Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kamloops, BC, Canada

Great place .... definitely 5 out of 5

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Great location, fun atmosphere and friendly staff. The room was beautiful and very clean, even with the sq footage being smaller the room had everything you need. The Director of Rooms made our stay truly memorable.... thank you John for such a wonderful welcome and making our anniversary so special!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Lindsay, Thank you for choosing to stay with us over your anniversary! We are happy we could be of service and hope you will visit us again soon! Hospitably, John
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Beautiful option in DuPont

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great location, easy to get to wherever you are going. Front desk and valet is 24/7 and the accommodated us arriving very late. No VIP+ benefits provided. The manager called right after arriving in my room to apologize for being placed in the wrong room and told me they'd move me the next day and provided me two days of free parking which saved over $100. Parking at the hotel is $45/night plus $8/night in taxes. They did say if a suite became available during my stay they would upgrade me but one was not. The heat was broken in my room. They quickly sent up a man who got it on but it was stuck on either full blast or off. So we went back and forth between sweating and freezing. They did offer to move me again but I didn't want to deal with it anymore. Also annoying the whole floor smelled like weed every night. The staff was always extremely nice and accommodating. The hotel is very pretty with nice views in well decorated rooms. Very large but uncomfortable bed. Overall decent hotel with good price I received on the room itself but with all considered and the resort fee and parking charges, I'd consider another hotel next time I'm in DC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Stephan, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We have been fortunate to have many Expedia VIP+ travelers stay with us recently, unfortunately, that means we sometimes do not have enough rooms available for upgrades. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and the HVAC issue. I have shared your feedback with our team as we are always striving to improve. We are in the process of replacing many of our HVAC units and we are conducting ongoing preventive maintenance as well. It is unfortunate as we typically do a much better job of meeting our guests needs. Thank your for your feedback and we do hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, John Durbin Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dakar

Nice hotel with many places at working distance

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The place
Cons: It's OK
Location: walk along te Connecticut avenue
I booked 4 nights in this hotel but at my arival I indicated that I've changed my plan and I had to spend only 3 nights and wanted to cancel the last one and wanted to be refunded because I booked a flight to Saint Louis and a night in Renaissance Hotel February 8th that I cancelled in Embassy Row. I was told that it was not possible as it is prepaid and have to talk to Expedia. I sent a email to expedia but no answer. I want to be refunded le last night in cancelled in Embassy Row Hotel as Expedia can verifie that the same nignt was spent in Renaissance Hotel in Saint Louis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Amadou, Thank you for staying with us. I hope you were able to rectify your booking situation out. The challenge with changing prepaid reservations is that they are prepaid and often non-refundable. We hope you can return so we can serve you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beware of added charges

Posted Feb 14, 2017
On arrival, informed of $19.99 'service charge' - obligatory - for services listed on website like wifi, gym, etc PLUS tried to charge $50 a night 'security depose' which would be reimbursed at end of stay. Absolutely refused to give them my credit card for that. Eventually relented. But ridiculous attempt to float $$$.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please realize that hotels establish credit for incidental charges. This can be done as a cash deposit, or though a credit or debit card authorization. I have shared your comments with our creative team and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. There is no benefit or "float" involved as it is just credit policy. We do appreciate your business and hope you will consider returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Great location, good hotel, clean and fairly modern.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Fast business trip

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The hotel is clean and modern; the staff was courteous; late check-out was accommodated.
Cons: The Metro public transit system, in terms of operation, maintenance, and cleanliness, has shockingly deteriorated, but that is outside hotel's control
Location: Location is extremely convenient for business in Massachusetts Avenue and Connecticut Avenue corridors, Federal City, and Capitol Hill. Metro nearby.
One-night stay in the midst of business trip. I arrived late at night after meetings and dinner; staff was welcoming; check-in formalities were swift; room was ready. It appears that hotel traffic that night was light so my room was upgraded, without my requesting it, to a small suite with a view overlooking the embassies on Massachusetts Avenue. The room amenities were perfectly suited to my needs to do a little work, to rest, and to turn-around quickly for another business day. Alas, I had no opportunity to visit restaurant or use business center or function rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again soon! We are rolling out a new restaurant menu this week and we are always striving to improve.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Cons: They could improve the honesty in their charges.
I would not stay at this hotel again as they take on a $20 per day facilities charge to the bill. If seems absurd not to include the real cost in the room rate. This seems merely a way to list a hotel for one price and to charge another.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Jonathan, Thank you for your review and feedback. Our Hotel Amenity Fee is listed on Expedia directly under the rate and Reserve button as "Excludes $21.10 daily resort fee". The fee includes wifi, phone calls, use of our Urban Fit Club and Nucleus Business Center as well as a food and beverage discount. We certainly apologize for any misunderstanding as we do appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, John Durbin Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Perfect location for business or pleasure in DC

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Location, food, rooms
I usually don't write reviews but I thought this hotel warranted one as it was excellent. I was in DC for business for 3 days and it was a perfect choice. Just steps to the DuPont Circle subway stop and there is a Capital Bikeshare stop just on the corner which made it perfect to get to all of my meetings (and I even did a bike ride around the whole city before the sun set one evening. Rooms were modern and clean, the front desk staff super helpful (even offered to print some of our material in color for us by just emailing it to them). Bartender had some good restaurant recommendations and the breakfasts (not a buffett - but more like a coffee shop) was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Keith, Thank you for the lovely review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again soon. We have a new restaurant menu coming out and our Rooftop opens up again at the end of May. Spread the word!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: location, staff, cleanliness
Cons: the facilities could be checked more frequently
Location: There is a super nice Italian restaurant called La Tomate which we visited twice. We high recommend it to people staying in the hotel.
The hotel is very close to the metro station, which is very convenient. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly on the whole. The light at the table didn't work though, which made the room rather dark. Since we stayed for one night, we didn't bother telling the staff about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and feedback. I have shared your comments with our team and assure you we will focus on the details that were missed. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Updated, modern hotel in great location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Vibe, location
Location: Location can't be beat - metro just around the corner, restaurants/bars everywhere.
In DC for work - first stay at this hotel. Staff was excellent, room was clean, and hotel had an energetic LA vibe. Would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are always working to improve our service and hope you will return soon! We will be rolling out our new restaurant menu soon and will have new seating added after that. Our creative team is looking forward to serving you again!