Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA, USA & BKK, Thailand

First time at the Willard Hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Best location. Excellent services. Friendly staffs. Great restaurants. The most wonderful housekeeping service. Best historic hotel in the USA. Love the Red Door Spa, 24-hr fitness, and mini-museum of the hotel. We will definitely be back again. Staying at the Willard Hotel is one of the best memorable experiences for me and my identical twin sister.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quintessential D.C. Hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Beautiful hotel with grand interiors and well appointed rooms. The staff members were friendly and helpful. Loved the round bar too. The rooms were as nice as the pictures. I will be staying here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairfield county CT

beautiful historic hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: classic; historic; lovingly maintained.
Cons: Only suggestions: The extra charge for wi-fi should be retired: its a lovely and expensive place, already. The competitors don't charge; if you sig
Location: perfect for all Smithsonians, business area nearby too.
The Willard was beautifully decorated for Christmas. It is clearly a highlight for the staff, too. They are well trained, polite and with a lot of attention to detail. The rooms are very comfortable, and pretty. Valet parking was very fast and polite.Very clean fitness center, public areas and guest rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Chosen because of proximity to the White House.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Location, price, quality.
Cons: n/a
Location: White House, White House Visitor's Center, African American Museum of Arts & Culture, the Holocaust Museum
We were in town for the White House Christmas Tour. The hotel was nearby and had a long -standing reputation for excellence. We had a nice room, recently remodeled. The hotel lobby was fully decorated for Christmas, with daily Christmas Caroling by a group at 5:30. The hotel also offered Afternoon Tea from 1-4:00pm and it looked lovely. We visited the historic Round Robin Bar, ate at the breakfast buffet in the restaurant and also used the coffee shop for pastry and coffee. The hotel staff was very helpful, no matter the task.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Majestic hotel with incredible views of monuments

Posted Dec 22, 2016
My family stayed for several days during holiday break. I decided to stay at Willard instead of the Ritz and I am so glad we did. Conviently located to everything. We loved reading up on the history of the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good but a little pricey. Would stay again and recommend to everyone. Beautifully decorated for the holidays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous and festive at Christmas

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Had a beautiful stay at Christmas. Everything you want: location, very comfortable bed, great atmosphere, attentive staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

ExcellentTime! Fantastic Staff!

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Across from the White House and great dining and shopping.
Couldn't have been nicer! Beautiful facility and charming staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice old hotel, but nothing special for the price.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathrooms need updating. The nickel and diming from parking, internet and mini-bar prices are upsetting.
We stayed the night before Thanksgiving and the price of the hotel was acceptable, but I expected more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on our recent stay at The Willard.We're disheartened to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We never wish for our guests to leave our property dissatisfied with any part of their stay, thus we are disappointed to hear you did. Should we have known of your dissatisfaction during your stay, our staff would have worked to rectify the situation immediately. Should your travels bring you back to The Willard (and we sure hope they do!), we hope to have the opportunity to make amends for your recent experience. I would encourage you to speak with our Front Desk staff for information on accessing the hotel's complimentary WiFi. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, rooms
Location: White house, Mall, Universtiy Club, Newseum, Portrait Gallery, shopping , dining....
The location was perfect for all the things we planned to do. The rooms were excellent and the ambiance of the hotel and staff were wonderful. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review. Perfect location, excellent rooms and wonderful ambiance and staff are all things we love to hear from guests when describing their Willard experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our historic property in the not so distant future. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Girl friend's 80th birthday!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was professional, friendly and very accommodating. The birthday cake we ordered from their bakery was beautiful and delicious. Room service elegantly brought the cake to the room to surprise my friend.
Cons: I wish we could have been there longer. We liked everything about this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Patrick Birchall, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at The Willard. We're delighted to learn that your stay with us was an enjoyable one and humbled to hear that you liked everything about our hotel. Here at The Willard we love celebrating our guests, and a birthday is definitely a cause for celebration! It pleases us immensely to know that you found the birthday cake created by our pastry department to be beautiful and delicious. I will be sure to share your compliments with them. Thank you again for your review. On behalf of the Willard InterContinental Washington, DC we wish your friend a very Happy 80th Birthday and hope to see you again next year for their 81st. Regards, Patrick Birchall General Manager