Ratings based on 1,280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

totaler renovierungsstau im gesamten Hotel !

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Der Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption( Jeremiah ) und die nette Dame am Frühstücksbuffet ! Ihre jüngere Kollegin hatte leider keine Lust den Service an ihr
Cons: kein Vorwurf an EXPEDIA !
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich direkt an einer grösseren, gut befahrenen Straße in Waukegan, neben einem Autohaus.
Das 1. Zimmer ging gar nicht, verdreckt, verlebt und total altes Mobiliar! An der Rezeption zeigte man uns ein " modernisiertes" Zimmer mit dem Hinweis, dass dies nicht unserer gebuchte Kategorie entspräche. Am nächsten Tag Anruf bei EXPEDIA, mit der Bitte sich doch mit dem Hotel in Verbindung zu setzen. Die nette Dame von EXPEDIA war zwar der Meinung, dass der direkte Kontakt besser wäre hat aber trotzdem im Hotel angerufen und beim nächsten Besuch an der Reception war ein anderer Mitarbeiter " Jeremiah " super nett, und gab uns ein wesentlich besseres Zimmer. Jetzt hatten wir wenigstens einen Kühlschrank, eine Mikrowelle und einen Wasserkocher. Kleiderschränke oder Ähnliches gab es hier aber auch nicht. Das Fenster liess sich leider auch nicht öffnen ! Die Flure haben sehr merkwürdig gerochen aber im Zimmer merkte man davon nichts !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Far from the city

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Old. No well maintained. Smells like feet needs a renovation
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gurnee,IL

Horrible disgusting

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pool had agae, no water in hot tub, sauna was not working, room had black mold in bathroom on ceiling and walls, black mold by the air conditioner and on the ceilings and walls in the room, refrigerator was dirty like someone wiped mud on the front of it, the carpet had dirt and mold, the bed had not been changed, there were beer bottles on the floor from the previous person, beding was never changed, they moved us to a new room because I called down stars and complained and that room was full of black mold as well and you could see dirt in the corners of the room and dust everywhere. Worded hotel we have ever stayed in, they should shut it down!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Poor Quality of Rooms

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Convenient to my event location.
Cons: The hotel needs a complete and total renovation - more specifically, the guest rooms.
Location: OK
My room was dated and poor finished. The lobby has been renovated, but that gives you a false sense that the entire hotel has been renovated, but it has not. The balance of my party had to leave the hotel because of the mold smell, wet carpets and other assorted odors!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Choose somewhere else

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: EVERYTHING! The only nice part of this hotel was the lobby.
When you walk into the lobby you think the hotel is going to be nice, the lobby has been updated and looks great. However, once you start walking away from the lobby the hotel has a gross smell to it, which carries over into the rooms. Luckily my daughter had some perfume with her and we were able to mask the gross, musty smell for our stay. There were several outlet face plates that weren't even screwed into the wall, there's a huge hole in the bathroom door, and my daughter got locked in the bathroom at one point, so we couldn't even close the bathroom door completely the whole time we were there (which thank god was only for a night). The "restaurant" is only open for continental breakfast, which we didn't even go over for because we just wanted to leave the next morning. There's mold in the bathroom, and the shower curtain had a big hole in it. This hotel needs some major overhauling.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
very bad smell in the room, beds, hallway, even the price is what it is, the rooms and all over the place should be better maintained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wausau, Wisconsin

Online photos are VERY deceiving!

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The proximity to Six Flags Great America.
Cons: Read the above statement.
The check-in went well, but we were over charged compared to what the room was reserved for online. The lobby was nice and looked recently remodeled, however, when we turned the corner to walk to our rooms there was a drastic change in the condition of the hotel. There were stains all over the carpeting, marks on the walls, and the drop ceiling was stained and looked as if pieces were going to fall. The halls and stairwells had a powerful smell of body odor or stinky feet depending on where in the hotel we were. The walls, doors, and door handles near the stairwells were slimy and did not latch or open without additional force. The first room (we reserved two) still hand things laying on the desk from the previous person, the sink didn't look as if it was clean, and there were absolutely no towels to be found. The first room had a very strong odor of marijuana as well, and hotels staff said they would "look into it" but never did. The second room smelled nicer, though it was not clean either - there was chunks of stuff on the floors and the sink looked dirty as well. We were kept up until after midnight with children running through the hallways, yelling, and jumping around in the adjoining rooms - the staff was notified and did nothing. Upon check-in, we were told the pool would be open in the morning - which it was not. Staff kept telling us that the pool was getting "cleaned" and would be open later in the day or the following morning. It never opened.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Gross

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very moldy and smelled of mildew. Carpet was wet all day long. Breakfast was severely lacking. Coffee was terrible. Staff was unhelpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fayetteville, AR

Great price, NOT so great hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The hotel was filthy. The rooms smelled, and the hotel needs a serious remodel. The breakfast room was disgusting, but the selection was decent. I would definately not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Staff

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The staff was polite, helpful and sweet. Unfortunately, our rooms smelled like cigarettes. I have really bad asthma so it was not a pleasant stay for me.