Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Noisy, stinky, horrible pillows, run down; Location was great tho
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location for the local area

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
We were assigned to room 304, but when we saw it, we asked to be moved. The room was quite adequate, however the view was the roof....quite disappointing. At first, they thought we could move to room 205 for one night and then back to 304 the second night. But thankfully, we were able to get room 205 for both nights. This was great as the new room was large and had great views. They told us there would be street noise but that did not bother us. The first room had a hot tub and 205 did not, but that was fine with us. The hotel has a great location...walk out the door and you are in the center of the historic district. Also a short walk from the hotel is the "river walk" which was fabulous. We did not use the bar or the dining room, but they looked very nice. The continental breakfast was ok, except that the food items were on the bar and we had breakfast in the bar rather than the nice dining room. If you wanted the quiche or meat items, you needed to heat them in the microwave.
5 out of 5
by Judith

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
THE HOTEL IS OLD BUT NICE. WE WERE REGISTERED FOR 3 PEOPLE AND WE HAD A PULL OUT BED BUT NO SHEETS TO PUT ON BED AND NO SHEETS TO BE FOUND.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Charming boutique hotel in historic Waukesha

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Everything about The Clarke Hotel is charming and sophisticated, providing for a unique experience in the heart of historic downtown Waukesha.
Their continental breakfast is outstanding! Quiche, pastries, sausage, bacon and much more! Nothing "continental" about it!
4 out of 5
by Kathy L

Historic and great location

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
I really loved the Irish Pub downstairs and the food was great! Historic hotel and cool old downtown main street feel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mankato, MN

Great restaurant/bar, rooms were good

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, room size, bar and restaurant
Cons: Little more attention to cleanliness.
Location: Great location downtown, especially in the summer. Coffee shops, restaurants all nearby.
So I've stayed here a few times, and while it was a good experience, some attention to details (bathroom cleanliness) have slipped a little. Rooms are huge. Restaurant/bar is terrific. I was lucky to be here on a night when they had some traditional Irish music live. So a nice treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

I love this hotel!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel twice now and each time it becomes more like home away from home. David and Josh are awesome! I'll definitely be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Location

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Cons: TV working.. Heat.
Being downtown parking is provided about a one block away. The check-in process was good. My 3rd floor room looked out over a busy downtown street of bars, tatoo parlors and diners. However my room window only had a blind for 1/2 of the windows so everyone across the street could see into my room also. The good news was the weather that night was 10 below zero so not a lot of people on the street. However my room was 60 degrees upon entering and the thermostat was not working so it was nice they had a nice comforter on the bed to try and stay warm. The TV also was not working but I was too cold to care. Bathroom shower was excellent and room was big.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Charming hotel right in the midst of things

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Comfort and atmosphere. The general manager is also great - he offered us a late check-out to clean-up after running a local race on Dec. 4.
Cons: Wouldn't change a thing.
Location: Small local restaurants, shops, chocolate store, pubs - but not a franchise to be found. 10 minutes from a major shopping area if you want.
The Clarke offers boutique hotel charm plus huge rooms, beautiful old wood and a charming atmosphere. One of the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in and a huge walk-in shower with side jets was amazing. Located in downtown Waukesha it's within walking distance of dozens of smalls shops and restaurants. Bring your walking shoes and stroll the resurging area, eat, drink, shop and enjoy!