Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay for Navy PIR

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. There is hot breakfast daily. It is close to the Navy base so driving to PIR took less than 15 minutes. It is also close to Six Flags. I was surprised by how large the room was! The sleeping area is separated from the living room area. Very clean. I love how there is a room with a sink and toilet and another room with a sink and bathtub/shower! Getting ready in the morning was so quick. It was a nice place to bring my Sailor to relax after graduation. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families coming here for Navy PIR.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good but not great.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This is a nice hotel but they really need to step it up a bit to justify the price. The front desk staff was all business but not very friendly. They gave us a double bed when we reserved a king. They fixed the problem quickly. The pool is not very well maintained and super chlorinated. The paint was peeling off the walls. We opted not to get in. The bar is akin to hanging out in your friend's basement. They have alcohol and someone will pour it for you. That's it. Our toilet ran all night and the ice maker out side our room sounded like someone was smashing a window with a sledge hammer all night. The room was clean but smelled a little musty. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great place. I'll be back. Ddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddbbbbbb bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb bbbb
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable rooms, free breakfast.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Nice comfortable rooms, free breakfast. Very nice hotel. I would come back here next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate the great feedback and so happy you had a pleasant experience. Thanks for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Safe travels. Best, Tim Sokley Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The pool area was over 90 degrees and unclean

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Rooms and staff were fantastic.
Cons: Tear down and rebuild the entire pool area!
For the cost to stay, the staff and breakfast was great, but the pool was literally disgusting. There was some kind of maintenance happening (one wall covered in black tarp) but from Thursday through Sunday we saw no labor happening. The air temperature was literally dangerous, it was so incredibly hot that 80 degrees outside felt like air conditioning. Also the pool itself was stained and not appealing at all. Very, very disappointing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Wonderful hotel and great staff. No complaints

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: How close it was to the Great Lakes Navy Base. How the room was set up and how clean and fresh the décor was.
Location: Best Philly Cheese Steak and Cheese cake was at C.Y.C.O 2114 Greenbay Rd, Waukegan. Stock Aquarium.
This hotel was wonderful. The staff was very attentive and willing to accommodate. The room was clean and neat. The beds were very comfortable. It was close to the Navy Base and was easy to get to. Would recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for being our guest at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee. We enjoyed reading your review and learning about the highlights of your stay. We appreciate your comments about our location, clean rooms, comfortable beds and excellent customer service. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon on your next visit. Best, Tim Sokley General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

To hot to breath

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms.
Cons: Tear down the pool area ,start over. add some windows. Towels could fit my head for sure not me , a bit bigger towel in pool area
Location: Location was great.
The pool area was molded, so hot you could not breath. To small of towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room, however, we sincerely apologize for the heat around the pool area. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to make it up to you. Tim Sokley General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel we have ever stayed at.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Everything about it the nice staff, clean room, comfortable bed, nice breakfast buffet that had alot of options. A ride to the Navy graduation for $3.
We were here on the 20th -22nd of July for my sons Navy graduation. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The grounds and our room were very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very large, it had a separate shower room and toilet area. I thought that was a nice touch. The only thing that was odd is that the door to the shower did not close all the way and it made me worry I might get water on the downstairs floor even though I did add a towel in case anything dripped,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, First and foremost, please congratulate your son for us! That is a wonderful achievement. It was a pleasure to read your fantastic review of the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee! We strive to provide our guests outstanding hospitality and clean and comfrotable accommodations, and your compliments serve as encouragement to all of us. However, please accept our apologies for the shower door; we will make sure to alert our maintenance team! We hope to be your hotel of choice every time you visit Chicago! Tim Sokley General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Was disappointed that there was an issue with the pool and the outdoor fireplace didn't work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Very clean and comfortable but a bit over priced.