Ratings based on 1,231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very comfortable, and excellent service

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Friendly and personal service, comfortable and quiet room, great location.
Cons: The entry area to the room (where the closet was located) was dimly lit - there was no light in the entry alcove.
Location: Very close to Dupont Circle and U Street, so lots of restaurants within easy walking distance, with a great neighborhood feel.
My stay was just one night, but from check-in to check-out, everything was excellent. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, from the people at reception (remembered my name at check-out, which was quite impressive, for a one night stay), to the housekeeping and car valet personnel. The room was well-appointed, and very comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent location, in a very pleasant and walkable neighborhood. I met friends whom I hadn't seen for a long time and the hotel lounge was a very comfortable venue for quiet conversation, plus the complimentary wine service in the evening was a great added feature!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, NY

Great location, nice boutique hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Everything including the location was great but beware of only valet parking at $42 a day. If you like the boutique business style hotels this fits the bill. Even great is the friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mississauga

Bathroom Too Small

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: location was good, happy hour 5-6 for complimentary wine, but was missing some cheese and crackers to go along with it.
Cons: counter space in the bathroom
Location: Location was good and walking distance to main attractions if you like to walk.
Although we enjoyed the stay and the experience, the bathroom was too small. there was no room or either of us to any toiletries down on the counter. We had to go back and forth from the desk in the main room. Very frustrating. It was the only problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, ohio

Good location and price

Posted Aug 18, 2015
The hotel was very nice inside and the staff were friendly. The price was very reasonable for the location and condition. It's very close to DuPont circle which has a lot of restaurants and bars. It's about a 40 minute walk to all the museums and monuments, but there is a bike station close by that you can rent for the day and drop off at any of the other docking stations throughout the city. The only downside is that parking at the hotel is expensive and most street parking through the week has a two hour time limit. Since we stayed over the weekend, we drove around for a while and finally found a spot nearby where we left our car for our stay. Overall, I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

We will return

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The location and price.
Cons: Halls and elevators vacuumed more frequently.
Location: Location was perfect for us. It was close to our friends and all of the fun things we like to do while visiting the area.
We were fortunate to have a top floor, corner room with a nice view of the area. We visit the Dupont Circle area often but this was our first time staying at the Carlyle. Not only is the location closer to our friends and all of the places we like to hang out at while visiting, the room was very comfortable, relaxing and most importantly affordable. My only complaint would be that the hallways and elevators need to be vacuumed more frequently. Overall we had a very enjoyable time at the Carlyle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

D.C trip

Posted Aug 18, 2015
This hotel was very clean, the food in the restaurant was also really good. It is a long walk to all the main tourist attractions but an easy walk if you're active.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Staff was friendly, bed was heavenly, so super comfy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Terrible Experience

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Paid $48 for valet parking. Car was left on street.2 tickets total $115. Got out just in time before towing. Hotel staff at front watching. BTW, valet sticker on the mirror. Car keys eith hotel staff. Very troubling. Hotel will be paying tickets. My driving record is Clean. Very disappointing. I would like a refund gir this experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Modern Updated hotel in Superb Location

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Very nice hotel with a complimentary Manager's Wine hour on Friday's. Room was clean but cramped with furniture. Bathroom updated and nice. I liked the fact you could open windows.Hotel staff very nice and accommodating. Location close to many restaurants and activities but on a quiet residential street. Parking could be an issue but close to metro stop. Would definitely would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Nice for just the room

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Overall experience was pleasant. The restaurant was extremely overpriced with sour tasting food. Hotel staff was quick (when I called ahead) to remove feathers from the room (pillows ect, due to allergies) however they were not informative about hotel offerings and comforts (I.e - wine social in evening [complimentary] and sit down overpriced pancakes for breakfast [no child friendly items] ) We would stay again for the decent and comfortable rooms but for anything else, call a pizza.