Ratings based on 1,764 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel near DC monuments

Posted Oct 18, 2016
We had a nice experience at The River Inn. The hotel staff was super friendly and we loved the restaurant, which had great food. Our room was clean and comfortable and we really liked the location for seeing the DC Mall area. We would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

GW parent weekend

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Closely located to GW campus on nice residential street. Spacious, updated room for reasonable price. The only thing that would make this place perfect would be sound proof windows to block out some outside noise. Overall a great place to stay (this was my second stay here)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Great location, serene experience

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Georgetown waterfront is walking distance.The hotel has bikes they loan out and the Foggy Bottom metro is a five minute walk from the front door.
The River Inn is perfectly located near the Kennedy Center, the Watergate Complex, Foggy Bottom metro and Georgetown. It's a quiet, immaculately maintained hotel with spacious rooms on a lovely street. Having a small kitchen and refrigerator is amazing.The staff are so polite and helpful. I've now stayed here 5 times on short and long business trips and I can't recommend it highly enough. The hotel restaurant (Dish) has a great menu. I've enjoyed excellent breakfasts and dinners there. It's not your average hotel restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We were happy to be there

Posted Oct 12, 2016
We got some problems with the hotel we originally booked on Expedia. After one hour phone talk with one of the Expedia representatives, we were directed to the River In. An awesome service was provided for us. It was in the midnight and we were really tired after six hours drive. We had four people, a little baby and the dog. All fit in one clean and comfy room. Thank You Guys for your service!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great time

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: location, price, cleanliness
Cons: The restuarant--DISH--is a tad pricey
Very quaint and cozy hotel. Very clean (which pleases my wife). Staff was very helpful, particularly Kimberly. Our 2nd stay here. will come again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney


Posted Sep 24, 2016
Great little hotel conveniently nestled in foggy bottom, between Georgetown and city. Attentive staff and lots of additional extra touches to make your stay more pleasurable. Special mention to Kimberley who ran cocktail hour for guests in the lobby while we were there. Would recommended and definitely visit again!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent metro location

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We would stay here again-close to metro, direct line to Reagan Int. Airport, close to Georgetown, sights. Excellent helpful staff. Whole Foods and nearby restaurants. Lovely tree lined neighborhood. We used Uber,taxi,metro to get around. Walk to Kennedy Center. Favorite restaurant-Ristorante La Perla. Would recommend they put luggage racks in the room though. Nice maid service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 22, 2016
Near the georgewashingtin dc, whole food marcket. room is cleaned. It's good to have time with family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the metro, so it's easy to get around. The staff was extremely nice and very helpful with everything we needed... One staff member even showed me how to use Uber. There were 3 adults and a baby that stayed in our room. We had a room with a kitchenette. Very roomy and the maid staff did a great job. Wished they had a pool and the bathroom was a little bit bigger, but other than that everything was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Langbank, Scotland

Great location

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Enjoyed a 6 night break here. Stayed in double bed suite which accommodated four adults comfortably. Hotel staff were all amazing. Hotel is a very short stroll from Metro and within a 15-20 minute walk to monuments. Georgetown, which has lots of eating places, is a 10 minute easy walk.