Ratings based on 1,970 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ayrshire

Great position

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful , especially Julia in the restaurant and Ricky on reception.
Cons: Pool needs upgrading , not appealing.
Location: Great position for restaurants and night life.
Location is perfect for getting around Wellington. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. We had a family room for three nights and the bathroom was in between both bedrooms so was great for privacy. it was Clean and spacious and a very Comfy bed .great view of the harbour. it has a laundry on the 9th floor that we found very useful. And even though we were across from the lift it wasn't noisy. Food is good and plenty of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Feilding, NZ

Great Hotel,- easy walking distance to the city

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: The Chefs and catering staff are to be complimented , the food was absolutely terrific 10 out 10 .. Even the Bar tender guy was terrific. friendly.
Cons: The only criticism was the entrance to the Car park is poorly sign written.
Location: Very Easy walking distance to the city. The Te papa museum is 2 minutes walk. The city and shopping a cheap bus ride or a cheap taxi ride
Everything was great - the staff were super helpful and polite , right from the reception staff to the maintenance guy and the maid .. the in house restaurant was superb. Would we re book again - yes you bet without hesitation and we will in the future ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cromwell

Magnificent view. Very comfortable beds.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: View and comfortable beds.
Cons: Need a warmer cover in winter.
Location: Te Papa very close. Great shops, close to zoo. Only cost $15 for two of us by taxi to the zoo. Plenty of areas for walking.
The harbour view was spectacular. Enjoyed our stay immensely. Would definitely be our favourite for Wellington. Beds very comfortable and room had heaps of room. Restaurant delays were a bit unfortunate. Waited 30 minutes before order was taken. Food was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel for business or pleasure

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Staff were really helpful and enthusiastic they wanted to be there. Makes a big difference. Rooms quiet, clean and quiet and had good views over bay.
Cons: few more staff on the busy mornings at breakfast. everyone arrived at once and kitchen couldn't cope for 30 mins so not major issue
Location: close enough to town to walk to anything you need if its fine. if you need to get a cab then its cheap enough. We caught cabs in the rain only.
nice place with quiet rooms (couldn't hear bathrooms next door or pipes running etc), bed good, shower good, room was larger than i expected and stayed in room on cold windy day and had plenty of room to sit and read without leaving room. family room had double and 2 single beds and plenty of room for a family so it would be good value for 4 people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by ko, Hotel Management
thank you for your comprehensive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Kenneth Orr General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from queenstown

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Great hotel and v good value for a harbour view room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Everything is great except for the pool

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The hotel lives up to its good ratings, good location, quiet rooms, clean, good beds, great restaurant etc... But the hot pool is old, rusty, and missing basic stuff like towels and seats, etc... It could be such an awesome pool, as its warm with potential view, but its just old and decrepit....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Beautiful views

Posted Jun 25, 2017
We stayed in a harbour view room, it was spacious, comfortable and exceptional clean. Was a modern roomand we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Jenny on receptionwas exceptional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We had a lovely weekend away staying at the Copthorne. The facilities were excellent. And the staff even gave us a bottle of champagne for our birthdays. Would definitely recommend this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy to the city

Posted Jun 19, 2017
Pros: Buffet breakfast
Cons: Heated pool could be hotter
Location: Close to Te Papa
Everything was great with the hotel. Easy to locate and handy to city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located and excellent views of the harbor.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Located close the CBD an restaurants. Night lights really nice with harbor views. Parking the car bit of a mission if you don't want to pay extra for consierge parking.