Ratings based on 1,685 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from asheboro, nc

Comfortable

Posted Jul 20, 2017
It is cool in the summer and relatively close to the attractions and monuments.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Forget Customer Service

Posted Jul 11, 2017
The hotel didn't have any dedicated parking; when I called upon arrival they offered Valet. Failed to mention at ANY point it cost $47 a day! They said it was posted but they never verbally indicated the cost at any time. The room was clean but old: stained carpets, broken toilet seat, cracked sink. When speaking to the front desk they were snippy and rude-and the manager offered no courtesy for his staff failing to mention their excessive park rate. They told us 3 times that the breakfast available was not included (17 for "buffet" which was pitiful), but not their parking. Great trip, disappointing hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Derrick, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your experience is not customary and for this we apologize. We do our best to serve all of our guests and appropriately post our amenities and any associated costs. I am sorry if this information was not ab
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

convenient location

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Conveniently located near metro & Kennedy Center. Short walk to Georgetown & waterfront restaurants & shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for Your Review! We look forward to your next visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vernon, CT

Good location.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The best part of the hotel is how friendly the staff is. It's older but not dilapidated. Head to rock Creek park for dinner. Do not eat breakfast at Notti Bianchi. Very expensive and not great although the waiter was lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Convenient location close to GW University

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: It was quiet and comfortable, and the staff was very nice and helpful.
Cons: The only things I noticed were cosmetic and very minor at that.
Location: GW University and Foggy Bottom Metro two blocks away. Watergate Complex close by too. Easy walk to Washington and Dupont Circles.
The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. We were treated well from the moment we arrived until we left. The hotel is located in what seems like a safe section of the city, and is only a two block walk to the George Washington University and the University Hospital. The room was comfortable and everything worked well. Parking is by valet only and I never worried about the safety of our car. Traveling without a vehicle is easy and the Foggy Bottom Metro stop is two blocks away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Great staff, super clean, needs bathroom updates.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was impeccably clean but peeling paint and chipped bathroom fixtures could use an update. Also, very little parking nearby, $40/ night for valet parking. Walking distance to GWU, Whole Foods. About 1 mile walk to the Natuonal Mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We look forward to your next stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass

Very disappointed

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Bartender
Cons: Everything employee attitude could also be improved
I asked to be contacted about early check in and was told I couldn't find out until I got there. My room smelled. I told the front desk that I would be checking out early. I was charged $50 to park at the hotel. They told me to call the front desk to get my vehicle and it was staffed 24 hours a day however after three tries I just went down. I found my vehicle but it was parked in a way that I had to back it out on to the main Rd. Very disappointed and wouldn't recommend to this hotel anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank You for your Review. We encourage you to give us a call to speak more about your experience so that we can ensure a more positive experience next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ont Canada

Comfortable hotel in great location

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: It could use some updating. There carpets are worn (yet clean) the tubs new plastic liner was floating a little(not dangerously)need new faucets
Location: Everything is walkable or if you don't want to walk the metro will take you anywhere(2 min walk away)
This hotel is a little dated but the beds are newer and comfortable, the room was clean and the location was excellent. Close to metro, walkable to Georgetown, the Mall etc Metro is safe clean and affordable and takes you everywhere you need to go. Washington is a gem of a city. We always felt very safe, the people are friendly and the monuments and museums are all wonderful and free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the location of the hotel suited your needs well. We look forward to welcoming you back, especially when we renovate soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol, UK

Convenient location lovely neighbourhood

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly and clean with a great location.
Cons: Breakfast!
Location: it's easy to get around from here and it's a very nice location in a mainly residential area.
We had a friendly greeting at reception and check-in was efficient. The room was a good size and clean. The hotel is very close to Foggy Bottom Metro Station (around 3-5 minutes' walk) and about 10-15 minutes' walk from the JFK Center. I can't praise the reception staff enough, but the downside was that breakfast was not included in the rate and was expensive. When I buy a continental breakfast I expect to see a selection of pastries, bread roles and a variety of other choices, such has meats and cheeses. I don't call coffee, croissant and toast a breakfast at all. The cooked breakfast was eggs and bacon from the buffet or an omelet. I did not have the omelet, but tasted a friend's and it was very good. Much cheaper and better breakfasts were available in the surrounding area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your suggestions regarding breakfast with the chef and also share your high praise of the staff with each of them individually. We look forward to your next visit and stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Large Rooms

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: large room sizes
Cons: Customer service and method of communication by a couple of the reception staff, they were quite unempathic/unfriendly in their communication.
Location: see above.
Initally we were not given the room we had paid for, but the Derrick the manager once informed was very understanding and went out of his way to ensure the hotel made up for the invonvenince this caused us. I think the majority of the staff at the hotel are pleasant, there are a couple of reception staff who could do with improving their customer service. Rooms (the suites) are very big and beds very comfortable, although dated the room decoration is not displeasing. The hotel is a convenienet distance (walking/taxi) from the main tourist attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Derrick , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that we were able to make up our error to you and able to make sure you are well accommodated. We appreciate you choosing us for your choice of lodging and look forward to your next visit. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you while you are in house.