Ratings based on 934 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Good location.Charges for everything.Needs update.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel and the compliments. No drinking complimentary water (with cut lemons) pitcher and cups or coffee. Such a minor detail but so welcoming.
Location was great. Room was clean but dated. Bed linens were clean and fresh. Bathroom was old: toilet cracked, bathroom ceiling light cracked, and bathmat ratty. Hotel charged for every bitty thing. We travel and have come to DC many times. I just expected more from this hotel. I gave it a four, but it is a 3.5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very comfortable, well-located luxury hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This was the best deal I have found in DC - a very comfortable hotel with spacious rooms, excellent facilities and friendly staff, extremely convenient for downtown, Georgetown and public transport - strongly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I have a annual meeting at E Watler Center which is not far from this hotel. The metro can be used to commute very easily and it would be better to use Uber or Lyft. So I would like too be here next year. I also would recommend this hotel to my friend. The only issue is you have to pay extra money to get access to the internet which is really bad. Wish you can offer free internet service to all customers. Or you can cut down the price to like five dollars so everyone can afford it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Excellent service . Very close to museums, shopping and the White House .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star rating, we’re couldn’t be happier to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Convenient to Dupont Circle and many embassies

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Just a quick one-nighter but have used the property before. Surprised at no room service although there are numerous restaurants of all types within walking distance. Staff are friendly in most cases. .Comfortable traditionally decorated rooms. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your loyalty to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and for sharing your review on your recent overnight stay. Our area does boast many world class restaurants, and we're pleased you enjoyed being so close to it all! We're glad you had a comfortable stay and hope you visit with us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and Excellent

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is by far the best value in D.C. Historic and charming and in an unbeatable location. Featured amenities I've paid 3 times more money for in hotel rooms on the level of a Hilton Conrad. Cozy charming bar, helpful and pleasant staff, great small lobby with cookies in the evening. I travel regularly for business and can not recommended this hotel more at this incredible value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Kim, for your five-star review and recommendation. We couldn't be happier to hear that our value, service, and location were just a few things about our property that made your stay so great. We enjoyed having you here, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Classical buildings around the area

Posted Jan 8, 2017
I don't mind the hotel charge $45 + 18% tax for valid parking, but when I didn't tip the valid guy and he yelled at me is not acceptable; also there was a long line for guests checking out because only one front desk staff working is unprofessional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Near Metro and restaurants

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Staff terrific lovely dining room great staff concierge gave terrific recommendations for restaurants would definitely go again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It thrills us to read that you had such a memorable experience and that our staff’s warm service left you with a positive impression. Thank you for sharing your lovely review, we hope to see you again at The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hinesville, GA

Beautiful historical hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location History Architecture
Cons: Another chair to sit, not just the one in the desk
Location: The National Mall was a 30 minutes walk
Staff were very polite and the room was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are grateful for your mention of the kindness of our staff; we will certainly share your comments with everyone. Thank you for the feedback, we hope you visit with us again at The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WINCHESTER, KY

WONDERFUL HOTEL AND STAFF

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: THE STAFF WAS NICE AND HELPFUL
Cons: FIRST AID KIT AT THE FRONT DESK.
Location: BEAUTIFUL STREET AND SHOPS NEARBY
I FELL ON THE SIDEWALK AND THE HEAD OF CLEANING CAME WITH MEDICATION TO MY ROOM AND HELPED ME. SHE WAS A LIFE SAVER FOR ME SINCE I WAS GOING TO THE WHITE HOUSE CHRISTMAS BALL. I DON'T THINK I COULD HAVE GONE IF SHE HADN'T HELPED ME. WE STOPPED THE BLEEDING AND MAKE-UP COVERED UP MY WOUNDS. I AM SO GRATEFUL TO HER. THE STAFF BROUGHT ME A BAG OF ICE TO HELP WITH THE SWELLING OF MY FACE. I WAS ABLE TO GET DRESSED IN MY GOWN DUE TO THIS WONDERFUL WOMAN. SHE WAS A MIRACLE AND I AM VERY GRATEFUL.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing The Fairfax at Embassy Row for your visit to the area, Sheila. We are very sorry to hear about your experience, but we are glad our staff was able to assist and provide comfort for you. It was a pleasure having you here, and we hope you visit with us again.