Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by kitty

Good value for money, friendly stay.

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Our weekend stay at Shamrock Arms Guest Lodge were excellent. Great welcome, good service, excellent food, and warm hospitality. Very good option for stay when you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Warm South African hospitality

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Made for a convenient stop over on my way to Kruger. Great hospitality from the moment I arrived, I was made to feel very welcome and included which is always nice as a single traveller. Dinner was lovely and they really took care to cater for my specific dietary requirements (lactose and gluten intolerance)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bracknell, England

Great Hosts

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Terry & Jacu could not do enough for us to make us feel welcome. Hotel is quaint with a nice dining room attached. Bedrooms were clean & comfortable.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location was fine. Just passing thro so cannot comment on things to do locally.
Had a lovely stay here with great hosts Terry & Jaco who made us feel very welcome. Only stayed for 1 night but very memorable evening spent with Terry & Jacu on the veranda drinking wine & resolving the worlds problems.
5 out of 5
by william from Benoni

shamrock arms is the best

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Chillaxing weekend, around the Num Num Trail Run 32km, near Machadadorp. Very rugged countryside, with hiking and walking trails in abundance and mountain biking trails too (although we didn't try any of these). Tough conditions requiring superior fitness. The town itself is a bit run down but this establishment was amazing. Exploding with personality and charm. Jaco is a legend. Arrive hungry - the dinner and breakfast portions are huge and too tasty not to clean your plate!
4 out of 5
by Martin from Johannesburg

Good stopover on way to Kruger

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great welcome and very helpful hosts - couldn't do enough for you. Rooms are behind old pub and are very comfortable and clean. Food is enthusiastically and individually prepared - again great service. Relaxing in the bar before and afterwards was a pleasure. Recommended stopover.
5 out of 5
by Christopher from Boston, MA

A+

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing breakfast, nice room. Some street noise but not too bad
5 out of 5
by Henk from Waverley,Pretoria

Cool place to be.

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Room was very comfortable. Had all we needed. Even had cookies for our coffee in the room.Wide comfortable kingsize bed. Owners and manager were very friendly and always at hand to help out with anything. Gave us tips on the travel i and around where we wanted to go.
5 out of 5
by Heino from Saskatoon, SK

Great stay

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
The town/city doesn't look very appealing when first arriving, but we felt safe. Shamrock Arms provided what we needed. The staff - notably Jaco :) - and owner were very friendly. Food was good. The place was clean. And we would be happy to stay there next time we're in the neighbourhood. The place had many returning guests, who were friendly and added to the positive wipe at Shamrock Arms.
5 out of 5
by william from benoni

shamrock arms num num trail raun

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
stayed over the night before a race. arrived late and received the friendliest and warmest greeting ever. lovely host and gorgeous little pub and restaurant. really felt welcome and comfortable. very comfy rooms with all essentials. i'll definitely be back for an overnight stay for future adventures out to that part of the world!
5 out of 5
by Melissa from USA

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Shamrocks Arms is a quaint little resort in an idyllic setting! The staff is charming and the service is unparallelled. Had an excellent time and will definitely be back.