Ratings based on 737 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful historic hotel, close to everything!

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Pros: Friendly staff, nice historic feel, great views...
Been coming here for years - the breakfast buffet is absolutely wonderful - omelettes to order, fresh fruit bar, friendly staff, a great pub, and close to shopping and downtown Waynesville. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marietta, GA

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Nice, clean rooms. Beautiful setting. Near everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

A last minute booking

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Due to icy roads, our family couldn't return to our cabin in Marble, NC. After noticing the fully booked hotel chains, I discovered this gem of a resort. Expedia allowed me to book this hotel in just a few clicks. Our room was reasonably priced and the reception at the front desk was so kind and helpful. Our gratitude abounds for the patience and a professionalism of Corey, who helped us to check-in that evening. We were also pleasantly surprised to have a breakfast buffet awaiting us in the morning-- with an omlette station and many breads, meats, and juices etc. I wouldn't hesitate booking here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel with Nice Views

Posted Jan 4, 2018
This is a place to go for the view and perhaps proximity to other mountain and resort towns. The room is so-so. Certainly dated, and the mattresses feel a bit like sitting on cardboard. If you don't have an extra bed, be ready to ask for extra pillows. Other reviewers commented on the nice breakfast, but we were unimpressed. First morning it was understaffed even though the resort was completely booked. It's a traditional hotel continental breakfast, but it looks nicer with a banquet setting. Unfortunately for me, from the traditional hotel breakfast was missing things like pancakes, yogurt, and cereal besides Corn Flakes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic Hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2018
I enjoyed my stay with family. Breakfast was awesome and the bar was perfect for the evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from naples, florida

Posted Jan 3, 2018
The bathroom was dirty , floor mat very dirty, only 2 pillows, tv from the 80s, bad very bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

Nice mountain view.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
The room and staff were eexcellent. The doors to all outside rooms need to be replaced. The breakfast can't be beat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Complimentary breakfast buffet, and the location
Location: Lots to do in Waynesville
Because we were traveling with a pet we were given a room in the older cottages. Our original reservation was for a king bed. We had 2 doubles. The carpet was old and badly stained. The fixtures in the bathroom were badly rusted. The drapes wouldn’t close all the way. The TV was an old 19 in. For all this we were charged an extra $26 pet fee. Hotel would probably be ok if you are not traveling with a pet
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga.

Such a disappointment!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
We made a last-minute reservation at the Waynesville Inn and Country club to celebrate our anniversary without First checking the ratings. We were pleasantly greeted as we entered the property by gorgeous mountains in the background of a beautiful Fairway and an historic stone inn. We thought that we had made a really good choice. We walked into our room were shocked that the condition of the carpet in the room just didn’t seem fresh and the room musty. We had a great meal in the Cork and Clever restaurant there that night and we were very pleased with the service and the quality of the food. The staff are all very accommodating and pleasant we have no complaints about people who work there. As the night went on there was a wedding going on and directly facing our room so it was late before we were able to get any rest. This would’ve been okay had we been warned and given an option of selecting another room . After a not so restful night we got up to no hot water and as the water ran for a few minutes, it was coming out the color of clay-So not much sleep and no shower that morning. Good news, the breakfast was very good. There was an omelette station and plenty of well prepared food. I hope this property can get it together and restore the historic inn which could be a great selling point in itself. It reminds me a bit of the old Edwards Inn in Highlands, North Carolina. This Inn could have a similar ambiance. I cannot recommend WCI, due to the condition of the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We do have weddings on property with a quite time of 11:00pm. The Inn was established in 1926, so there are some issues. The pipes are original so we are aware that you do need to run the water a few minutes and it will clear up. We appreciate your feedback and are working to improve all areas. Thank you,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Economy Rooms NO WIFI

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The view was amazing and it was is a really nice area.
Cons: Everything in the pet friendly rooms could be updated and that whole unit needs painting.
Location: The location is beautiful. The downtown area is so quaint.
The hotel is very attractive from the outside. The view is amazing. The continental breakfast was very good. One waitress was continually complaining that they were super busy because someone didn’t come in. I can only review the pet friendly rooms (the staff called them the “economy rooms”). They are very outdated, beds were very wobbley, old fashion televisions, no microwave, no refrigerator, and NO WIFI! We called constantly and was told They would reset the router, or go to back wall you get better reception there, or Go outside it works better there, or we don’t get good reception in the office either. One excuse after another but no WiFi. One positive, my dog loved the pet friendly (economy) room and outside facilities. She would recommend it to all of her doggy friends.