Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Suger 8 Kutztown

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Close to our destination.
Cons: anything would be an improve,went, like clean, and freshen the place up
Location: We went to the area for a match only
Hotel was run down and dated Front walkway was littered with debris and cigarette butts. The desk clerk was defensive when I asked if I could cancel my reservation. The room was ok but not great. the hotel smelled bad and breakfast was cold coffee and very stale cereal. Would not return and Im disapointed in Expedia for giving this place a spot on its role.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

A very basic Motel convenient to my needs

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: From the time I checked in until I departed there was an old piece of popcorn on the floor that caused me to question the housekeeping service.
Location: Easy access to Lehigh and Berks County POIs.
The Super 8 Motel at exit #45 on I-78 in Pennsylvania is one of two "Motels" that are convenient to Kutztown, PA. Both are basic, minimalists motels. The Super 8, however, provides breakfast. It is a minimalist breakfast. Toaster waffles and syrup, white or whole wheat bread with butter and jelly, coffee, two juices, hot water to make tea or hot chocolate, fruit loops, frosted flakes, a small microwaveable, sealed package that said it was a cinnamon roll, and milk. The bottom line is that it fulfilled my housing needs for a week.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ma.

Close to event---Kutztown Festavale

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Very little
Cons: Entire facility
Location: OK
"Expedia", Booking did "NOT" offer a discounted price -Such as AAA member---Retired Military rate--or Senior rate (87& 83 yr.old's). WHY NOT???? A savings would have been warranted & greatly appreciated. IT WAS ERNED!!! I do qualify in all three (3) occasions. Henry A. Lapa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Orbitz
You get what you pay for. A bargain hotel at a bargain price. While it was conveniently located to Kutztown, it was very difficult to get to and from Allentown (or anywhere else, for that matter), as the main bridge that allows you to access the hotel was closed. The hotel, while being clean, is in desperate need of refurbishment. Almost everything was either dirty, chipped, or broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Pros: Facility was clean.
Cons: Odor of smoke.
While I was in a non-smoking room, the smell from the smoking accommodations permeated the entire building. The continental breakfast was very inadequate, and the area provided for it was not adequate. For just a single night in passing - given the cost - I can't complain. But I would rather spend more for a better experience.
1 out of 5
by Jennifer from Rochester, NY

Worst EVER!

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
The worst hotel I have ever stayed. As you enter the place smells of stale cigarette smoke. That smell continues through the entire building. Check in was quick and friendly, but that was the end of the friendliness. The rooms were out dated and dirty with smudges on the walls and grime in the corners. The mold on the bathroom ceiling and around the window topped it off. Breakfast consisted of bread, toaster waffles, sugar cereal milk and juice. Very disappointing. When we asked the receptionist for more waffles as they were out, she said "breakfast ends and 9:00 and it's 9:01" I was stunned that a paying customer would be talked to in that fashion for requesting a $0.20 waffle. After the first night, they cleaned the room but did not replace any of the coffee we used. I had to get some from the night clerk. We paid in advance for our stay and didn't want to deal with a refund, but after coming back the second day to an uncleaned room; beds a mess, no coffee again, wet towels on the floor. I wish I stayed elsewhere. I will NEVER be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

typical experience

Posted Mar 23, 2016 on Hotels
tv remote needed new battery, but otherwise, it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Convenient to interstate

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Proximity to interstate
Cons: Customer service, room prep
Needed a bed and shower for overnight long trip. Arrived at 11pm - late but not too late. front desk seemed bothered to help me. Room was OK - heater barely worked and was noisy. Slept, skipped the shower and headed out. Not on my "return" list
3 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, NJ

Fine, with REALLY isolated

Posted Mar 21, 2016
If you just need a place to sleep during a road trip, this hotel is fine. For a longer stay (I stayed there when I attended a conference at Kutztown University), the location is really problematic. There is literally nothing around.