Ratings based on 1,949 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older center city hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Expensive but older charm. Great location. Breakfast was inexpensive but great one day and poor the next.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Convienlty lovated to Mall and DuPont circle

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The hotel was clean and bright. Great coffee available much of the day. The staff is cheerful and helpful. The fitness room is well appointed. I would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bouvard, Western Australia

Old world comforts and charm

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, charming decor. Very clean and well appointed rooms. Our family of five - three teenage/adult sons - were very comfortable.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location for walking to the National Mall. Easy drive to Georgetown for some trendy, delicious dining the night we arrived.
Despite a slight hiccup with bookings - our rooms were on different floors despite requesting interconnecting - the issue was resolved and we were thrilled with our stay at the Mayflower. What a grand old lady and so beautifully appointed. Fabulous staff, very comfortable rooms and such an overwhelmingly fabulous sense of history and old world luxury. Just loved it! Location was excellent and the hotel was a welcome respite from the outdoor elements. Would recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Fabulous. Fabulous att

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Attended the inaugural. Wonderful hotel and locations was perfect. Edgar's bar the best
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located for tourists-poor attention to detail

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Nice hotel, friendly staff. The suite was roomy. Unfortunately it looked out to the roof tops and an unsightly alley. The restaurant is pretty good. Evening service staff was much friendlier and efficient than lunch service. The issues we had were 1) temp control in the room - a room that is apparently controlled automatically to 68-70 degrees with no way to adjust it downward. I called the front desk 4 times and got 4 different responses from surprise I couldn't adjust it, to "I'll send up maintenance" ( who never arrived) to maintenance controls it remotely and wil give you access to adjust it" (they didn't adjust our room ) to "Oh sorry". We baked at night. 2) Also, they do not provide complimentary internet. What hotel still charges these days? So unnecessary. 3) No water available in room apart from the tap which was not that tasty, 4) sheets forgotten and left in our room and not taken away 4) room service menus not left so we constantly had to call for it. 5) charges made on room that were not ours. Small and irritating details to contend with as a guest which should not need our attention at these prices.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled...stay away!

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Beds are comfortable, and lobby is warm.
Cons: Don't use the excuse that the number of guests does not determine the number of beds. How you expect 4 adults to sleep in a king bed is ridiculous.
Location: Nice location but not worth the aggravation.
Upon check in, I was informed that the room I had requested for 4 adults was no longer available, and that we would be given a king bed with roll-away. Did I mention 4 adults. After 2 hours of waiting for assistance, we were placed in a closet sized room with two double beds. Did I mention it was 1 a.m.. Exhausted, we accepted the room, only to be kept awake most of the night by the very load air compressor outside of our window. The next day we were moved (after asking) to another room, however, the noise from the air compressor sounded like a helicopter was in our room all night long. We were looking for a historic hotel with lots of charm and wound up in a nightmare. Stay away!!! Shameful!!
5 out of 5
by Hunter V

Historic Mayflower Hotel: hospitable & comfortable

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
My bedroom and bathroom were both spacious and quiet; Edgar, the hotel restaurant offered a nice selection of food at breakfast, caring service; and a pleasant bar for the cocktail hour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfort and convenience in DC

Posted Dec 19, 2016
This is an old landmark hotel that has been modernized. The rooms are spacious, WiFi is free and has good speed and the staff, especially the concierge are helpful. It is no bargain and the breakfast buffet has reasonable choices but is expensive. It is centrally located and within a block of a Metro station. Over-all pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels