Ratings based on 1,268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Sylvie from Laval

Pour la chambre superbe tout simplement...

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
L'hôtel est bien situé près du métro permettant des déplacements rapides, ce qui nous fait gagner du temps. Parcontre, les restaurant sont limités, mis à part un petit café adjacent pour le déjeuner. La chambre est implacable mais petite. Le point faible est le Bistro BIS dans l'hôtel, bien que la nourriture soit bonne. Les prix du menu, pour ma part, sont excessifs par rapport aux quantités (soupe à l'oignon gratinée: 11$ US). Avis à ceux qui recherchent un rapport qualité/ prix!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
Hi Sylvie, Thank you for staying at The George and for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our location. I hope you'll stay with us again soon!
5 out of 5
by Susanna

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
Hi Susanna, Thank you for staying at The George and for giving us a 5 star rating. Next time we'd love to read your feedback. Please come visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by Melody from Waco, TX

Good Location

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
I LOVE all Kimpton hotels. I'd go to ask for directions or something and it was like they could read my mind! They have an excellent happy hour with a lot of guests so it's easy to meet people from all parts of the country. Easy walk to Union Station where there are eating places and some shopping, such as Walgreens. It seems like all bus tours begin and end there, too. Definitely would stay again because it's close enough to walk to most of the sightseeing monuments, IF it's warm enough, which, unfortunately it wasn't. ☹️
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
Hi Melody, Thank you for staying at The George and for your continued loyalty to Kimpton Hotels. We really enjoyed hosting wine hour every night so it's great to hear our guests love it too. You're absolutely right about how convenient our location is. The weather is already starting to warm up. I hope that means we will see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by James from El Cerrito

There's nothing not to like...

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful staff...totally friendly and helpful....not pretentious at all. We're going back next year and wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
Hello James, Thanks for staying at The George and for taking the time to write this 5 star review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come visit us again soon!
5 out of 5
by John from Hackettstown NJ

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel and great staff. On Capital Hill, recommend Kelly's Pub for family meals in same neighborhood. Park in the Building of the States and save money on the valet parking no need to do that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
HI John, Thank you for the great review and for staying at The George. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the hotel and the neighborhood. Kelly's is one of our favorites too. I hope you'll come visit us again soon!
2 out of 5
by Mickey

Disappointing.

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
I have to say I was very disappointed. Maybe I set my expectations too high from all the glowing reviews, but my stay was subpar from the first minute until the last. I have to start with the neighborhood. We passed what appeared to be a homeless shelter right around the corner on the way to the hotel. When we first arrived there was no valet or anyone to help with our bags. We waited several minutes for someone to appear. When we got to the front desk we were asked 3 separate times if we had stayed at the property before, all by the same person. She was unpleasant and did not seem to care about anything. The room itself looked nice. It was a decent size and seemed clean. There was no view. All you could see were other guest rooms and air conditioners. The bed was not great. As soon as you touched it you could hear and feel the springs. The disappointment with the staff continued throughout the stay. No one ever greeted us when we walked in. We only encountered one nice person at one of the daily wine tastings. The final day was the last straw with the staff. Again, there was no one to be found at the front door. There is no valet stand to wait at to get the car. After waiting 10 minutes with no one coming I finally walked over to the front desk where they rudely told me someone would get my car soon. To top it all off, they charge a $20 per day "resort fee" on top of the hotel rate. I would not stay here, or at any other Kimpton property again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
Hi Mickey, I very sorry that you have such an unpleasant stay at The George. Thank you for providing your feedback. Your comments have been reviewed with our various teams to ensure no future guests face the same problems that you did. There is no excuse for the lack of friendliness and service you encountered. I hope you'll come back to The George and give us another chance to make it up to you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel, a stroll away from everything

Posted Apr 5, 2016
It is centrally located near almost all main D. C. Attractions
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2016 by Douglas , Hotel Management
Hello Jose, Thank you for staying at The George and for writing this great 5 star review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Great pictures! Please come visit again soon!
5 out of 5
by Julie L from Wilmington, DE

Never a disappointment

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
A Kimpton never disappoints, and this one is ideally located 2 blocks from Union Station. It is near many sites that are less popular than the Mall area but equally interesting: the National Building Museum, the Postal Museum, with easy access to the Mall. Good hotel restaurant with a varied menu and many casual lunch eateries available in the train station. We'll be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
Hi Julie L, Thank you so much for staying at The George and your loyalty to Kimpton Hotels. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for pointing out some of the unappreciated museums in our area. You are right that The George is in the perfect location to explore these hidden gems. I hope you'll come visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
by esyllt j.

Fabulous hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Ebookers
Stayed here for three nights on a sightseeing trip of Washington. The hotel is very conveniently located - just next to Union Station where a lot of the tour buses start and a short walk to the National Mall and Capitol Hill. The room was very large and very clean and the bed was so comfortable. The staff were super friendly and helped me sort a taxi and a ride to the airport.
5 out of 5
by Kimberlyn

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by Douglas, Hotel Management
HI Kimerlyn, Thanks for the 5 star review! next time we'd love to hear your feedback. Please come back and visit us soon!