Ratings based on 937 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Room were clean. Hotel is close to everything. The price is right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Very nice except the beds were very uncomfortable and the pillows were flat
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Good location.Charges for everything.Needs update.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel and the compliments. No drinking complimentary water (with cut lemons) pitcher and cups or coffee. Such a minor detail but so welcoming.
Location was great. Room was clean but dated. Bed linens were clean and fresh. Bathroom was old: toilet cracked, bathroom ceiling light cracked, and bathmat ratty. Hotel charged for every bitty thing. We travel and have come to DC many times. I just expected more from this hotel. I gave it a four, but it is a 3.5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We're happy to read that our location was ideal for your visit, we do, however, regret that we missed the mark on impressing you fully. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to see how we can improve the experience for our future guests. We hope you visit with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Very comfortable, well-located luxury hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This was the best deal I have found in DC - a very comfortable hotel with spacious rooms, excellent facilities and friendly staff, extremely convenient for downtown, Georgetown and public transport - strongly recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Your five-star review and high recommendation are priceless to us, thank you! We appreciate knowing that you found comfort in your guest room and that our staff's service stood out to you. We hope to see you again at The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness of the quilts,
Location: DuPont circle with many eating places and very close to metro was a very convinient base for our 5 day stay
Lovely historic hotel in great location. Free coffee and drinking water was a nice touch. Everything was clean apart from the quilts - they really need a wash (the sheets covering them were clean though but kept falling off during sleep).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
I have a annual meeting at E Watler Center which is not far from this hotel. The metro can be used to commute very easily and it would be better to use Uber or Lyft. So I would like too be here next year. I also would recommend this hotel to my friend. The only issue is you have to pay extra money to get access to the internet which is really bad. Wish you can offer free internet service to all customers. Or you can cut down the price to like five dollars so everyone can afford it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to other travelers. For any future visit, iPrefer members receive complimentary WiFi, and it's free to sign up. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Excellent service . Very close to museums, shopping and the White House .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five-star rating, we’re couldn’t be happier to know that you have enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Convenient to Dupont Circle and many embassies

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Just a quick one-nighter but have used the property before. Surprised at no room service although there are numerous restaurants of all types within walking distance. Staff are friendly in most cases. .Comfortable traditionally decorated rooms. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your loyalty to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and for sharing your review on your recent overnight stay. Our area does boast many world class restaurants, and we're pleased you enjoyed being so close to it all! We're glad you had a comfortable stay and hope you visit with us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and Excellent

Posted Jan 9, 2017
This is by far the best value in D.C. Historic and charming and in an unbeatable location. Featured amenities I've paid 3 times more money for in hotel rooms on the level of a Hilton Conrad. Cozy charming bar, helpful and pleasant staff, great small lobby with cookies in the evening. I travel regularly for business and can not recommended this hotel more at this incredible value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, Kim, for your five-star review and recommendation. We couldn't be happier to hear that our value, service, and location were just a few things about our property that made your stay so great. We enjoyed having you here, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Classical buildings around the area

Posted Jan 8, 2017
I don't mind the hotel charge $45 + 18% tax for valid parking, but when I didn't tip the valid guy and he yelled at me is not acceptable; also there was a long line for guests checking out because only one front desk staff working is unprofessional
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Your encounter is not typical of the service that we deliver to our valued guests, and we sincerely apologize that this was your experience. Rest assured we will address your feedback with our staff. It's our hope you will give our property another chance to provide you with the top-notch service we are known for.