Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

House hotel near Waterford

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Pros: The staff were most welcoming - giving a cuppa, very appreciated on our arrival. The Breakfast is good. Gardens lovely ..
Cons: The bedrooms could be updated .. - blankets on the bed which are dated .. firm bed .. though clean and we slept well.
Location: . the location .. you would need a car / taxi to go into town --
We are a couple who were visiting family in Waterford. The hotel is modern downstairs with a lovely restaurant and sitting area. .. Overall the experience good .. the restaurant menu very good.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louth, Ireland.


Posted Feb 26, 2018
Comfortable room and excellent food. Would highly recommend a stay there.
5 out of 5
by Anya

Posted Dec 21, 2017 on Hotels
The town was unremarkable but the hotel was absolutely lovely, we are very glad we stayed there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Looked good on the website but disappointed

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: the staff and the breakfast
Cons: See above
First the good things: Good location outside of centre of Waterford Very good breakfast Staff (especially Michelle), very friendly, professional and efficient Now the not so good: Requested a room with a nice view, got no communication about this request and a room that was half underground - hardly a good start. Heating appears to be turned off more than on resulting in the need for an additional heater in the room Wall TV was only slightly larger than my iPad! Needs an upgrade (the wall TV, not my iPad) Heated Bathroom towel rail was not heated With a few small investmemnts to revitalise the hotel I think this could eb a good one but sadly, right now, I would not recommend to you.
3 out of 5
by Reuben

Posted Nov 24, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely food but mattress was worn out and lumpy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room not ready, and restaurant terrible

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
The room was not ready at check in time, our beds were not the same height as each other's. There was a bus parked at our window all night. It was a terrible experience for us. We went to the restaurant and felt like we had been transported back to the early 90's. The food was edible and my drink was terrible. There were two big parties happening in the restaurant with us, that were loud. It was not a very nice place to eat. There was also a child playing notes on the piano that did not add to the atmosphere. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
we had a great stay at the Athenaeum House Hotel and Waterford too. We also took advantage of the restaurant for dinner and found the meal exquisite. Service and attitude from all staff that we encountered was also 2nd to none.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a complete remodel

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel living on past glory. Rooms last refurbished when Hector was a pup. Mattresses were thin and hard. An eight aging to a six.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old, upgrades needed

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Although the location is pretty, the rooms and beds are in desperate need of attention. The bed mattress was terrible, the linens were old and dingy. All should be replaced.at least in our room. The shower pressure was very good!... plastic curtain.. The walls and doors need upkeep attention... fresh painting over the cracks and marks. On a positive note, the staff were pleasant and the breakfast was decent.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Poole UK

Quiet hotel near Waterford

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location. View of Warterford across the river.
Cons: Attention to details
Location: Waterford Crystal factory. Bishop's palace. Viking museum.
A good hotel let down by lack of attention to details. Chamber maid forgot to leave us with clean towels on second day, when we asked for them they were left on the desk in the room. Waitress forgot we ordered scones and tea. After a while, somebody else served us. Friendly staff.