Ratings based on 390 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Ski trip

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Wireless, parking.
Location: Location is great, close to everywhere: downtown, ski area, shopping.
Wireless internet does not work at all. Hard to find parking on weekend. I was expecting to pay with Amex and get upgrade as I did last time. Tower rooms are great. Room I got without of window.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Good Location in Wausau.
Cons: The hotel is starting to show some age in the hallways.
The room was very clean and comfortable. They made sure I had clean towels and made the bed. I liked that.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Sheets were dirty, and by that I mean there was actual loose dirt on them. Toilet got stopped up and we were told they had plungers at reception.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Was kept up until 5 am by drunk partiers. Called hotel desk to no avail and no one silenced them. Room's ceiling had been damaged and chips of plaster were all over the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Just Awful!

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Worst experience ever. Noisy, dirty, outdated. Breakfast was gross. Bed uncomfortable. Price high for such a dump. Motel 6 half the price and more modern. Don't waste your money!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Wisconsin

Decent rate in great location.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: The rate and location.
Cons: Hotel could use some updating ... easier said than done.
Location: Decent shopping area and good choices nearby for restaurants. It served my purpose for what I was in town to do.
Stayed for two nights. Bed seemed smaller than a Queen size, but wasn't an issue for us. Room was sufficient in size for two people. Noticed a room key on floor between bed and night stand which made me wonder why cleaning staff hadn't seen it. Bathroom was small with no exhaust fan (which I don't like); however, a lot of hotels are this same way so it wasn't that big of an issue. For the room rate, it was a decent place to sleep. Nice pool area and lobby. Decent breakfast provided. Near good shopping and eating places. Old hotel. Remember staying there 30 (plus) years ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Cons: exhaust fans in room not strong enough
clean room , good breakfast selection nice lounge area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Confetence in Wausau

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pleasant exchange w/ Vanessa regarding hotel room. Bent over backwards to accommodate details needed. Older hotel, room was clean, enjoyed hot water! Requested a comfortable bed, used to a Tempur-pedic. For more than I'm used to but slept comfortably. If looking for a decent price to hotel and don't mind a little older building this works.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitewater, WI

Dated, Maintenance Issues, Booking Inaccuracies

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Location, price, breakfast, staff
Cons: Fix the leaks and the door closers. Update the advertising so the rooms match pictures.
The location was easy to get to and convenient for our needs. The first issue we encountered were the entrance doors. It seemed every one of them banged insanely loud when closing. One had oil running down the glass that had leaked from the closing mechanism. A tiled section under the icemaker had debris (including a banana peel and an apple core) all over it when we checked in and was still there when we checked out two days later. A hallway that had an exterior wall was soaked with water leaking in through the wall. We booked a room that was advertised and pictured as two queen size beds. It had one bed that was not a queen size and a pullout sofa. Our travel partners booked the same room and there room was the same as ours. One bed, pullout sofa. The room however was very clean. The breakfast is pretty good for a continental. In it's day I'm sure it was a very nice place, but it needs a serious overhaul. I did get a very good price for the room, so if I had to go back to the area I would probably stay there again simply because I could spend more money and get a worse hotel. The staff I dealt with (breakfast attendants) were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UP

nicest room for the pricr

Posted Jan 17, 2017
it's an older hotel but still offers great amenities, comfortable clean beds, and a pool for the kids. i could easily afford staying at a competitions 250 dollar suite but why?