Ratings based on 350 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Wonderful experience!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: I liked that the hotel provided a complimentary shuttle for us to get to & from the Naval Training Center for the ceremony and staff was great.
Cons: There is nothing I can think of that could be improved at this time.
Location: There were many good restaurants, shopping, and beaches in the immediate area. It is also within driving distance of downtown Chicago.
We were in Waukegan to attend my son's graduation from Navy boot camp. Staying at the Holiday Inn Express Waukegan was an awesome experience! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, the continental breakfast was good, and the hotel provided so many amenities like pool & spa, fitness center, business center with computer & printer, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to this area!!!!! I was especially impressed that the hotel provided a complimentary shuttle for us to and from the graduation ceremony and even brought our son back with us so he could spend the afternoon. The hotel also hosted a reception for the graduates and their families after the ceremony for any that wanted to attend. When I went to print out the boarding passes for our return flight home in the business center, the printer was not working, so the gentleman working at the desk was kind enough to print them out for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Justin S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Each week we have the wonderful opportunity to be so many navy families home away from home for their loved ones graduation. It is truly an honor to serve as your hosts during this experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Justin S. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

staff

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, clean,
Location: Restaurants across the street!
We needed to check in late due to a cancelled flight. We called and they held our room for us. Even signed us up for the shuttle to Navy Graduation the next day, though it was first come first serve.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Justin S., Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations to you and your Navy Grad! We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely Justin S. General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
Our stay here was very good! Stayed here during our sons graduation from Navel basic training. Would recommend using this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you Traveler for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waukegan-Gurnee. It was a privilege to serve you and your graduate on such a special occasion. We wish you and your graduate all the best! Until we meet again. Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yuba City, CA

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Very convenient to RTC Great Lakes. Hotel us very clean and has an above average breakfast choices.
4 out of 5
by veda

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Veda, We appreciate you taking the time to give us 4-Stars for your recent stay with us. Our team is committed to providing a "home away from home" for all our guests and your rating tells us that we succeeded in providing that for you. Thank you for the opportunity to host your stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waukegan, until your next visit. Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
5 out of 5
by Bruce from Mendota, Illinois

Everything in short driving distance.

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel stay was very relaxing, what a awesome breakfast buffet in the morning.
2 out of 5
by Christina

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel needs to be updated and repaired
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Christina, Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back. We are excited to let you know that as a brand, we are looking to refresh our look and provide the best value possible to all our guests. We are looking forward forward to show off our new look soon! We hope to see you in our unveiling. Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
5 out of 5
by Nicole

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
It was really relaxing and comforting
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2016 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, Cecilia Kuhlman General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Location was convenient. Shuttle was a blessing

Posted Feb 14, 2016
Nothing bad to say about our stay. Ann at the front desk was very helpful. The shuttle to the Navy base was very convenient. Location was conveniently located to local stores for easy access. Would recommend this hotel and stay there again.