Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

One night

Posted Dec 10, 2017
The staff we met and served us were all very friendly and the communal areas quite smart. But the corridoors and rooms are very dated and tatty, and some serious tlc is needed. They are however clean. If I were staying for more than one night I would expect a higher standard of decor and comfort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by The Devil's Punchbowl Hotel, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for your review. We are working hard to improve the appearance of the hotel, all feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards The Devil's Punchbowl Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice little Inn. Staff very welcoming

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: It was a perfect fit for us as we wished to travel through England by staying at small Inns and/or B&Bs
Cons: The internet was not very strong in the room we were given but as indicated he accommodated us in a larger room so the weak internet was not an issue
Location: Location is beautiful. The large Devil"s Punchbowl is beautiful scenery and is worth seeing
Very enjoyable stay. Owner and his wife very friendly and food was good. He accommodated us in a large room at no extra cost
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by The Devil's Punchbowl Hotel, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Thank you for your wonderful review. I apologise about the issues we had with the internet, but I am so pleased the staff were able to resolve this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards The Devil's Punchbowl Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Location: Right next to Devils punchbowl, Perfect for a good walk after breakfast!
Nice hotel room was comfortable with a good breakfast. Overall the hotel looks like it needs a bit of TLC but that did not affect our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2017 by The Devil's Punchbowl Hotel, Hotel Management
Good Morning, Thank you for your kind review, we are working to make improvements to the hotels general appearance. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards The Devil's Punchbowl Hotel
5 out of 5
by Marilene

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
I love the stuff they were very friendly and helpful, the food was very good the area is beautiful. Definitely worth to coming back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Over the hill

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Hotel has seen better days. Stair well had a light fitting missing with just wires hanging out. Wall paper coming off in public areas.
5 out of 5
by Hannah

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Really lovely area, the room was comfortable and charming and the staff are friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by David

The 80s called - they want their hotel back!

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Left waiting at 11.10pm while reception argued about who had used my room, tried to charge me twice as "had no record of Hotels.com" Bar closed at 10.30, so couldn.t even get a drink while they pretended to clean my room and change my bed. Outdated flea pit to be frank :-(
4 out of 5
by Pamela

Good location

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
We had a one night stay in the smallest double room we ever had in a hotel. It was quirky but tatty. However, the staff were very friendly and the bar was well decorated, light and airy where we had a reasonably priced evening meal.
4 out of 5
by Geoffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by William

OK

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Basically OK but they use very strong chemicals to kill mould which made it difficult to sleep. My eyes were stinging from the smell of the cleaning agents!