Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sandpoint, ID

Sonalong, sweet respite!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Such a lovely place! From the hospitality of Mr. Ha, and the impeccable service of Soon. A perfect location, nice walk to Pub Street, or a short tuk-tuk ride, Sonalong is a hidden tropical oasis with pool. Good breakfast cooked to order. We have already recommended to other travelers we have met!
5 out of 5
by Ann

Amazing hotel!

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
This is an amazing hotel. The location is great. Although that doesn't matter much because no matter where you go in or out of town there is always a tuk tuk (taxi) to take you. The hotel grounds were beautiful. The resort was clean and inviting. The rooms are large. The beds are pretty firm, but were not uncomfortable. The hotels.com listing stated that bottles of water and breakfast was included, but this was not the case. Breakfast was anywhere from$3-7 dollars, and was worth every penny! The breakfast is so amazing that I did not mind paying. The room refrigerator was stalked with a local beer, coca cola, and liter bottles of water. One liter of water was $1. Six beers or six sodas were one dollar. They will even do your laundry if you leave your dirty clothes in the hamper. It is based on weight but costs roughly $1 per load. They wash and iron your clothes the same day. By dinner just pick your clothes up at the front desk. The rooms are large. The bathrooms are dark, so ladies bring a mirror to do your makeup in the room where it is bright. The best part of this hotel is the staff. Everyone is so friendly and remembers your name. They speak to you every time they see you. They love to get to know you. The bartender makes all the drinkd fresh. They slice all the fruit in front of you for the cocktails. This is an amazing hotel. You will not be disappointed!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay in Siem Reap

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful grounds and nice room. Attentive service and friendly staff. Food service slow, but that seems to be the same everywhere in SE Asia. Great breakfast with plenty of choices. Nice swimming pool. Weak WiFi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, BC Canada

Good family oriented boutique hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Quite but close to the action at night.
Cons: Upgrade to towels and bed linens.
Great little spot, close to restaurants and shopping. The staff are friendly and helpful. Only a 2 dollar tuc tuc ride to anything u need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Excellent place to stay in Siem Reap

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Great location, very nice, large and clean room. Very comfortable bed. Excellent staff, excellent breakfast. Great value for the cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

A jungle oasis a walk away from downtown

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The grounds were beautiful; there were winding gardens, a pond which was full of frogs at night, and a beautiful pool. Very romantic!
Cons: The bathroom could use an update but other than that the room was lovely.
Location: In walking distance to downtown. The staff will get you set up with a driver and tour guide if you're interested in visiting the temples.
My husband and I spent three nights at Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort while on our honeymoon. The staff was fantastic, start to finish, and helped us plan and get set up for two days touring the temples. The grounds were meticulously maintained. We spent every afternoon at the pool which was a nice break after being in the heat all day. Breakfast was complementary and the coffee was outstanding! The room was comfortable and stocked with $1 USD beers which we enjoyed several of while relaxing in the lounge chairs on our private porch. It was so nice to be able to be close enough to walk into town but to also be a little removed from the hustle and bustle as well. I can't say enough about our experience here, it was truly magical!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great place close to main centre.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Everything
Lovely setting, great rooms and pool close to hub of Siem Reap. Located within 5 min walk of pub street and 2 mins to kings corner restauarants and stores. Set in lush gardens this is a very welcoming retreat from the crush of SR tourist centre. Staff and owner very welcoming, helpful and generally go above and beyond to asssit their guests. Food in restaurant good, breakfasts very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Friendly Place

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Staff and the quiet location.
Cons: None to think of.
Location: All things to see and do are close. Some Reap is a small place.
Staff was simply helpful and friendly. They went out of their way to make a stay one to remember. The place itself was more than adequate. It is located in a quiet neighborhood. Could walk to Pub Street, but the weather will get you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

A great place to stay

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: Garden and pool areas, layout of villas and friendly staff. Excellent food.
Cons: Bathroom a little outdated but really not a problem as this isn't presented as being a 5 star resort but not far from it in terms of hospitality.
Location: Great location....easy walk to Pub Street and old market. ATM next door (very handy and used many times).
Chose Sonalong following excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and were very pleased we did so. The free-standing villas (one up, one down) were most comfortable and the huge verandas a bonus, although we didn't have much time to sit there. Although initially upset on checking-in because the room we were given wasn't what had been expected this was quickly sorted out the next day by very apologetic owner Mr Hak and changed to "proper" room. Given free dinner/dance show at local theatre and free dinner at Sonalong as way of apology which were kindly accepted. Had just come from 8 night stay at 5 star resort in Vietnam but I must say we really enjoyed Sonalong as much and such great value for money. Included cooked-to-order breakfasts excellent as was food we enjoyed for lunch and dinner and so very cheap. Cheeseburger for $3.50 unbelievable value. The garden and pool area are really lovely and the staff very friendly and obliging. A special mention to Mr Joy, the Night Receptionist, who provided assistance and support on our first disappointing night and throughout our stay. Even took us on an additional temple tour on our last day. Because we had a late flight out at 6.30 pm Mr Hak arranged our bags be stored in an empty room until we checked out at 4 pm so we could shower and change later. Excellent service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albury NSW

The best of Boutique accommodation

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: The pool, the rooms & the Hotel staff
Location: The Hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the old market & pub street area or USD $2 by tuk tuk.
This was the fourth time i have stayed at this Hotel. Each time i have returned i have found that small improvements have been made & a spa is the latest addition since my last visit. The units are set in a tropical garden which is meticulously maintained & the swimming pool is always clean & refreshing. Mr Hak & is staff are wonderful hosts