Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Good but not excellent

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Convenient location pleasant visual effect of buildings good clean hotel with good staff
Cons: Socket siting in rooms bed comfort
Location: N/a
One night stay for a wedding - close to venue suited us very well. Wife found bed too hard could have done with topper. Sockets for charging devices hard to find and hard to get at. We were at the back end of time schedule for breakfast (10 minutes before cut off of 10 o’clock) nothing much left and a bit of a “jobs worth” attitude. Reception staff were excellent - on the ball and very helpful. Swimming pool and spa block excellently appointed with large pool and excellent changing facilities and showers etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south East

Classy hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Car parking
Location: N/a
Arrival staff dealt with us well, the room was fine and breakfast super.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Pretty average

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Room was too hot to sleep in. Obv a problem as there was a small fan in there. Pointless. Kept the windows open only to be woken up on bank hol Monday by a lawnmower at 8.50 outside the window. Apparently has been refurbished recently and room looked good, despite the temperature. Asked for a taxi when we checked in at 3 pm for 4pm. When we came back down at 4pm they were just phoning around and had obviously forgotten and one was available for 4.20pm. Drove instead which I didn't want to but 4.30 was too late. Breakfast was bedlam. There was a wedding but still. Seemed short staffed. In short, they need to up their game.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pleasent hotel to spend a couple of nights in. Some minor inconvenience due to building work, facilities good room excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Plug for kettle difficult to reach and on opposite side of room to the tea tray.
Location: Lovely location, quiet with lovely grounds and lovely views.
Stayed here for one night so we could visit a friend so we didn't have an evening meal here but breakfast was lovely. Everything cooked nicely and good quality ingredients. Room looked lovely and was very comfortable. Nothing to complain about. All excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Anniversary Stay

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and facilities.
Cons: Nothing beyond what is already being planned and delivered in the renovations.
We booked a stay to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Jane on reception deserves a special mention for being so helpful in reserving our preferred room, for also professionally dealing with a slight problem with the hot water and being such a great ambassador for the hotel! Our room was spacious and immaculate, and the facilities in the spa and pool were great. My wife was pleased with the massage she received. The food in the restaurant was delicious (and from a good selection of equally appetising choices on the menu) and beautifully presented. We didn't get the table we had requested due to power issues earlier in the day preventing them from seeing booking requests. However the restaurant team (Monika?) were fabulous and made it all good :) They even did a special something for dessert for us to share. This was 'above and beyond' expectations and really appreciated by us. We would definitely recommend the hotel despite the building works that will continue to add value and facilities for people to enjoy. Many thanks. A&R
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Trading on its previous reputation.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Views are still lovely.
Not nearly as good as when we stayed there a few years ago. Rooms over heated. Plug sockets attached to walls as an afterthought. Pillows like rocks. Buffet breakfast hot food not hot enough. Building work eveywhere spoling ambience. Spa staff just watched me struggling with the door with both hands full. Bathrooms are tiny. We won't be staying there again.
5 out of 5
by d i w

Above expectation

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Reception staff very good rooms v good especially spacious bathroom : spa very good and quiet ; beautiful setting
3 out of 5
by Anne

Disappointing

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
We were put in a room with 2 single beds although we booked a double. It was very hot even with 2 fans. Air con is needed. We waited long time for tea at breakfast and eggs. We were given our daughter's bill at checkout. Her room was lovely. We queried whether we should have had her room but got nowhere,
4 out of 5
by Gary

Nice for the price.

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Currently under renovation and extension works but rooms are well presented if a bit on the small side. No air con and windows that only open a tiny bit meant room was too warm in the hot summer nights. Fan provided only served to circulate warm air around. Location is really nice, sat out watching herons and hawks in the evening light. Venue is very set up for weddings when will get very busy especially if you are after a quiet weekend away. Worth checking first.