Ratings based on 1,872 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great location-good hotel. Location is close to a metro!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One word - cockroach

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Staff was great but waking up to find a cockroach that is 2 inches long - not good! I would like two nights reimbursed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great quiet location close to Metro. Large room.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Unique restaurant and helpful staff. A real gem. Staff was helpful and knows the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenience for tourists in DC...

Posted Feb 27, 2017
My experience was excellent...love everything about the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Friendly and helpful

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Staff very welcoming and willing to help. Great sized room for family and bonus to have kitchenette and living space. Good location. Would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Second Time Around

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms, great restaurant, great location
Cons: Can't think of anything!
Location: The location is perfect! Within walking distance to almost everything you go to Washington to see. Yet, it's still in such a cute, residential setting
We revisited The River Inn after 10 years and we were not disappointed! It's staff is so professional and SO friendly. The rooms are very comfortable, complete with coffee beans, coffee grinder, and coffee maker. The restaurant and lounge has delicious food and is very cozy. And, finally, the location is perfect! So close to everything you want to see in DC. We absolutely love The River Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hote & good area

Posted Feb 19, 2017
All attractions are just a few blocks away and the hotel staff was very nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great...and Bad

Posted Feb 15, 2017
friendly and prompt staff, good value food, spacious rooms. Great locale ... close to GWU. BUT: outdated kitchen, cold shower in the morning, woken up at 6:45 am by garbage collection truck RIGHT outside my window. Apparently hotel makes lots of garbage because Mr. Garbageman took more than 20 minutes to bang around out there. Very annoying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great service. Outdated hotel.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Infrastructure of this hotel is old. Price for a room is reasonable but food and parking are very high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and Private

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The home like atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location provides for walks to the Watergate, the Kennedy Center, the Metro, to Georgetown, and many other conveniences.
When I travel to D.C., I like to be in the city, bit not "in the city". By staying at the River Inn in Foggy Bottom it affords me the opportunity to have a pleasant and private visit to the city without all of the hustle and bustle.