road to Washington and selected State Plaza because of an attractive rate and it's close proximity to the areas attractions. Upon arrival we were surprised to find the room was equipped with a full kitchen with a 4 burner stove, microwave, toaster, tea kettle pots and pans and utensils. This was a welcome surprise as my wife has asthma and having access to hot tea provides welcomed relief. The king sized bed proved to be very comfortable wit 6 fluffy pillows. Everything was impeccably clean and the bathroom while small could only be described as gleaming. I was impressed to find an expensive shower head that was terrific as compared to so many wimpy water savers I have experienced at even fine hotels. Overall the property is maintained to the highest standard with everything clean and freshly painted. Even the service stairs were spotless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadephia

Close to Kennedy Center

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, Room
Location: Close to Kennedy Center, a CVS is next door
Hotel is in walking distance from the Kennedy Center. Room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Staff members were very helpful. Having a small kitchen in the room was very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale area

Perfect location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
My experience at the State Plaza hotel was nothing short of excellent. The location of the hotel was a key contributor as for why I chose it at first. Once there the staff was friendly and informative. The room was comfortable and clean. I plan on visiting Washington again and will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and great place to stay.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Close to the Lincoln Memorial and easy walk to many other locations. Rooms have full kitchens for those staying longer, but food at restaurant was very good. Staff was very helpful and courteous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Noise

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: close to mall
Cons: elevator noise reduction
We werer put in a very noisy room due to the elevator. Cold bathroom that had no air ducts into it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Hotel is nice but surrounding area is LOUD....

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The hotel, staff, amenities were great but I was not expecting it to be so loud. There are emergency vehicles passing by near this street. We had a room facing toward an alley, and obnoxious loud people would yell in the middle of the night. Now, compound that noise with emergency vehicles and you're in for a treat. I loved everything about the hotel except the surrounding noise.