Ratings based on 1,464 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waukegan Illinois

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The pool was heated but it was freezing in the room when i first booked the room it was free continental breakfast which it was for one day then they started charging for breakfast i couldn't get towels or even toilet paper upon request also there's no one monitoring who is coming in and out of the hotel which is scary since its not in such a great area with that being said there's no lighting in the parking lot I'll never stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Cali

Close to Naval Base

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Dirty sheets, but the staff was nice and accommodating. They changed the sheets as soon as I complained. The hotel is old and very big but not well maintained. Otherwise, the price is cheap compared to other hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The pool room was freezing. The hot tub was broke

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The pool room was very cold. The hot tub wasn't working. No restaraunt on facility....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Not bad for price

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The place is old but great for deal I got. My first room one of the bed was not comfortable but they change my room with no fuss and I stayed in room 194 that room was great bed was great. If you looking for a good deal for naval graduation this is not far not luxury but I am picky and this worked for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Great value for military families

Posted Mar 5, 2017
This location is older but the staff and location make it an excellent choice for families of military grads. They even provided a photographer to get pictures of the new sailors. It's not a 5 star crystal chandelier kind of place but at this price point I don't think you could do better
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Josh, Hotel Management
Keith, Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are happy to hear you found your accommodations satisfactory and our staff and location excellent. We are an older property, but strive to make the guest experience one to remember by providing a photographer for our guests for the day of Navy Graduation. Thank you for choosing the Ramada Waukegan! Best, Josh Osorio Operations
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No maintenance or cleanliness

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The phones were not working. When I reported the issue they said it was a technical problem they we working on. During the 3 days I stayed there the phones were never fixed. On my last day while packing, thank God, I saw a mouse run across the room. A MOUSE!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and Outdated No hot tub Pool Room Air Freezing

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Free Breakfast
Cons: The entire hotel needs updating except breakfast area is nice
Location: location was great lots of things within driving distance
I called Corporate office it was so bad and they said someone would get back to me and they never did. Our room smelled. The molding was coming off. It looked like mold was on the wall above the heater. The heat was literally off in the room. Stains all over the carpet in both rooms. Last straw was the floor was wet was my daughter stepped in it next to the bathroom wall and the bed and it smelled! No fans in bathroom. Blow dryer didn't work. Hall ways were very cold. I booked this hotel for the pool hot tub and breakfast. I was so disappointed when there was no water in the hot tub and the room for the pool was just about out door temperature. It was awful. Oh and no more Sauna either! Back door near our room did work to get in so we had to walk around the building. Stairwells were gross. Definitely thought about booking a different hotel but stuck it out for 3 1/2 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Surprised

Posted Feb 12, 2017
I was surprised how clean the room was for the price and the staff were all very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Nice clean hotel...close to everything including Great Lakes Naval Station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
It was an older hotel but the beds were so comfortable and it was in our price range! Overall a good place! We will come back!