Ratings based on 1,784 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Cuba street

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Small room but fine for one, adequate included Express breakfast. Always a shame when other guests feel they can make a lot of noise. Hotel staff could not have been more friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Central location- easy walking distance

Posted Mar 23, 2018
Small but adequate room. Value for money. Walkable to everywhere we needed to go in the cbd -restaurants, tourist attractions etc. staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

nice hotel in the CBD and on Cuba Street

Posted Mar 22, 2018
very close to everything, good walking distance to most sights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUCKLAND, NZ

WEEKEND GETWAY..

Posted Mar 21, 2018
Pros: Location and facilities.
Cons: Housekeeping .. Missed our room. Lucky it was a short stay. When it was serviced, the rubbish was missed lol. Thin walls..
Location: Cafes, bars, convenient store within metres. Short walk to Courtney, another 5 mins you are at Te Papa./ Waterfront.
Perfect location, clean and safe room. Within walking distance to .. EVERYTHING including public transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

basic but clean hotel, excellent location

Posted Mar 20, 2018
love the location right on Cuba St, so many great cafes , restaurants and quirky shops all around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 20, 2018
The location of the hotel is great and staff are very friendly. The room was compact. There was no shampoo or conditioner and a cup was chipped. Other than that a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Central location but noisy with it :(

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Couldn’t fault the staff as they were friendly and helpful. The rooms however were a little on the small side and quite noisy. From as early as 5am there was noise from activity on the street I assumed and our friends on the 2nd floor could hear water running regularly through the night. I attempted to use the hairdryer after taking a shower ( which could not be moved to suit my height ) but 3 times my hair was caught and tangled in it ( 3rd time so badly I had to cut it out ). Newer models don’t do this so maybe they should be updated. Not really a terrible experience but worth mentioning I think if feedback is to be genuine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Repeat stay

Posted Mar 18, 2018
Pros: See above
Cons: Would have been nice to have cereal in our breakfast option.
Location: See above. Very close to Carillion and War memorial Museum.
I really enjoy staying at the CQ hotel, first because of its history - an original Peoples' Palace for lower income people. It is so handy and every time I come the facilities have improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2018
3 night work/holiday stay, small but comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Clean, well situated , economical hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2018
Pros: The price and the cleanliness.
Cons: I would have liked more seating in the lobby for when you are meeting people. I would have liked a piece of fruit with the express breakfast that was
Location: It is at the top of Cuba Street so near to some good restaurants. It is within easy walking distance of Te Papa and Courtney Place.
I stayed for one night at this hotel and found it good value for money. The room was clean and had a nice bathroom. It was small but had all the essentials. The hotel is conveniently located near to excellent restaurants. Good value for money.