Ratings based on 4,463 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and close to attractions.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Had dinette that did not expect a good plus. Odd no bathroom fan though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

boutique style

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very nice clean and comfortable. Close to the museums and monuments. Close to George Washington University.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisivlle,KY

great location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
In GWU area. Bus stop in front. Close to White House and Lincoln Monument. We had a suite and the most comfortable beds!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel walk to the White House.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Wonderful hotel and staff. Also you can buy foods then cook in your own kitchen for nice meals! Millions thanks to the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond

Close to downtown sightseeing

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Charming, clean, good for a respite time together with a loved one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great hotel close to National Mall and university.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The room was spacious, clean, comfy beds, kitchenette was a nice benefit that allowed us to save some money on meals. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: The elevator is very slow which really isn't a problem other then accounting for the extra time to get to/from your room.
Location: We especially enjoyed eating at Founding Farmers, Abunai Poke, Icycode rolled ice cream and seeing National Monuments lighted up at night.
Hotel is located on edge of a university and few blocks from National Mall. We didn't rent a car so we wouldn't have to deal with parking and driving in traffic. We enjoyed walking and renting Capitol Bikeshare to get where we wanted to go. Sometimes we would call a Lyft if we didn't want to work up a sweat. Metro (another way to travel) and Whole Foods in Foggy Bottom just a few blocks away. This hotel is unique but pleasant. It is narrow and spreads between 2 blocks so it has a lobby entrance on each side. They appear identical so it can really turn you around when orienting yourself. You will see homeless people camped in a small park across the street from the south lobby but we never felt unsafe. You will find university students walking around outside the north lobby. We would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel near to all the monuments

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness, the spacious rooms, pleasant staff and the kitchen
Cons: Do something about the homeless encampment on the other side of the street
Location: All the major monuments, tourist attractions are within walking distance. We ended up walking miles but it was great. We recommend renting a bicycle
We booked to stay at State Plaza hotel because it is reasonably priced (for the area) and within walking distance of the major attractions. The rooms are large and the major plus point was the kitchen. The decor of the hotel is a bit "tired" but it is well maintained and clean. The linen was good and the beds very comfortable. The staff was also accommodating of the fact that we had a bicycle with us. My daughter went riding to various places while we were in DC. The only negative point is that there are some homeless people living in tents across the road. They were not really offensive but were obvious and a couple of times in the evening came across "bodies" collapsed on the sidewalk. This really does lower the tone of the neighbourhood. We will stay there again the next time we are in Washington.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York & Montana

Vintage hotel with a hint of old-world elegance!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The room was fantastic, the staff were helpful, the exercise room was small, but well-equipped, the food was delicious. And there's even a happy hour!
Cons: More air conditioning in the exercise room?
Location: The hotel is less than or up to a mile from the Mall, Washington Monument, Lincoln Monument, Executive Building and museums.
A friend and I had one night in Washington, DC. We both fell in love with this hotel. The room was large and lovely, well-lit, quiet, with a full kitchen and a "dressing room" leading into the bathroom. We were tired after traveling and reluctantly ordered room service. Our filet mignon was delivered promptly and hot and was as delicious as any fine restaurant. The bottle of wine was quite reasonable. We didn't have a wine opener in the room, and room service turned around and brought one back in a couple of minutes. The location is very convenient, and we enjoyed the walk to the Washington Monument (about a mile). In summary, the State Plaza Hotel is just a lovely, restful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Castro Valley, CA

We loved the location, close to Big Bus

Posted Jun 9, 2017
GREAT time, saw a lot. Walked to the White House, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

The hotel is dated but it is well kept up.

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Its location to the national mall.
Cons: Because it is at the edge of the business district there are a lot of homeless people around the hotel. We had no trouble but were uncomfortable.
Location: Lots of places to eat. Near the national Mall.
The hotel is dated but the staff has it well kept up. The hotel is near the George Washington University so there are a lot of college kids which we felt was great.