Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Great location for the Ridgeway walk

Posted May 25, 2017
We were walking the Ridgeway and the accommodation was ideal The shower was powerful and the best I have ever had We could get fresh milk which was nice Breakfast was good with fresh fruit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Two day break

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: The old world atmosphere, great staff and huge breakfast.
Cons: Wallpaper in the dining area.
Location: As described above.
Very friendly, old building and comfortable room great walks around the village and interesting Church, the country around is stunning we enjoyed our stay, nearly forgot the beer!
2 out of 5
by Adrian

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very tatty, the whole place needs attention. A lovely landlady though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Helpful friendly staff with good breakfasts

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Our room was what I would class as basic, there was paint peeling off the walls and a crack in the sink. There was also rubbish in one of the drawers. Unfortunately you could also hear all noise outside from the road to people shouting and having a fight outside from the pub. We woke up the next morning to find one of the cars had a smashed window. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts were amazing.
4 out of 5
by Martyn

Excellent peaceful stay

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Fat fox was an idealstY for meeting up with family, village was lovely very friendly as were the staff of the fat fox. Room facilities were very good room could have been warmer as weather was quite chilly during our stay, very comfortable, peaceful and we had everything we needed. Problems could arise for I bolide guests wanting a twin room (room 4) as there is a good flight of stairs leading to room, although there are room on ground floor which I believe to be doubles. , breakfast cooked to your liking with all fresh locally sourced produce, very tasty and of adequate proportions. All in all our stay was excellent an I can recommend the fat fox to all wanting to visit the picturesque village of Watlington.
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Lovely village pub with rooms

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, staff, breakfast
Location: Henley on Thames is close by. Good walks around the area. Grab some hand made chocolates from Tutu in the village!
Booked for a three night stay as visiting our daughter and son in-law who live in Watlington. Lovely village pub, the room we had was in a separate stable block so away from any noise from the pub. The room was pleasant and clean with comfy beds. Good tea & coffee making facilities, thanks for the kit kats! Plenty of hot water for the shower. Excellent full English breakfast and no trouble for the chef to cook it just how you ask for. Staff all very friendly and we would not hesitate to book again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rye, U.K

Needs more attention to detail

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Staff attitude and positive relationship to customers
Cons: See above
Location: We were visiting friends so our travelling was limited
Excellent friendly and cheerful staff. Not a wide selection at breakfast ie, choice of 3 cereals and various combinations of eggs, bacon, sausages etc but no fresh fruit or any alternative items for a continental breakfast. Dinner was well cooked and nicely presented, though it was claimed the menu was changed daily but we were presented with the same one on the two nights we stayed. The bedroom was adequate with comfortable beds. However the towels were a bit thin and and getting to their replacement date. A very tatty old chair on the landing really stood out as a lack of care of presentation. Replacing it with a small table with a bowl of flowers-artificial if necessary-would have made a big difference. I would recommend it as a place to stay if nothing better was available
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whiltshire

Hotel just OK for closeness to family

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Location: Good location
Have stay there befor had a much better room last time this room was poor very small and know we're to hang your clothes not even a hanger or hooks & to close to the kitchen
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels