Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Disappointing stay.....won't be back.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The bed was great-very comfortable Huge bathroom Bartender was friendly and engaged 1 employee (I wish I knew his name) was GREAT Quiet
Cons: A more honest description of your hotel on the website. I felt as if I was duped. Historic=Old and smelly and dirty
Location: Very small older town. We walked the entire downtown area and really didn't find much. I would recommend the Steaming Cup. Great food and staff.
We were disappointed with our stay. The first thing that we noticed upon entering the hotel was the smell. It smelled foul everywhere. Our room, bathroom and hallways all had a bad oder. We had to buy candles to use during our stay. The lobby on the 2nd floor and the pics in the hall were filthy. The furniture was old and uncomfortable and some even falling apart. The 2 chairs in our room were horrible. They were old and very uncomfortable. The view from our room was gross. If they hadn't been full I would have moved. We were looking at old rooftops-YUCK! We ate 1 night in the on site restaurant and after our order was taken and delivered we never saw our waitress again. NO refills on water, we wanted dessert and a 2nd beer but she was no where to be found. I had to go to the kitchen door to find her. We asked for our bill and left and walked down the street to find dessert. We did not go back during the rest of our stay. When we asked where to get ice the gal at the front desk told us "I think it might be on the 2nd floor, just follow the signs". There were NO signs! We were left to find it ourselves. She acted as if we were bothering her to even ask There also was no where to unpack my suitcase. There was 1 drawer in the nightstand and it was already full. The room really needed a dresser! The room was NOTHING like the pictures on the website! This was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. Also, beware the elevator only goes to the 2nd floor, NOT to the 3rd!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hope, PA

Comfort right in the middle of town

Posted Aug 31, 2017
This is a small, old hotel in the middle of Waukesha. However, whilothe design is historic, it has been thoroughly updated. A bar and restaurant are on the first floor. Excellent beds and bathroom. We stayed n a double queen suite. Beats the chains by a mile! Small staff, so may have to wait sometimes if there's been a miscommunication. Parking for free about 1 block away. Plenty of restaurants a short walk away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Weird Place with Untapped Potential

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I liked the elevator, it smelled good, was very spacious and had a chaise lounge in it. Unfortunately, we then had to find a back stairwell and walk up to the third floor. We actually had two bedrooms! The rooms were nice but one of the rooms did not have window treatments on half the windows in the room. The showers were stepping into a warm waterpark. There were four shower heads in there. Parking was a problem. You have to park in a parking lot that is around the corner and down the street from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palatine, IL

Seemed quaint, but was somewhat strange

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel seemed very unique and cozy on their website, but in person it seemed a little dated. The 2nd floor lobby had only a moonlight for actual lighting so at night it was pitch black. There wasn't much of a presence from any staff, even during business hours which was strange. I know that hotels aren't supposed to be riddled with staff but I'm pretty sure we only saw 1 guy in the 36 hours we were there. Check in took place at he bar which also felt somewhat strange. The hotel really likes to push its restaurant and bar (likely because it's somewhat nice looking and probably their main attraction) but it seemed it was the centerpiece to the whole hotel. Either we were in our room or at the bar/restaurant. The hotel itself was on a corner that's a very steep angle which means that there aren't many rooms that are away from the streets. And that was my main issue with my stay. During the day the entire town seemed dead. Not many places were even open before 10am, and the ones that were open were just dive bars. But then at night the town exploded and there were people everywhere. Loud music with heavy bass played at the bar across the street, and loud drunken people laughed and chatted on the sidewalk below our second floor room. This continued until after midnight and was not what I expected at all. Overall, it's definitely not a quiet business hotel, nor is it a fancy upscale sleepover. It's a moderately priced hotel with a nice bar and okay food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Excellent staff, convenient location, could be cle

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Orbitz
We enjoyed our stay here for many reasons, but two nights were enough for other reasons. The good...spacious suite with two king beds and large bathroom...convenient location in downtown Waukesha...helpful and courteous staff...comfortable beds and pillows. The bad...the A/C was preprogrammed for efficiency (i.e. empty room) and had to be constantly readjusted throughout the day and night which had me waking up in the middle of the night because I was sweating. The rooms were clean on the surface, but in need of a deep, detailed cleaning. The tops of the sofa were visibly dusty; there was a dusty edge where the wall meets the carpet; I had to remove a hairball from the shower drain - and it wasn't mine. This hotel has such potential to be a really great hotel, but attention needs to be paid to the details when cleaning. An update to the decor would help too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by bryan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Heather

Parking ruins the trip

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
It was very frustrating tonpark. Unfortunately it ruined our whole stay. We were instructed by the front desk to park in a certain area--we were towed: when we asked the front desk to clear up the situation they were very resistant to show any sort of professionalism.
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The lady that checked us in the staff we encountered were great. Friendly and helpful. The common area's are dark and dreary, with the exception of the Irish Pub which has a great selection of Irish beer on tap. Furniture in 2nd floor lobby looks worn out and run down and it was a little strange getting to the third floor since the elevator only goes to 2. The room it self was spacious with more of the run down furniture look on the chair. The bed was fine and the shower was excellent. 4 heads and great water pressure. Overall it would rate as an unusual experience.
2 out of 5
by Lori

Not the best stay

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at The Clarke before but this was so disappointing. We checked into find we had no blinds or curtains on the windows and no soap I went down and spoke to the bartender/manager. He said sorry I can help you with the soap but not the blinds. I asked if we could have another room he said no. At 5:30 the light streamed in. Outside someone was backing up trucks. Definitely not the stay we have had in the past and the customer service was awful.