Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small boutique hotel with outstanding staff

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great hotel. Great staff. Their first priority seems to be ensuring that customers were well-cared for. The bar got a little busy and seemed a bit understaffed, but the drinks were high quality and worth the wait. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Hotel is very nice with an elegant feel. Most of the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful and the location was a plus as well.
4 out of 5
by leonard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Aug 20, 2016
The staff was so accomodating. The room was very comfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant was being renovated.....the good news was the bar served delicious food. Very pleased and hope to have a return stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles , CA

Really nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Very centrally located , close to White House 14 th st restaurant row . Very good food and service . Attentive and very courteous staff .
5 out of 5
by Edward from New Jersey

Will return again.

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is second to none but I wish they would have told me about certain local events for children but they said nothing to me and I found out the day I left. Other than that the place was great.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Orbitz
Superb hotell, excellent location. Close to the White house.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

People Make the Place

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Rooms & Suites, cabinet rooms, quality of food and drink, and location.
Cons: A more consistent attitude amongst all staff.
Location: Four blocks from the White House, and 8/10 of a mile to the mall for a run.
I love this hotel. It reminds me very much of a hotel in London that my family and I have called home for 20 years. But unlike that hotel in London, The Jefferson does have some members of staff who have yet to figure out what 5 stars means when it comes to service. I do not know whether it is because I book a hotel of this caliber via Expedia, or whether it's because I'm not some D.C. powerbroker stereotype, but there have been instances with two specific staff during which I was made to feel less than valued. So why do I continue to stay? Because I am Expedia Gold+ and they honor that partnership through and through, because only two people can be avoided, and because the rest of the staff are outstanding, as are the rooms, suites and common area facilities. It's small and accessible, unlike one of the larger 5 stars in D.C., and it's perfect for running the mall in the morning or late afternoon because of its location. It can be a bit "stuffy" for those who prefer something more modern or casual, but I value discretion, service and lack of fuss. I want to know that things show up on time, whether it be food, laundry or a car that has been ordered, and they always do. As for the food, it is outstanding and they will custom make items for you. I've lived in 4 countries and been to more than 30, so I've experienced worse and can more than deal with two outliers, but if those two improved, this place would truly be perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Great property and eel maintained but AC I the room was old and noisy