Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The only castle on an island in Ireland. Love!

Posted Nov 25, 2017
My family of 5 stayed in the beautiful and spacious 3 bedroom lodges which are a 5 min walk to the castle. The Lodges are just like a house with all the modern conveniences including full kitchen and washer/dryer. Luxurious deep bath in the master suite! After checking in we enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea in the castle and the magnificent large fireplace and the huge Christmas tree and decorations. There’s a golf course ( and casual club house) tons of beautiful trails around the island for jogging or a relaxing walk. After dinner we enjoyed chatting with the very knowledgeable young bar man about the history of the castle and whiskey! Fantastic! The staff are incredibly tentive and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. We’ll be back!
5 out of 5
by Amy

Amazing property, 5-star food and service

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Spent one night at Waterford Castle in their self-contained lodges. Everything was 5-star, the service, the food, etc. The lodges were HUGE, very comfortable, and had everything you'd need. Glad I got one of those, as I've heard the rooms in the castle aren't quite as spacious.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Beautiful property! Bring earplugs!

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful and amazing property. I recommend bringing a good pair of walking shoes to stroll the property and surrounding woods. The people were really nice and helpful. The carpet was really old and needed replacement. If you are a light sleeper, you will hear every door slam as I was woken up numerous times and then found out why, a hallway passthrough door was by our room and kept slamming when someone would pass through. Dinner and Breakfast was really special and the food quality was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Beautiful place! Our room was gorgeous, as was the entire hotel. The drinks were amazing with the best bartender I've ever had! The breakfast was great and the property is so beautiful! Would love to stay here again!
1 out of 5
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stephanie and Michael Pytlinski from Upland CA

What an amazing place to stay!!

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
we loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie, Pennsylvania USA

Wonderful experience

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Comfortable lodge... excellent service... fantastic dinner.... totally enjoyed our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

An historic delight

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Located on its own island which you access via the ferry, and surrounded by water and beautifully maintained gardens, the castle is an awe inspiring sight. Upon entering the castle hotel the reception area is expansive and impressive. It is beautifully appointed and un keepung with the period. The reception staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room in which we stayed was of a reasonable size and furnished well. The beds were comfortable. Disappointingly the carpet was rather grubby and stained. There were 2 armchairs in the room that had also seen better days and weren't particularly comfortable either. The bathroom was in keeping with the period style and functional and clean though personally we thought it was tizzy and a bit over the top. The floor and wall tiles were a mismatch to the overall theme. The dining areas are beautifully decorated and they offered a couple of dining options. Overall we were impressed with the hotel and recommend it highly if you are looking for that somewhere/something special and don't mind the isolation of the place. (Keeping in mind it's only about a 15 minute drive outside of Waterford town.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Ireland Castle stay!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The castle is breathtaking! The history magnificent! Deer roam the property and the gardens are gorgeous. Staff is friendly and super accommodating! Two minute ferry ride is charming. An amazing experience and definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Secluded Island Castle minutes from Downtown

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Orbitz
We only booked one night at the Waterford Castel, and I wish we had booked more. The ferry to and from the island is quick and easy. The castle is nestled away from the car park by a grove of trees. Walking up it appears out of nowhere and is breathtaking. The large lobby with its gigantic fireplace is beautiful and filled with cozy sofas and window nooks to relax. Our room was large and beautiful with a large claw foot tub. The Fitzgerald bar was a great place to end our night. And breakfast was amazing the next morning in the glassed in dining room. There were some odd knocks and bangs throughout the night but I chalked it up to the fact that it was a castle or the ghost of Mary Fitzgerald. Absolutely would stay again.