Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The room was very tiny but it served its purpose.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

3 stars?????? you gotta be kidding

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: NOTHING.
Cons: .......
HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE EXCUSE OF A HOTEL. STINKY CRACKED YELLOW WALLS/ GENERIC ALL WIRED MATRESSES THAT ARE A TORTURE TO SLEEP ON/ RUUUUUDE AND MOSTLY UNAVAILABE STAFF...... AND BEFORE I FORGET, EXTREMELY SLOW TO NON-EXISTENT WIFI ACCESS IF YOUR ROOM IS LOCATED ON UPPER FLOORS AND/OR AT THE END OF THE HALLWAYS. OF COURSE, YOU WILL BE INFORMED OF THIS AFTER YOU HAVE ALREADY CHECKED IN. I WAS IN WASHINGTON FOR ONLY A ONE AND A HALF DAY TRIP IN ORDER TO TAKE CARE OF SOME EMBASSY RELATED STUFF, AND I SERIOUSLY CONSIDERED CHANGING HOTELS ON MY VERY FIRST NIGHT.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Ok

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: cosmetics upgrades.
Location: Starbucks around the corner. Restuarants close by. Taxi's sitting around the corner and Metro close by.
Location was perfect. Dwayne at front desk was very nice . Rooms need updating ,carpets were dirty and bed skirts wrinkled looked aweful but bathroom was nice and clean ! Just a couple of improvements would make a differnence. If a few improvements were made I would recommend but at first glance it takes you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, esp. considering price and location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Price, location, comfort, cleanliness
Cons: Could use so renovating, especially the carpets.
Location: Close walk to Dupont Circle metro, lots of great restaurants.
I had a great experience at the Baron Hotel. Yes, it could use some updates, but it was very clean, comfortable, and smelled nice and fresh. Considering how cheap it is and it's great location, I think it's a great deal, would recommend to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think Twice!!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Great Location, but if you expect any of the modern conveniences or finishes seen in a standard hotel (level floors, elevator with automatic doors, plumbing fixtures without rust, etc.) do not stay here. Staff was very accommodating, but the building is what it is. Breakfast is only five dollars but one of the most bare continental breakfasts ever. Toast, waffles, cereal, and coffee. End. Also, the hotel says they will watch your bags after you check out so you can sight see. Usually this means they will place them in a room somewhere, At the Baron, this means you are free to place them under the staircase in the "lobby", in plain sight and temptingly available to passers by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for the price

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Cons: Slow internet connection.
I was slightly nervous after reading some of the reviews, but this hotel was vastly more affordable than other options I saw so I went for it. I was not disappointed -- this hotel was perfect for my purposes (2 night stay for an interview). Sure, it's an older building and the rooms aren't very big, but definitely not cramped, and the room and bathroom was clean and comfortable. There was a desk and a small armoire for hanging clothes. Good hair dryer in the bathroom, and an iron and small board are available from the front desk. Great location, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Discount at the bar/restaurant below the hotel. I was not disturbed at all by the music at the barr, but I was on the top/4th floor, so I cannot comment on the noise level on other floors. My only complaint was that the internet was very slow when I was there. If you are going to be offended by minor aesthetic things (stains in carpet on the stair landing, some chipped paint, small elevator) or are staying in the room with several people, feel free to pay twice as much at another hotel. I plan to return here next time I'm in DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Perfect for the Women's March

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: coffee in lobby, comfortable pillows, great neighborhood
Cons: It is a basic guest house accommodation with a private bath.
Location: two quick blocks to Duport Metro station. Many restaurants and bars. The pub downstairs has amazing beer list and chicken pot pie is out of this world
Great brief stay for the Women's March. If you are expecting a Marriott this is not for you. It is quirky with loads of character.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lobby needs a facelift

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The staff was courteous and kind and informative.
Cons: Clean up the lobby is feels old and shabby too many rugs and definitely fix that elevator.
Location: Museums, good restaurants and the Metro. It's a great neighborhood.
The staff at the hotel were lovely. The elevator was exceedingly difficult to use the gate and sliding door were heavy and dangerous. The Lobby needs a cleaning and facelift. The room comfortable a little empty feeling. The shower water was not warm enough. The room was clean. The breakfast wasn't a real breakfast you could make your own waffles. That was it. The hotel was centrally located in a nice spot of town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

A bed in a small room

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The server we had in the tavern. Food was good and service outstanding.
Cons: Not sure given the location and age of the hotel.
Location: NeR DuPont Circle so adequate stuff around. Spent most time downtown which was not walkable.
Hotel is old and quaint. Had to use it on a packaged last minute trip to the Inaugration festivities, I would not choose the hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Central and cheap. Bad breakfast

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Really close to dupont circle. A really nice bar in the hotel too.