Ratings based on 1,616 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, Colorado

Perfectly Fine - no complaints

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Cons: I wish I had known that the restaurant is closed on Monday nights but plenty of other places to eat in the area.
Location: walked all over Georgetown from the hotel. Well lit at night and felt perfectly safe.
The staff was great - perfect location - quiet - clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by Derrick, Hotel Management
Thank You for Your Response! Though the restaurant is closed on Sundays and Mondays for dinner, we are happy that you enjoyed yourself and were able to enjoy nearby Georgetown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Convenient for foggy bottom.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Clean room. Decor a little dated. bathroom fine. Coffee and water were not refilled on second night. Did not park in hotel. On street parking always available over a weekend but sometimes a short walk away. Staff helpful. Did not use restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgrade

Modest, clean hotel conveniently located

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Service is excellent, the rooms are clean, and the area is quiet. Metro access is a huge plus as is convenient taxi access.
Cons: I like it just as is. If one wants glitz, glamor, a fast crowd, trendy nightlife and restaurants, then it may not be for you.
Location: Very close to Kennedy Center, Metro and Georgetown as well as restaurants and Whole Foods. Easy walk up New Hampshire to DuPont Circle.
The hotel is slightly worn in a nice way. IT is tucked away; I have lived in DC and did not know about it. The room was ample and came with a microwave,a small fridge a coffee maker, and wifi. It was very clean. The hotel is located a short block from Foggy Bottom metro station, a Whole Foods, and restaurants; and is in close proximity to Georgetown. The staff members are pleasant and efficient. Getting a taxi is as easy as walking out the front door. There is a parking garage (that I did not use) and an Italian Restaurant on the front facing the street. Overall, my experience staying in the hotel and interacting with staff was pleasant and I would definitely stay there again. Real value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little gem in Foggy Bottom

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location!
This was our third stay at the University Inn (formerly the George Washington University Inn) and our first since new management took over. We like the inn very much because of its location a few blocks from the Kennedy Center, yards from a Metro station and within walking distance of the National Mall. In addition it has a good Italian restaurant (but one that can be inconsistant) and a cozy little bar. We usually get a suite, which is quite spacious with a sitting room, a separate bedroom and a large bath, unlike the tiny shower-only booths found in more recently constructed hotels. Our favorite suite looks out from the third floor over a quiet neighborhood of row houses. But seriously folks, it's time for some new furniture. The chair in our bedroom looked like it had been worked over by the family cat, and cabinets and tables are chipped and worn. Notti Bianche, the restaurant, provided a delicious dinner, but why was there a carafe of olive oil at the table when bread was never served? More attention to detail is required. But these small glitches in no way deter us from returning, the plusses are so big. We'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Quick trip to DC

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Loved that it was in a residential area near the Metro. Good value. Although interior is dated, it was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, they should keep the bar open every night

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Very pleasant but they need to keep bar open every night. It is a neighbor and to eat or have a glass of wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to The Kennedy Center and Metro

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location was close to the Metro
Cons: Hotel restaurant and bar could be a lot better. They need to be refurbished and more inviting. Bottled water wasn't always left in the room.
Location: The Kennedy Center is nearby as is Foggy Bottom Metro.
Good hotel with good transport links via the Metro. The hotel room cleaners were a bit hit and miss. Bottled water wasn't always left and the drinking glasses in the room were never washed up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good service

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Very nice staff, quick to correct any problem: my assigned room had not been cleaned, so they immediately switched me to upgraded room.
Location: 2 blocks from metro; very good restaurant (Circa) nearby. The onsite restaurant was closed the night I was there.
Stayed one night following women's march on a terrible rainy windy day in January
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, excellent staff, mediocre room

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful
Cons: The room's could be nicer, the bed should be more comfortable
Location: In Foggy Bottom, near enough to the monuments to walk in decent weather. Limited street parking available.
The hotel is situated near the monuments and the Mall, which is great, and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful (they are the highlight of the hotel). The room itself is pretty small, not particularly well furnished, and the mattress was uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster PA

Very good location (100 yards from the metro stop)

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Staff courtesy, location
Cons: the restaurant where breakfast is served
Location: George Washington U campus is nearby, as are the Watergate and the Kennedy Center (about 1/4 mile)
Extremely courteous staff. The rooms are clean, but mine did not have a full shade to block off daylight. The valet parking is ok, but a bit pricey. They really advertise their restaurant, an Italian trattoria-style place. It looks fine, but the menu is small. Breakfast is ok, especially if you have a big appetite (small buffet.) The building's plumbing is a bit aged, so it takes a while to get the hot water going when you say on the upper floors. Still, for the price and the location, it is definitely a good find.