Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

Not what it is made out to be

Posted Nov 15, 2015
This property does not offer breakfast and the staff is very slow and not very friendly. Many other options around the area. Desk chair was cut and torn, the ceilings and walls were stained. Rooms need attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottumwa Iowa

More then expected

Posted Aug 3, 2015
A group of my girlfriends and I stayed there for a weekend for my Bachelorette party and we had a blast! Staff was very nice and even aloud us to stay in the hot tub after hours. We had a suite and it was stocked more then we expected and the good honor cabinet was awesome for borrowing supplies. We borrowed a toaster over to cook a late night pizza. I would definitely stay there again. It's also close to Lost Island water park and the casino
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IA

Clean and nicely decorated

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Nice pool and hot tub. Room was clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for extended business stays & families

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The fully stocked kitchen is ideal for extended stays or families on a budget. Located near restaurants, Target, shopping and right off the highway.
Cons: The $75 pet fee was the highest we have ever paid, including at more exclusive hotels. Candlewood should probably rethink that.
Location: Numerous nearby restaurants; Super Target (good for groceries & supplies), and shopping mall nearby. Also just off the highway so easy access.
We were there for only one evening and checked in late at night. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. Had no idea rooms were equipped with huge home-size refrigerators, microwaves, kitchen sinks, cupboards, and even nice plates, cups, and silverware. A real laundry basket was also supplied. The hotel is pet-friendly, which is one of the reasons we chose it. We had no problems at all. Wish we were staying longer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison Iowa

Irishfest stay

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Cons: Overal cleanliness. It is a nice facility but appeared dirty. It was a clean and very nice facility a year ago.
We booked this hotel because we stayed here last year. It was excellent last year. This year not so much. We arrived and our room smelled horrifc like fried burnt food maybe fish. Complained immediately and ask for a staff member to come up. We were in a hurry to attend a concert at the fest so after 15 minutes and no one showed up we went to the front desk where we were informed they were just getting ready to come up. Whatever. We did ask for our room to be deodorized while we were gone . We arrived back late to the vent on the stove running full blast but the odor had not gone away and no deodorizing had been done. The hall carpet was not vacuumed from Friday to Sunday at all as a Benadryl pill lay in front of the elevator our entire stay. On Saturday night coming back the elevator floor was covered in what appeared to be fruit loop cereal. You can't make this stuff up!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2015 by Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Maggie, I'm sorry to hear that your recent stay with us didn't live up to the service provided in the past. Thanks so much for sharing. We've used this feedback, and other indicators, to place Irish Fest on our double staffing calendar. This year the festival brought droves of patrons in comparison to last year's. We now know that we need to double down on housekeeping, and guest services staffing for this particular weekend, so that we can take care of all of our arriving and in house guests, and maintain the common areas of the hotel all at once. I apologize sincerely that we failed to exceed your expectations from last year, and hope for the opportunity to serve you again during 2015's Irish Fest!
2 out of 5
by Heidi from MN

Expedia misled us & is not rectifying their error

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Cons: Accurate description of amenities on Expedia (since corrected)
Location: The only reason we go to Cedar Falls/Waterloo is go to wrestling tournaments at the UNI Dome.
When we booked this hotel on Expedia, one of the reasons we chose it was because it was advertised with breakfast which is convenient for us. My emailed booking confirmation says includes 'Full Breakfast'. When we got to the hotel, we learned there was no breakfast at all - only coffee. When I contacted Expedia and even escalated to a Supervisor there, they told me 'the hotel doesn't offer breakfast'. Well - NO KIDDING! But at the time I booked it, the Expedia information on the hotel was obviously wrong and has since been updated. I am still waiting for some sort of credit from Expedia for my breakfast expenses since we would have chosen a different hotel if the information in Expedia had been accurate. Expedia Customer Service doesn't seem to understand the issue even though I emailed them back a copy of my Confirmation that they sent me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel w/ kichenette

Posted Jul 16, 2012
On the internet, I beleive it just says 2 star hotel, but I found it to be better than that. The only down fall is no breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff from Iowa

Would stay again

Posted Jun 4, 2012
Nice place-close to everything we needed.Staff freindly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacob from Omaha, NE, USA

pretty good place

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Cons: not being able to see everything it had to offer.
Not too bad of a place. You have a full fridge, which is nice to fill it full of your refreshments of choice. Not to forget that I had a microwave. I don't see that very often. The bed sheets could have been a little cleaner but they were super comfortable. I was all around very satisfied with my stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Won't Go Back

Posted Feb 8, 2009
The hotel at first look is ok but wait! This is an extended stay hotel which menas that your room will be cleaned no more than twice a week. The price does not justify the reduced services. You can stay a much nicer place for less. I was only there four nights and moved from one room to another twice. The first room had an overflowing toilet which ws reported the first morning after my checkin. I was aasured that it would be taken care during the day. Wrong! Nothing was done. I proceeded to the front desk and asked if someone from maintenace could take a look at it. The answer was no becuase she was the only one and had to take of everything. I then asked for a plunger so I could do it myself. After an hour I went to the front desk again looking for the plunger and was told that one could not be found! I asked for another room. One hour later I was on way to dinner and the door would not lock at all. Went to the fronta nd she accompanied me to investigate and confirm that the door would not lock. At this point I wanted to leave the hotel for good, but decided to stay at least one more night and asjked them to fix the lock. The next eveining after returning from work I found that the door still did not lock! Nothing was done! I decided that I would stay the night and never stay there again. I did not want o move rooms three times in 4 days. The worst maintenance service in my 24 years of traveling.