Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The Jefferson is an elegant hotel in a superb location just a few blocks from the White House, Dupont Circle and Logan Square. Boutique in size but grand in sophistication. The staff was warm and welcoming from arrival through departure. The room was beautifully appointed in furnishings and amenities. We look forward to returning on our next visit to DC!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Lovely Luxurious Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: We loved how welcoming, accommodating and friendly the staff were during our entire stay. It helped to make our stay comfortable and memorable.
Location: The hotel was convenient for walking to the White House, Washington Memorial, and Smithsonian. There were several good restaurants nearby, as well.
We stayed at The Jefferson for two nights over the holidays with our two teenaged children. We could not have been more pleased with our choice of accommodations. Prior to our visit, our favorite hotels were Le Chateau Frontenac in Quebec City and the Waldorf Astoria in NYC. For our family, the Jefferson in Washington, D.C., was superior to any other luxury hotel we have visited. All of the interactions we had with staff at the hotel were amiable and personal. We felt welcomed and cared for during the entire stay. Our flight arrived earlier than check-in. Our room was still occupied, but the hotel staff immediately tagged and stored our luggage for us. We chose to eat breakfast at the hotel in The Greenhouse. Our son ordered Lobster Eggs Benedict and said that it was the best meal of the entire trip. All of the food was delicious. Afterwards we left to go do some sightseeing. The hotel took our phone number and notified us immediately when our room was available. We were pleasantly surprised to find that they had already taken our luggage to our room for us when we returned. Our room was spacious, impeccably clean, and well-appointed. The beds and chairs were quite comfortable. The bathroom was luxurious. We loved the walk-in shower with oversized, massaging shower head. We loved the turn-down service, especially the bottled water on the bedside table and the chocolates. Coffee and muffins were available in the lovely library in the mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We loved the size of this hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We definately plan to stay there again in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small boutique hotel with outstanding staff

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great hotel. Great staff. Their first priority seems to be ensuring that customers were well-cared for. The bar got a little busy and seemed a bit understaffed, but the drinks were high quality and worth the wait. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Hotel is very nice with an elegant feel. Most of the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful and the location was a plus as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Aug 20, 2016
The staff was so accomodating. The room was very comfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant was being renovated.....the good news was the bar served delicious food. Very pleased and hope to have a return stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles , CA

Really nice hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Very centrally located , close to White House 14 th st restaurant row . Very good food and service . Attentive and very courteous staff .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

People Make the Place

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Rooms & Suites, cabinet rooms, quality of food and drink, and location.
Cons: A more consistent attitude amongst all staff.
Location: Four blocks from the White House, and 8/10 of a mile to the mall for a run.
I love this hotel. It reminds me very much of a hotel in London that my family and I have called home for 20 years. But unlike that hotel in London, The Jefferson does have some members of staff who have yet to figure out what 5 stars means when it comes to service. I do not know whether it is because I book a hotel of this caliber via Expedia, or whether it's because I'm not some D.C. powerbroker stereotype, but there have been instances with two specific staff during which I was made to feel less than valued. So why do I continue to stay? Because I am Expedia Gold+ and they honor that partnership through and through, because only two people can be avoided, and because the rest of the staff are outstanding, as are the rooms, suites and common area facilities. It's small and accessible, unlike one of the larger 5 stars in D.C., and it's perfect for running the mall in the morning or late afternoon because of its location. It can be a bit "stuffy" for those who prefer something more modern or casual, but I value discretion, service and lack of fuss. I want to know that things show up on time, whether it be food, laundry or a car that has been ordered, and they always do. As for the food, it is outstanding and they will custom make items for you. I've lived in 4 countries and been to more than 30, so I've experienced worse and can more than deal with two outliers, but if those two improved, this place would truly be perfect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Shocking bad hotel in a gorgeous building.

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Cons: Teach your staff that the goal of customer service is to make things easier on the visitor, and to use common sense when trying to achieve that.
Review would be 3 stars at a motel. Given the 5 stars, I'm stunned. All staff I interacted with except check-in went beyond incompetent to make my stay MORE difficult than neglect. Booked a 2-night birthday staycation. On Day 1, Housekeeping "missed" my room, leaving day-old strawberry husks on the coffee table. Desk said housekeeping couldn't enter b/c a DND was up. Except I didn't post one, & neither Laundry nor Concierge saw one when they came in during the same time period. Front Desk seemed at total loss except to repeat "Well, Housekeeping said...". She finally offered a paltry $50 towards laundry. At that point I was tired & so sick of the conversation that I took it & went back to my uncleared room. Ordered room service; asked about allergy ingredient. 1st choice had it; I said "That's fine" and starting considering other options. Room service INSISTED that I keep Option #1 b/c "there's just a little bit of X". Bizarre - I had BEG room service to let me order. When it arrived, 1 of 3 items = missing. Tried to get a cab; valet stopped me, insisted on whistling for one himself, -> sent it to the corner rather than letting it pull up at the hotel. Decided I could get better "service" at home & left, the tray I had finished & put out hours earlier still sitting by the door. Mistakes happen - so many mistakes & no one who knows how to rectify them is inexcusable. If I wanted to do the heavy lifting, I would have stayed home. Stressful, exhausting, outrageous waste of $.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Perfect in every way

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Pros: Location and service level
Location: The mall, museums, galleries.
The Jefferson is located perfectly for sight-seeing. The rooms are spacious, the amenities excellent, and service top-notch.