Ratings based on 1,641 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Wotif
Handy position in middle of Wellington.Furniture could do with updating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as the promoted

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The foyer
Cons: Everything
Location: Location is good thats about it
Small dingy room with no facilities and inadequate space. Avoid the room next to the laundry or liftwell, very noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Room Does Not Match The Picture - Smaller

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Continental Breakfast, Roof Top patio, King Size Bed & Bathroom
Cons: Provide the room pictured in the advertisement. i.e.. the walls of our room touched the end tables and windows were different arrangement.
Location: Location is AMAZING. Right on Cuba Street, very central and walking distance to everything in City Centre.
When we checked in we found our room even smaller that what was advertised on Expedia. They were fully booked and several minutes on my cell with Expedia, could not come up with a suitable Hotel in the area. So...... after a full day of travelling, we stuck with the room and made it work. Amenities and comfort of the bed made up for the size (sort of!). The Hotel Manager called shortly after we finally checked into our room - arrived at 4pm and checked in about 4:45PM. She offered to not charge us anything if we cancelled by 6pm. We didn't and enjoyed the rest of the day and our 3 nights in Wellington.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

good place to stay

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Reasonable cost in an expensive world, great central location, lovely staircase, adequate restaurant.
Cons: Very hot nights while we were there, so would have appreciated some air-con. Quite noisy with windows open.
Location: Very good.
Pleasant old building, well modified to meet basic present day standards, very central. With air conditioning in the rooms it would be perfect for us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A disaster weekend

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Please read above, obviously not much!
Cons: Change the Managers attitude.
The room we received was not the same as the one on their website. They have 2 hotels, one attached to the other and the photo I booked was obviously from their other hotel, which is higher star rated. We had a very small room and our King Bed was pushed underneath the window, hence, our headboard was the window and windowsill. Very uncomfortable. 5 meters from our window was a kitchen extractor fan which was working from early morning till late at night. On a hot steamy night the window could not opened because of the noise and stench from the extraction fumes. The 3rd night we experienced gale storm winds. This causing a loose piece of roofing steel or tv antenna (we were immediately below the roof) to bang and clatter all night long....... no sleep all. On confronting the management regarding these matters, a discount on the cost of our breakfasts was offered. Ridiculous!! The manager sternly refused any other form of compensation. Won't be going to Comfort hotels ever again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Central. Poor value

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Comfortable bed.
Cons: Housekeeping. Decent curtains.
Compact room which were OK for a solo traveller but not the two they were advertised for. Avoid room at front (I had 132) as they are very very noisy. Had to open window as only ventilator. My curtains were not wide enough and light flooded in as the room was over the entrance which was lit by strong lights. Towels taken and not replaced on the second day of my stay!!! Light breakfast included which was fine but upgrading to full continental was 15 extra and the full English 23. Had lunch instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very basic but adequate hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Cons: The room had a minibar menu but no fridge?
Location: Located right on Cuba Street, lots of touristy things to do. The museum, train station and Mount Victoria are all within walking distance.
Staff at the front desk were helpful. The room was small but had a TV and high ceilings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whanganui

OK unless you're bringing a car

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location. Back room on 2nd floor was surprisingly quiet, although small and no view. Nice old hotel
Cons: parking availability (or lack of it) should be clearly stated on website
Location: In the dark heart of dirty ol' Cuba St. Lots happening
website said there was limited parking available - very limited - only 20 spaces and can't be reserved in advance. All parking was taken well before check in and many of the local parking buildings are closed following the last earthquake. We had to park several blocks away which was a hassle. Apart from that, hotel was clean, classic, tastefully refurbished and well located although not particularly good value.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our hotel of choice when visiting Wellington

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Check-in was easy, room was small but comfortable - especially the bed!! Our hotel of choice when visiting Wellington
5 out of 5
by Vivienne

Heritage charm innercity gem of a hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent from the moment I arrived friendly and well trained staff the GM even acknowledged me and remembered me from one year ago enormous Kudis to this gentleman the customer service was excellent in all areas of the hotel, especially the cafe staff and reception staff nothing was any trouble, most obliging staff throughout i really did not want to leave and am determined to return