Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Hotel in Need of Upgrades...

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Pet friendly...and good views of the Cedar River from the upper floors.
Cons: More attentive staff, and major remodeling...
Location: In downtown Waterloo, there are a number of nice restaurants on East 4th Street across the bridge.
We arrived in Waterloo to attend Sturgis Falls Days in nearby Cedar Falls. As the "flagship" hotel of Waterloo, we chose to stay there as it is close to a number of restaurants and easy freeway access to Cedar Falls. While we applaud the pet friendly environment, we did not appreciate the fact that the hotel staff could not deal with rearranging room cleaning times to ensure that we walked our pet outdoors while they were working on the room. Our card keys failed to open our room on a few occasions (we were moved from our 1st room when both card keys failed)...requiring the staff to deliver new keys. The room and facilities were very much dated and in need of overhaul. While the views over the Cedar River were nice, the room's interiors were just not up to scratch as compared to other hotels we have stayed at worldwide. In all, if you are in need of a hotel in the Cedar Valley close to Waterloo, this is about one of the few hotels in downtown near John Deere. While I cannot recommend the hotel, I can say that the location does work...but you need to deal with the dated hotel environment.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Threadbare, dated, dirty

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pool closed indefinitely. Beyond dated. Inattentive front desk. Linens threadbare and soiled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Update or Close Down!

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Not at all what was advertised, specifically the lack of a pool and spa. Restaurant was closed down but still had place settings on tables. Creepy feeling all around. "The Shining" came to mind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
When we were leaving they had terminex heating a room next to my room to kill bed bugs
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted May 22, 2017
Hotel is over priced the area isn't the best pool and hot tub not even in working condition
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I got bed bugs and a severe allergic reaction

Posted Apr 16, 2017
I have I've 75 bites from my neck down to every toe my spouse and I had the worst experience from this facility and needs a terminator immediately
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best....

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Cons: Room needs a serious upgrade.
When we first arrived the heat was turned on full blast and it was probably 80 degrees in the room....the fan in the bathroom made so much noise you could hardly stand to be in there. The bed and pillows needed a serious upgrade as well as the rest of the room. Would not recommend this to my friends based on the room we stayed in.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from waterloo ia

No not stay here; dirty & unprofessional

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Room was dirty, hair on sheets & in batheroom, cold showers, pool & hot tub out of order, old furniture & old ripped up blanket on bed. Complained to front desk & they didn't seem to care. Told them shower was cold & she said "oh, we know, our water heater hasn't been working". I then said the pool & hot tub are out of order & she said "yes, they haven't been working". You would think they would tell guests this stuff upon check in? They never offered any discount or anything for the aweful stay. Would never stay here again & would not recommend staying here.
5 out of 5
by William

The night I left home and felt like I was home.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The room wae very clean and comfortable. I had no problems at all.
3 out of 5
by Alexandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels