Ratings based on 1,673 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So nice😊

Posted May 9, 2017
The hotel is nice😊 so close to museums parks convenient stores... to everything! We had a good one 👍
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review! We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Tired facilities

Posted May 8, 2017
Just needed a bed as I would get back to the room at midnight and be out by 8 a.m. Photos of lobby looked promising. But the room (which was spacious) was disappointing at best. Room hasn't been renovated in decades and had dusty/musty odor. No heating (as they switched to air conditioning, but weather outside turned cold) so I shivered all night. Bath room had cracked tiles, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. While the hotel is preparing for a renovation, we do work very hard to keep the property up. While you were here DC experienced unseasonably cold weather. We hope that you were able to enjoy your experience otherwise in the restaurant and other areas of the hotel and DC. Feel free to call me any time to chat more about your time here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Nice Quiet Hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Tucked away and quiet after a day of sightseeing. Close to metro and food nearby. Would stay again when visiting Washington DC. Friendly staff!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review! We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Loved coming "home" after a day of sightseeing!

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: I liked the hotel for it's wonderful staff, nice adjoining restaurant, great location near GWU campus, Kennedy Center, restaurants, metro station.
Cons: The decor is slightly worn but all the positives about this hotel made this point insignificant to me.
Location: Located in a quiet neighborhood in Foggy Bottom, it's near the GWU campus, restaurants, shopping, and metro station. Used metro to get to the sights.
This hotel is in a lovely neighborhood, has a very helpful staff, and offers comfortably furnished, enormous rooms. There is a gourmet-level Italian trattoria adjoining the lobby. I was extremely pleased by the super convenient shady, quiet, safe location. The decor is slightly worn but all the other positives made that point insignificant to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review! We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could use a little more upkeep.

Posted May 1, 2017
I'd classify this hotel as a budget / value hotel that is striving for more but doesn't quite get there. However for what you pay you should get more. The location is nice and the neighborhood is nice. Staff is friendly. Here are a few things. The walls are thin, I could here the TV from the other room like it was next to my head (it was). The shower didn't work properly - I couldn't get good water pressure. There was a large stain on the carpet that looked like vomit. My TV didn't work - I called to get it fixed and they couldn't / didn't fix it (it was a three night stay).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your stay outside of what you have mentioned here. We always ask that guests speak with the Front Desk whenever unhappy, I don't have a record of your notes here. I will make sure to investigate this to ensure this doesn't happen to another guest. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Kensington, NH

Great for visits to GWU

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Older. Elegant. Not a chain.
Cons: Elevators.
Location: Nice neighborhood of townhomes. Close to the Foggy Bottom Metro station. Easily go anywhere downtown from here. Easy in and out from DCA as well.
This hotel is right off campus, very convenient, quiet, and charming. Older. Elegant. Not a chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review! We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern NJ

No air conditioning?

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Well located. Small and friendly staff
Cons: The HVAC system
Location: Near GW and the Metro
We visited Washington DC over spring break and the weather was beautiful but very warm - in the mid to high 80s. We were not able to have any air conditioning in our room because they do not turn on the AC in the hotel until the heat is turned off in the hotel for the season! That means you cannot individually regulate the temperature in your hotel room. We opened the window a crack (as far as it would go) to try to get some fresh air circulating in the stiffing hot room but were unable to sleep as people hang out in the courtyard of the hotel until all hours apparently and it was very noisy (and still very hot and stuffy). The front desk staff was lovely but unable to help us with the AC issue. This is a well located hotel that needs some updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your review! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and enjoyed your interactions with the staff. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ronkonkoma, NY

Beautiful location but needs a renovation

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Staff was pleasant, rooms were good sized, location was beautiful and Metro easily accessible (five minute walk).
Cons: I am sure the rates will go up after renovation, but please renovate.
Location: Close to waterfront with plenty of restaurants. Located close to George Washington Univ, Metro, Whole Foods, CVS. Pleasant area to walk around.
The location is beautiful, a little hard to find as it is in a residential area with a small sign. The reasons why I chose this hotel was for the location and price (my husband had a conference nearby and we had to stay within a budget) and the fact that it had parking. When we first pulled up to the hotel we were told the parking garage was full and the car would need to be parked at another garage down the street. Luckily someone else was pulling out so we were able to put our car in the garage. When we looked in the garage it only had four spots and three cars were always parked in front on the hotel--so parking is limited. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean but extremely outdated. The carpet was old, the wallpaper and curtains were old, the furniture was old and the bathroom was extremely outdated. When taking a shower there was more water coming out of the faucet than the shower head, therefore I was standing in water up to my ankles every time I showered (not pleasant). When we got into the room it was very warm and the air conditioner did not seem to be working. We told the front desk and it was explained that because the weather was cooler the week before and this was the first warm day the entire system had to be changed over to air conditioning instead of heat and that would take a day. We were provided a box fan. It was very uncomfortable and we woke up sweating, the ac did turn on about 6am and was fine from thereon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review! We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Great location, short walk to the National Mall

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Excellent location, room was clean but dated, furniture was in disrepair. No Air Conditioning, would definitely not recommend for Spring or Summer! Walls are thin, so you can hear everything. Staff was friendly. Hotel restaurant breakfast was good but expensive. Good Wifi
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review! We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Great location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Big room. Quiet. Location.
Location: Take the time to explore around George Washington University, Dupont Circle and the area towards Downtown; there are plenty of nice places to eat.
Convenient for Georgetown and the National Mall but perhaps not for those who have trouble walking. If you're fit and like to sightsee on foot then this hotel is much better placed than others we saw further out, or in less peaceful surroundings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review! We hope to see you again soon!