Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: LOCATION AND EVERYONE WAS FRIENDLY.
Cons: real breakfast and more information about the Inn and surrounding area.
everyone in Alaska was friendly and the weather was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review for the Agate Inn. We appreciate it. We are glad the weather was very good while you were here. It has been a rainy August and September. There is a notebook in each room with information about our area of Alaska. We will recheck to make sure the notebook is in a prominent place in each room. We are always happy to share information about the Agate Inn and Alaska. Thanks again for staying at the Agate Inn. Sandy & Harvey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berwick,ME

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Very nice place to stay. Getting to meet the Reindeer was an awesome experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Dave & Mary. Thank you for staying with us at the Agate Inn. We enjoyed visiting with you too! Thank you also for taking the time to post a review. We very much appreciate your feedback. We hope the rest of your trip went well. Sandy & Harvey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Caribou viewing from our window!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
A very short stay and we were in our way. We needed a place on short notice as we were needing a break from camping in the rain. Very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We very much appreciate your feedback. We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable, Sandy and Harvey
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice owners

Posted Aug 9, 2017
While the owners of the Inn were very nice, the rooms were very out of date and in very much need of a new update. Chair and couch in living room were old and sunken in. TV was really small and often lost the signal for reception. Overall, was a good stay but I would probably pick a different place next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry we did not meet your expectations. Without more detail, I am afraid we cannot identify which two bedroom Agate Suite you likely stayed in. We will check out our oldest sofas and chairs to see is we can find the ones described. Usually the DISH satellite rarely loses signal and then only during heavy rain storms. Also sorry the 32" flat screen LED TV wasn't large enough. We could certainly have moved you to another room if you had let us know. We hope your trip to Alaska was otherwise enjoyable. Sandy and Harvey Bowers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Apartment style room

Posted Jun 29, 2017
This Inn was really an apartment. Lots of room with two bed rooms, a full kitchen an living room with pull out couch. Comfortable in a good location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed one of our Agate Suites. We offer several room types to meet various travelers' needs. I hope you have a great trip to Alaska. Thank you for choosing the Agate Inn for your stay in Wasilla, Alaska
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home.

Posted Jun 21, 2017
I stayed a month. Everything was great. Only exception is, need laundry facilities in building. Carrying laundry to next building was not convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
We enjoyed visiting with you. It seemed the month went by quickly. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We hope you enjoy the rest of the summer. Sandy & Harvey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

Feel like home

Posted May 31, 2017
I stayed at 3 bedroom suite. Enjoyed the spacious kitchen and a living room. Little bit old with Only one bathroom but overall was a good experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Sandy, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your trip to Wasilla and Alaska went well. Sandy & Harvey
3 out of 5
by Simon from Cheshire

Paper thin walls, odd room - not the best.

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay in this odd place. No one to check in with - a code to a lock box had been emailed to us on the day- which isn't very convenient when you may not have access to email whilst travelling (as we didn't). Phoned owner, got code and then had the pleasure of listening to our neighbour's tv and conversation for the rest of our stay. The room is oddly arranged, dated and depressing. (Junior knik suite) I can only assume that others are better given the rating that this place attracts. The breakfast was an odd arrangement of orange juice and milk in jugs (why not in cartons so that we can see what it is - concentrate, whole milk etc etc), 2 muffins and some cereal, again in jars so you have no way of knowing what it is or how long it has been there. Expensive even by Alaskan standards for a relatively poor experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your review was posted on Trip Advisor a couple of days ago along with our response. Again.... We are so sorry we did not meet your expectations. We try to make every guest’s stay first rate. As a small inn we do not have a 24 hour registration desk. However, we live on the property and are available by phone 24 hours a day. Our late arrival lockbox system makes it possible for guests with late night airline flights and early morning schedules to come and go on their schedule, not ours. It is unfortunate that after you called for the lockbox code, you did not call back to voice your dissatisfaction. We could have easily moved you to another room, another building, or even found lodging for you at another establishment. The majority of our guests comment how pleased they are with the Knik Junior King Suites, but not everyone has the same preferences/tastes. We also wish you had called with your questions about the complimentary continental breakfast foods we provided in your private kitchenette. The two types of cereals are very popular and replaced daily. We use 2% milk, but with an advance request we can provide 1% or whole milk. Sandy & Harvey Bowers, Owners
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2016 by Sandy Bowers, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. We appreciate it. Sandy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Juneau, Alaska

Quite hotel in the woods

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Cons: Nothing
Location: Within a short distance of all the restaurants that Wasilla has to offer.
It is a B&B. Didn't see another person while there. I had two rooms, one for myself and one for my employee. Ken said that this was a place that he would like to bring his wife to. Would go there again when in area.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Sandy, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments and the time it takes to post a review. Sorry we missed your visit. We like to talk with everyone. The Agate Inn has thirteen units in four separate buildings spread over a ten acre area. Depending on guest schedules the Inn can be full of people and yet seem like no one is around. With our late arrival, self check-in option, we have several guests check out early in the morning before we start our day. The phone is always close by, 24/7, in case guests need something. Thanks again Tom for choosing the Agate Inn. Sandy