Ratings based on 4,393 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Great location!

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Nice, clean rooms and good location
Cons: Fire in our hall one night, pretty smoky. Stayed extra night, asked for lower rate because of smoke and inconvenience the night before, to no avail
Location: Kennedy Center and great restaurant across the street from it; close to path along the Potomac, short walk from White House and National Mall area
Our stay at the State Plaza Hotel was wonderful. The location was perfect for walking to the White House, the Kennedy Center, the National Mall, and all of the other things we wanted to see and do. The room was very nice, beds were comfortable, and the shower was amazing! It was in a nice neighborhood with a Starbucks down the street for coffee in the morning and a CVS right next door for drinks and snacks before bed. We would definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Everything was excellent. The only issue was that the bellman called a taxi that wasn't a taxi who overcharged the trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great staff, great facility!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. All the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, and the location was so convenient to the mall. We would definitely stay again and recommend to our friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gilbert AZ

Visiting Washington DC for first time

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Location: We walked back from a full day of visiting the Capitol Buildings, Washington Mall. The Reflecting Pool and Viet Nam Memorial were awesome.
The hotel was wishing walking distance of the Washington Mall. With a clean room, great service and restaurant in the hotel it was a great place to home base for our visit to the Washington sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to GW university.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Convient to GW university.free parking on side streets only on sundays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Easy access to sights.

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Good location for Museums and monuments, but not so great for restaurants and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver

24 hour turn around

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: The location was perfect for any meeting in the Washington DC area.
Cons: Nothing.
Great hotel and room! The staff was very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deserted area

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The hotel is a short walk to the Mall but not much else. No nearby restaurants or cafes, and on Sunday there was no place to get a coffee other than a Starbucks a couple of blocks away with lousy service. Georgetown is about a 30 minute walk and the Metro about 10 minute walk. There is a dismal CVS nextdoor. Hotel staff not terribly helpful. If someone standing by the door they might open the inner door for you but not the outer one, but mostly your on your own with the doors and your luggage. I had a broken coffee pit and radio in the room. Both were replaced but I realized the coffee packets left were not meant to be used with the coffee maker they provide. I booked a King bed but was given a room with two queens because I had requested a room in a quiet location. As it turned out, it was quite noisy anyway. You can hear doors closing all the way down the hallway and the Housekeeping staff make tremendous noise early and late. They don't seem to know that guests might like some quiet at those hours. It's fairly easy to get a cab or Uber, but don't expect to do anything much in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elmira, ON

Friendly, convenient accommodation

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Great little hotel. It was nice to have a kitchen for breakfast and snacks. Pharmacy with groceries was next door as was a liquor store! Staff were very helpful and friendly. Quiet -- and welcoming to all ages. Not many ammenities but if you can live without a pool, this is a great spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideally close to local focal points

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The food was good and reasonably priced at the restaurant. The Washington Post was delivered each morning to your door. Staff: courteous & efficient
Cons: Elevator to ground floor would have been nice. The opening of the elevator was 5 steps higher than the front desk. More variety in menu of restaurant
Location: I was there on matters relating to research at George Washington University. It was 2 blocks away the seminar I was attending.
Very pleasant and convenient with respect to my local needs and objectives. Reasonably priced with courteous and efficient staff.