Ratings based on 772 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hote & good area

Posted Feb 19, 2017
All attractions are just a few blocks away and the hotel staff was very nice and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great...and Bad

Posted Feb 15, 2017
friendly and prompt staff, good value food, spacious rooms. Great locale ... close to GWU. BUT: outdated kitchen, cold shower in the morning, woken up at 6:45 am by garbage collection truck RIGHT outside my window. Apparently hotel makes lots of garbage because Mr. Garbageman took more than 20 minutes to bang around out there. Very annoying.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great service. Outdated hotel.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Infrastructure of this hotel is old. Price for a room is reasonable but food and parking are very high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant and Private

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: The home like atmosphere.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location provides for walks to the Watergate, the Kennedy Center, the Metro, to Georgetown, and many other conveniences.
When I travel to D.C., I like to be in the city, bit not "in the city". By staying at the River Inn in Foggy Bottom it affords me the opportunity to have a pleasant and private visit to the city without all of the hustle and bustle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Lovely hotel very friendly staff

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Easy walk from foggy bottom station big spacious apartment plenty of food outlets and restaurants nearby Fantastic staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovating

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Good location, the best staff and service anywhere, very big room with kitchen, this is an apartment, not a room Needs renovation, blinds don't work, bathroom needs regrouting and tile replaced. Water pressure in shower inadequate. I didn't use the kitchen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesilla, NM

Good location, nicely appointed, friendly staff

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Good location, nicely appointed, friendly staff
Cons: wifi was a little slow
Location: close to George Washington University, a Metro station, many restaurants, shopping on Pennsylvania Avenue, all of the Memorials, Smithsonian, etc.
I enjoyed being located near the Foggy Bottom historic district, the large room with kitchenette, rainfall shower head, and being within walking distance to many of the places I chose to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Perfect little boutique hotel in Foggy Bottom area

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Very nice, roomy suite with kitchen in a quiet neighborhood near restaurants with valet parking which was awesome. Restaurant and bar in hotel is small, but cozy and delicious! Attentive and friendly staff. We felt so at home here! Would gladly return! The River Inn was perfect for us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from md

2 blocks to metro and hospital

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Well laid out room with everything except the oven. Comfortable bed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel but parking is ridculous

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: downtown, clean, very nice
Cons: paring should be half the cost
the hotel was great, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. the staff was extremely friendly and i had a great stay. Parking is valet only and its $40 per night. that's insane! they are pet friendly, my dog had a nice time int he room as well.