Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Comfortable and pleasant

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Location: I was there for an outdoor retreat, so I went climbing at Romney Rocks, mountain biking on one of the trails, and kayaking in the water in Town Square
My bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've experienced! The Valley Inn was in a convenient location to be able to change or pick up different equipment throughout the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Great location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel and staff were nice. The pull out sofa didn't work, and we needed that sleeping space so some of us ended up sleeping on the floor. And no A/C. Other then that the location was amazing. And so we're the fun passes you get for all the local activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Solid choice in the Valley

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Orbitz
This was my second stay at the hotel this year. I stayed here back in the winter. I was pleased to see that the beds/mattresses were new and they had gotten new towels. Those were two things I wasn't thrilled with last stay. It seems like a good sign that they are making improvements to the property because it definitely needs it. I hope they do more. It's a great location. Walking distance to the town square. The front desk staff are great. The lobby is very cozy and inviting. They always have hot water for tea and lots of ice water which is great. I would stay here again but would request that we be on the upper floors. Apparently the lower level, which has doors that open to the backyard/pool area is where smoking guests like to stay. The manager was very nice when I told him I wasn't happy about people smoking outside our room. He immediately spoke with that guest and asked him to smoke out behind the pool area. He also offered to move us to another room. I didn't feel this was necessary as he had addressed the issue and it was not a problem again during our stay. I'll just ask for a higher floor in the future. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The assistant manager and manager are very helpful and ever present. Waterville Valley seems to be making a comeback and I feel like this Inn is trying to be part of that rejuvenation. Not all the lodging is doing this. Such an absolutely gorgeous location. We will be back!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Justin, Hotel Management
Hello Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with other travelers. Also, thank you for noticing our efforts as we continue to improve. It's feedback form guests like yourself that really helps us create exceptional guest experiences. we're not stopping we will keep moving forward! Since your recent stay we rolled out a new loyalty points program that will help loyal guests save even more. All the best, Justin Guilbert and The Valley Team
4 out of 5
by Daisy from Massachusetts

Many amenities

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
I was very surprised how many amenities were included in our stay. If I had known earlier we may have just stayed around the hotel instead of planning out activities. We got the family suite and it was set up like a townhouse and had two full bathrooms. That is a time saver right there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you very much for sharing your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our Freedom Passes, You are correct with so many free activities included there's not a whole lot left to plan. We hope you can visit The Valley Inn the next time you decide to vacate to The White Mountains. Best regards, Justin Guilbert and The Valley Inn Team.
5 out of 5
by Hope

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
We had a really good stay at the Valley Inn! Everything was clean and very comfortable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017
Thank you for sharing you quick review. I am happy you found everything to be clean and comfortable. I hope you can visit The Valley Inn and Waterville Valley again soon! Kind regards, Justin Guilbert and The Valley Inn Team
2 out of 5
by Ian

Only if it's your only choice

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very tired outdated and dirty hotel. Room reeked when we checked in. Housekeeping came up a sprayed Fabreeze, but it didn't help much. Mouse feces under pull-out sofa, no coffee maker, door trim missing. The location and common area are fine, but this place it tired and in dire need of a complete rehab. It was an 11th hour reservation for us and we didn't have a lot of choices, so we made the best of it, but no way I'd stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location and super cheap - not fancy

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location, shuttle service (though unreliable), price
Cons: It's outdated but comfortable. Just know what it is before you book it.
Location: Skiing, après skiing
We stayed at the Valley Inn over Christmas break. It was awesome because we got a really good deal for three nights and we booked it last minute. It was clean enough and had a great location. I wasn't really concerned about the "amenities" of the hotel, our plan was to be on the mountain the whole time. However, if you are looking for a destination hotel, this is NOT it. It's basically a decent sized room. There is no restaurant, bar or pool or anything. It might be a bit old and tired, but so are all the hotels in the valley, even the higher priced ones. Luckily, as a guest, you get access to the health center across the way, which really surpassed my expectations - steam room, sauna and hot tubs. It was terrific! And you can walk there from the hotel. You can also walk into town which came in very handy since it was a blizzard during our stay. This is a good choice to stay in if you are all about the skiing. Given the price of ski accomodations in the northeast, this is a steal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Justin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and the kind words! Thank you for also recognizing the great value that we offer. I am pleased to say that we have just begun upgrading all of our rooms. Every room received at least 1 40" flat screen, new beds, furniture and we are painting as we speak. There are more plans for upgrades in the near future as well. We hope to see you again soon. The Valley Inn Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nothing extra

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The room was clean and a good size for our family of 4 however we were in the basement next to the game and laundry room.
Cons: Staff needs to be educated on how to use their own booking system. Not sure they know what customer service means.
Location: Excellent location in Town Square
We have been to Waterville Valley for years and have never stayed at the Valley Inn. Upon arrival I was asked to pay for the 2 nights and I gave them my credit card. They next day we see that they charged my credit card and also my debit card that was "on file" with Expedia. The night desk ran my credit card and then the morning shift decided to run the card on file with Expedia. NO Cross check and I was out spending over $350 for the weekend. Yes they reversed the charge however it is now 3 days later and the money is still not in my bank account. They didn't even offer me a discount for the mix up. There is barely enough parking for the amount of rooms and all they offer is a coffee station in the morning. I should have spent the extra $10 a night to stay at a better hotel. I will never stay here again and never refer anyone either.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel with great staff

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great stay at the Valley Inn. There aren't a lot of amenities (no breakfast, no indoor pool, etc.) but the place is tastefully decorated with lots of lounging space. The front desk staff were exceptional! They were kind and helpful, and provided us with recommendations for hikes and sightseeing while were in the area. The free coffee/tea was nice on a cold morning. We had a comfortable stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the kind review! We try very hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful time during their trip to Waterville Valley Resort! We hope we can be of service to you again in the near future! All the best from The Valley Inn Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Economical

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice, views amazing, needs some updating +++
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for replying! We are, in fact working on upgrades this December. please consider The Valley Inn on your next trip to the White Mountains. All The Best, Justin Guilbert General Manager The Valley Inn