Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay for a little R&R

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: We stayed in the lodges, which had plenty of space for our family.
Location: Not much directly in the area. It is not downtown Waterford. It is about a 10-15 minute drive.
My parents and I traveled around Ireland and by the time we made it to Waterford, we were ready for a night that was not directly downtown. The serenity and beauty of the Waterford Castle was just what we needed. Also, had a great hotel bar with a phenomenal mixologist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Waterford Castle. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the dining room and a scrumptious breakfast the next morning in the solarium. It was a very relaxing atmosphere. Wonderful memories were made. We certainly hope to return some day for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What an experience

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Dining there was a Michelin experience. Read about the restaurant in conde Nast. It did not disappoint.
Wish we had more time. One night do not give us the true castle experience. Had dinner in the dining room. It is a must. Was amazing. And great value. You take a ferry to the resort which is fun. Runs every 15 minutes. Great service. Spectacular grounds. Very 'downton abbey'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Orbitz
We didn't stay in the castle itself. We stayed in the lodges, which were actually 3 bedroom townhouses complete with full kitchen and laundry. They were absolutely beautiful! Unfortunately, we were only there for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Amazing experience

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I am so upset at myself for only booking one night here. This was one of the highlights of our entire two week trip. Next time we visit Ireland we will be staying here for much longer. The excitement and feeling of specialness or luxury starts when you pull your car onto the tiny ferry that takes you across the water to the island. The short drive from the other side to the hotel is pretty and makes you feel like you really are approaching something special. The parking area is large and a very short walk to the door. Or you can pull up front while you check in and unload your bags. The service is amazing, very helpful and friendly. Every single employee we came into contact with during our stay was wonderful. The castle is clean and well maintained but still gives you the feeling of going back in time. I felt like royalty while we were here. The room we stayed in was huge and beautiful. The bathroom was clean and had an amazing old style bathtub. The bed was comfortable and we had a great view from our window. The common rooms were warmed by amazing fireplaces and the bar had a fantastic drink menu. The breakfast was great and so was the afternoon tea we booked. One of my favorite things was the property. The grounds are fun to explore. You could spend an entire day just walking around. You can find everything from fairy houses to a small lighthouse. I can't wait to come back here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and Quite Hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was very relaxing as hotel is on an island with a golf course and contains various wild life.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and close to Waterford.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: The ambiance
Cons: Some of the wallpaper in the room was beginning to look mouldy due to the dampness in the room.
Stayed only one night. Great old accommodation in need of some maintenance. We had a lovely meal in the evening and a great breakfast in the morning. we had a pleasant walk in the extensive grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Wow. From the staff to the room and the food. I couldn't ask for a better experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place!

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay at Waterford Castle with our 2 children! We stayed in one of the lodges which were great. Sometimes with kids hotel rooms can be a little confining. It's nice to have somewhere to sit and watch tv in the evening. The lodge was fabulous and we had deer in the garden! Absolutely gorgeous and will definitely return!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Stayed in the cottages and the air was stale and bathrooms smelt like mold.