Ratings based on 3,308 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati OH

Great location to Capitol and Mall

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Love the location, staff and comfort of this hotel.
Cons: Had difficulty getting the thermostat to cooperate. We had to set the temperature at 85 degrees to get a comfortable setting.
This hotel has a great location. We were able to enjoy downtown Washington, visit sites on the Mall, eat at great restaurants and have good access to the Metro line for going out to Georgetown or Dupont Circle. It is wonderful to walk into an establishment whose website very accurately capture the beauty of its location and facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel location and staff are excellent

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Yes
Good and friendly atmosphere. I like the welcoming and the facility.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Will pay for room but end up not having room

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Location Perfect friendly staff other than one guy was treated me very rude .
Cons: train front desk staff
Location: Walking distance to Capitol . very close to The White House and staff
Do not Recommend Because even if you book for 2 nights but upon arrival they will say you sorry your room is not ready . My situation was that I paid Jan 19 and out Jan 21 but when i arrived early morning on Jan 20 i was told one of front desk staff member very rude African American tall guy (sorry don't know his name he chose to stay anonymous i ask his name he did not respond ) that you don't have room even though i paid more than 2000 bucks , cause maybe it was inauguration day .... Long Story short I was very tired and exhausted and after i requested to speak Manager Mr Gurel came and found for me room but not what i booked and told me will take care of breakfast for two , and i appreciate him for calm and professional dialog and that he tried to find solution of my situation . If not him I would give this Hotel 0 star for sure . Anyway inside not something to be amazed in my opinion its like 3 star max hotel . Bar and people are friendly Location is Perfect and In fact i saw a lot of Cnn and fox news celebrity like Geraldo Rivera and the other cnn anchor don't remember his name )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Great location!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Very busy weekend-was able to drop off bags without an issue-room was very comfortable, only caveat- kitchen staff was very overwhelmed and had difficulty with orders.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Very convenient to Capitol Hill. Very nice staff. Prompt service for issue with toilet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Worst expensive hotel experience in my lifetime!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Checkin staff was curt, unfriendly and stoic - no one offered to take bags to our room. Keep in mind now I paid $550 a night for this mistreatment. Is it too much to ask for a friendly face on arrival? But it gets worse. Room looks out at A/C units. Find the safe - controls are dead. Try calling front desk - phone is dead and no info on how to reach front desk anyway. Call on cell instead. Maintenance man comes up- says he can't fix either. Ask for new room - told to stuff it. Went to restaurant at 12:30pm for lunch. Rude hostess says an hour wait- half of tables are empty. Tried making reservationsfor dinner- no reservations offered. No room service after 11 pm. And all staff were untrained and sullen and barely spoke English. And $550 a night. Very disappointed. Also they charge for wi-fi in 2017 - and $550/nt. No room service menu, no info on how to get on wi-fi. Better experience at $100 hotels than this hotel. And no offer of accomodation due to all these non- functioning items in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, short on in-room amenities.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, room, views, restaurant.
Cons: In-room amenities!! At least a coffee machine!
I've stayed in this hotel during an event in Washington for 3 nights. The hotel is clean and big, nice helpful staff, quiet, stayed in a room on the 15th floor with view of the capitol, very nice! This hotel wasn't cheap! why don't they have a mini bar or a mini fridge in the room? Why do I have to pay for a fridge if there is already a place for it under the TV wall unit? Also, no coffee machine in the room!!! I have to go to the restaurant, again PAY for the coffee and bring it up, or ask for room service ... I don't know about that. Overall I liked my stay there, but I doubt I'll stay again if I'm going to pay for what I'd consider "granted" amenities in any 4-star hotel nowadays.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arkansas

Expect renovation.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: It was a good location and again their staff is great.
Cons: Having more available in the hotel.
I had to book quickly and so I didn't check into what was going on at the hotel. The gift shop, bar, and restaurant (except breakfast) was not available. I guess they also updated rooms since we kept finding random painters tape and during the day became quite loud from work above us. The staff though is excellent and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great! Hotel and staff were very helpful and made our stay a wonderful experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

view of the brick wall opposite the courtyard

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: proximity to Union Station
at least I could see the Capital Dome from the hallway window.............