Ratings based on 272 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Disappointed

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The entrance and the Bar.
Cons: everything, really. Why is housekeeping so intrusive? Why are the bathrooms so small?
Location: This is on Lafayette Square. During the day this area is very busy. But it does clear out at night. Close walking distance to the monuments.
I was in DC on business for just one night. I usually stay at The Haye Adams or the Sofitel both also on Lafayette Square. These are all luxe hotels with a hefty price tag. The St. Regis has a beautiful entrance/ lobby. I also liked the bar. The room, however, was not great. I had a Premium Deluxe room. The bathroom was tiny and the shower would not work. Although I informed staff, the shower was not repaired that day. I had to kneel in the tub and wash my hair under the spigot. My hair is very long. I had In-Room dining. Very, very expensive and not really that great. Ice? Carried the ice bucket out into the hall and started to walk the corridor looking for the ice machine. No machine. I went back to the room and looked in the hotel guide. You had to call the butler to bring the ice. I called the butler and was brought ice in 5 minutes. The staff: very friendly. However, I was on a business call in the room when I got a knock at my door asking if I wanted turn-down service. This was at 4:45. In the morning, housekeeping woke me up at 7:45 with a knock announcing they were there to clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nassau bahamas

Wonderful luxury hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2016
James the doorman will make your day! Wonderful stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC.

Excellent staff: Dewayne Wright

Posted Feb 15, 2016
When we arrived in Friday, no one communicated that we needed to make reservations for dinner on Saturday. When we arrive from sightseeing and went to eat dinner, we were informed that it was by reservations only. Mr. Wright was able to assist us by finding a location that my fiancée and I along with a friend could eat dinner. Due to the professional staff: being able to correct a situation that was not communicated previous, Mr. Wright made our experience memorable. Thanks! Craig Little Disabled Serviceman, USMC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nearly Perfect In Every Way

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Loved my warm greeting while getting out of the cab, my time spent in Reception with professional and kind employees, and the helpful Concierge!
Cons: I was awakened at midnight by a yappy dog...I can't stand that dogs are allowed in lovely hotels...I hope the St. Regis changes their policy.
Location: One can experience all of D.C. from this perfectly situated hotel.
The ambiance is spectacular, as is the location, but...more than anything, the staff, and I mean everyone, is professional and lovely and kind and inviting and generous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
From the lobby to the great too and terrific friendly staff, the St. Regis is great! The only complaint I have is that there are WAY too many panhandlers/homeless people nearby and loitering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new orleans

Grand historic building with intimate feel

Posted Dec 27, 2015
We spent two nights in December and the experience was good. All suites are not equal and you have to ask very specifically about bathtubs, window views etc. Overnight parking costs as much as a separate hotel room at the Holiday Inn. The real forte of the place is its intimate feel, and good treatment from the concierge. The butler service is much-talked about but the butler staff do not have any actual proper butler education. The way the speak, their demeanor, willingness and ability to help, posture, etc... everything points to bell-boy service by another name.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location for seeing Washington.

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Attentive staff, comfortable room, and near to the museums and monuments. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Luxury Hotel with great customer service

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: great customer service
Location: amazing hotel restaurant and bar
Luxury Hotel with great customer service. The bar had deices drinks and the bedroom was comfy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Classic Style Near the White House

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: This is an elegant building which really made our trip to DC feel special.
Cons: We had a "deluxe" room, but the bathroom was still small. But in reality unless you have a suite, it's about the same as most hotels.
Location: Easy walk to the White House, Treasury, Washington Mall, and so forth...
Ideal location just across Lafayette Square immediately North of the White House. The staff was very helpful with dinner and event recommendations and reservations all of which were handled in advance of our arrival. If you appreciate quality service without any stuffy attitude, this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Incredible Hotel All-Around!!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
The St-Regis Washington DC is definetly the best hotel in the city, from the moment you step in, one is overwhelmed by the beautiful lobby with magnificent ceilings and the welcoming bellman. Other than the beautiful decor, you are welcomed by either coffee or refreshing tea or lemonade, plus a selection of newspapers. The rooms have a much appreciated old world flair, without them being old. Service was impeccable, on my 5 night stay I hardly ever noticed the presence of housekeeping staff for the twice daily service. The concierge was very helpful and attentive, they arranged for great recommendations and solved problems that arose unexpectedly. Whenever you visit make sure to ask for Mr. Jean-François, he is excellent and has a talent for answering your every question. Decanter, the hotel restaurant, has some of the best eggs benedict I have ever had, and everything is excellent for breakfast, the bar is also great for afternoon drinks. My family and I are very looking forward to our next visit and highly recommend this place.