Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful castle

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Setting, grounds
Cons: Their web site advertisement to "stay at a castle."
Location: You will need a car as it is on a small island far away from everything.
This is a beautiful castle on a magnificent estate. We came for our 45th anniversary, wrongly thinking we would be staying in the castle. My fault for not reading the details in advance- we were actually staying in the "lodges," which are far away from the castle and more like a simple condo complex. The condos were spacious, but very "white" and modern. Obviously intended for families with kids. My only other complaint was that we were told there was a wedding Saturday, so none of the castle's facilities would be available to anyone except the wedding party. We were surprised to also find out this was the case through breakfast on Sunday! So we left after one night. Otherwise, this is a beautiful place. Read what you are actually reserving carefully.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lodges at the castle

Posted May 24, 2017
I wasn't aware there were lodge rooms outside the castle, so be aware not all rooms are in the castle. So read the details to make sure you know what you are getting. Dinner was amazing and would recommend, but I felt breakfast was over priced for what you got. We did the falconry while at the hotel and i would totally recommend that! Amazing experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from california

Space, like a home

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Spacious
Cons: Small details like patch small holes in the ceiling
Location: Waterford Crystal Tour
We stayed not in the main hotel but in the self-catering lodges, number 40 to each exact. It was pleasant, quiet, away from the city. We did laundry, went shopping and bought groceries, cooked some meals. The lodge was tidy, clean, large living down, three bedrooms bedrooms up, great value. Things like holes in the ceiling, light switches and dimmers that didn't work perfectly, some lights out (ground floor bathroom) were minor and overall we liked the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

Worth the visit

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Fabulous location, beautifully appointed, yet comfortable. The Mixologist was amazing, making our low key evening an experience. Breakfast was terrific!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing stay for a little R&R

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: We stayed in the lodges, which had plenty of space for our family.
Location: Not much directly in the area. It is not downtown Waterford. It is about a 10-15 minute drive.
My parents and I traveled around Ireland and by the time we made it to Waterford, we were ready for a night that was not directly downtown. The serenity and beauty of the Waterford Castle was just what we needed. Also, had a great hotel bar with a phenomenal mixologist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We had a wonderful stay at Waterford Castle. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the dining room and a scrumptious breakfast the next morning in the solarium. It was a very relaxing atmosphere. Wonderful memories were made. We certainly hope to return some day for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What an experience

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Dining there was a Michelin experience. Read about the restaurant in conde Nast. It did not disappoint.
Wish we had more time. One night do not give us the true castle experience. Had dinner in the dining room. It is a must. Was amazing. And great value. You take a ferry to the resort which is fun. Runs every 15 minutes. Great service. Spectacular grounds. Very 'downton abbey'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Laois

A little bit of heaven

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Maybe a bigger selecton on the menu for dinner - I'm not into game
Location: Went to Dunmore East - so pretty
Have not been to Waterford Castle before but will certainly go back - fab atmosphere, fab staff, so clean and it just felt like a real treat to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Exceeded our expectations

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Orbitz
We didn't stay in the castle itself. We stayed in the lodges, which were actually 3 bedroom townhouses complete with full kitchen and laundry. They were absolutely beautiful! Unfortunately, we were only there for one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Amazing experience

Posted Dec 4, 2016
I am so upset at myself for only booking one night here. This was one of the highlights of our entire two week trip. Next time we visit Ireland we will be staying here for much longer. The excitement and feeling of specialness or luxury starts when you pull your car onto the tiny ferry that takes you across the water to the island. The short drive from the other side to the hotel is pretty and makes you feel like you really are approaching something special. The parking area is large and a very short walk to the door. Or you can pull up front while you check in and unload your bags. The service is amazing, very helpful and friendly. Every single employee we came into contact with during our stay was wonderful. The castle is clean and well maintained but still gives you the feeling of going back in time. I felt like royalty while we were here. The room we stayed in was huge and beautiful. The bathroom was clean and had an amazing old style bathtub. The bed was comfortable and we had a great view from our window. The common rooms were warmed by amazing fireplaces and the bar had a fantastic drink menu. The breakfast was great and so was the afternoon tea we booked. One of my favorite things was the property. The grounds are fun to explore. You could spend an entire day just walking around. You can find everything from fairy houses to a small lighthouse. I can't wait to come back here again.