Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Nice remodeled hotel for a quick stay.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Spacious and high ceiling rooms AND nice staff.
Cons: The air/heat unit plate was quite crusty and old. Please clean the showers better. I don't like to see other people's left over hair in the tub.
Location: Good location, right off of the BW Parkway which takes you into DC, VA, or Baltimore depending on which direction you're traveling.
This is the first hotel room I've stayed in with HIGH ceilings, it was pretty cool! Hotel was remodeled nicely, we slept good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback for our newly renovated hotel. We are pleased to hear the spacious, comfortable new rooms and location met your expectations. We will look at updating that air unit and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Quiet and convenient

Posted Jan 11, 2017
It was a last minute booking due to furnace failure when the weather was below freezing. I got a good rate, the room was very comfortable, and the meals from the dining area were adequate (I'm picky).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We appreciate you selecting our hotel as your place to stay, thank you for providing feedback for us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We just opened the Cafe and will continue to work on this menu and items as we offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel. Very clean, friendly staff, and also great location. I will definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you, we are very pleased to hear the newly remodeled hotel, great customer service and convenient location exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Largo, Md

Love it!

Posted Dec 26, 2016
I love this place, it's very comfortable and beautiful. Also, it's very clean and modern. A great place to get away without getting away. Definitely will be coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2017 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you very much, we appreciate hearing the great feedback from our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel had all you needed for a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Housekeeping Stole my Dirty Underwear!!!!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Claims to be newly renovated but they skipped alot of corners, bathroom has roaches and bugs crawling and the door in the bathroom had termite damaged
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Hotel is right by the highway but , right by one of the worse where their is a lot of crime, almost every night the police where called you some reas
STAY AWAY!!!!! It was horrible the hotel is shady and has random people walking around at all times of night smoking weed, being loud. Besides that majority of the staff speaks very little english, which wasn't that bad but my BIGGEST issue was that me and my wife only had housekeeping clean the room one day, and that one day alot of my wife personal items went missing. The housekeeping lady stole 3 pair of my wife victoria secret underwear, the lady even took the dirty ones out of the dirty clothes bag. In addition to that, she took my wife brand new shirt and hair products. When I told management, they told me to call expedia and tell them, After about 15 minutes are fussing they gave me some money to get my wife some underwear since hers had been stolen by their worker. To make things worse the cleaning lady never showed the next day, and no one could reach her. JUST HORRIBLE my wife was violated and in tears because the hair product she using she has to order offline, this situation was such FOOLISHNESS, who steals dirty underwear??????? Oh and the key card barley worked to get into the building try standing outside in washington DC in 20 degrees weather trying to make your keycard work to get into the building. THE Hotel didnt really seem interested in really understanding, that my was wife violated and they should do more than just buy her new underwear. They never replaced the shirt or hair products. They kind of washed their hands of the situation. STAY AWAY!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We take matters like this very seriously and rest assured a thorough investigation has been launched internally. We understand how upsetting this was to you and your wife and it is to our staff and management as well. We apologize once again and will reach out to you to discuss this further once our investigation is complete. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Va Beach, VA

Disgusting hotel - very dirty

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Hardwood floors.
Cons: Everything. The cleanliness, the sounds (insulation), the Keurig machine didn't work at all. The towels were disgusting and stiff as they could be.
This hotel had a decent rate and appeared to be just what we needed to sleep and shower. Upon check-in, the lobby was very updated and the hotel staff was friendly. The check-in clerk advised us that the hotel had just undergone over $6M in renovations and that he was putting us in one of their best rooms (which we heard him say to the people that checked in infront of us as well). We could BARELY fit on the elevator with our suitcases and it was very intimidating and definitely had not been updated. The room appeared decent when we first walked in. There are new hardwood floors which I think are great instead of nasty hotel carpet. However there were hairs EVERYwhere... on the towels, TONS of them all over the shower curtain and we had two queen beds and one of the beds had multiple hairs as well. We luckily found none in the other bed and were able to sleep there however maybe slept about three hours total. The room faces the parking lot and I don't know if there were multiple cars being towed or if there is a construction site nearby but the entire night and into the morning there were trucks in and out with the beeping of the back-up on a commercial truck. It sounded like it was in the room. We got up at 6 am to just leave since we couldn't sleep. To top it all off, the brand new Keurig machine wouldn't brew. I had brought my own K-cups and it would heat the water but never brewed. This was overall a TERRIBLE experience and I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valued feedback, we regret to hear your dissatisfaction with your stay and this experience was not up to our standards or our guests expectations. Rest assured this will be addressed with the team and we will make immediate improvements based on the feedback you gave us. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
This hotel is good it's clean it's not the greatest but it works for what it is. It is super convenient right off of BW Parkway
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words and feedback for the hotel. We are pleased to hear we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Dec 21, 2016
The hotel is not a Wyndham brand.. it's being remodeled. The rooms were okay. This hotel is close to the stadium. (FedEx field) we only stayed for one night. The staff all spoke Spanish so there was definitely a laugage bearable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We have completed a $5 million renovations to become the all new Wyndham Garden hotel, the guestrooms are new, as is the lobby and more. We are proud to have a diverse staff that speaks different languages to assist our many guests with their needs. We are sorry we did not make a better impression on you with this stay and hope for another opportunity in the future to exceed your expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Horrible

Posted Dec 16, 2016
I didn't get the normal welcoming experience I'd get in most hotels. The room phone wasn't working. The floors in the room were not cleaned properly and I found a small cockroach in the bathroom. The next day, they clean my room and don't leave me any towels. Since the phone wasn't working, I had to walk down stairs to let them know, then they sent me 2 wash clothes only. I met some people in the breakfast area who experienced the same and on top of all, some of us were charged for breakfast and some didn't. I travel a lot to the same area for work, but never again to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We appreciate your honest feedback and sincerely apologize for this experience. We are sorry to hear that our customer service and was not up to our standards and your expectations. We will review this with the appropriate manager and make the necessary changes immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Location: there didn't seem to be anything to do nearby. few dinning options around that looked inviting.
Easy access to highway, nice newly remodeled lobby, very clean and welcoming. The room was somewhat renovated, new finishes throughout the room but the carpet was not glued correctly so it was coming up. overall the room was clean, but the phone did not work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We are newly renovated as you mentioned and have exciting news our onsite restaurant bar Suzi Lee Cafe has just opened. We can't wait to see how you like that. Thanks for the feedback on the rooms, we will correct those items.