Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Hotel is very dated. But the sleep quality was great. Nice and relatively quiet compared to my last place I stayed at. Very close to everything and right across from the train station. If they updated the place. It would be an outstanding place!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawkes bay

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Love this place. If you are looking for cheap accomodation, this is for you. My room was very clean, staff very helpfull.The hotel is in a good location and I felt safe . If you are looking for 24hr parking, its adjacent for $30 Will be coming back here again and again again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

comfortable room and friendly staff, good value.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Yes, in fact this was my third stay.
Cons: The showers in the en-suite rooms
Location: Close to the main streets in the CBD and to the central railway station, and within walking distance of Te Papa and the Library.
I enjoyed my stay and found the room and facilities to be clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the amenities were also excellent. I liked the dining and recreation room where you could relax and read as well as enjoy a meal. The hotel is also well placed, within walking distance of the CBD and Railway station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: price
Cons: The furniture in the lounge could be cleaned looking very grubby
friendly staff at the front desk. however, the whole place needs a make over. looking tired and shabby
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

A comfortable bed

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The cafe
Cons: Easier to read numbers to indicate lift floors
Location: Was very close to railway and bus stations, and Bluebridge ferry.
The bed was great, but area very noisy. room very run down, holes in walls. When using shared bathroom, no way to secure own room and belongings. Toilet flush very stiff and difficult to operate. Bathroom door sticks.In fact, for me the bathroom was a disaster. I am elderly and not agile, so climbing into the shower was difficult. The bath was very stained. On the other hand the cafe was excellent, with cheerful, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, NZ

Great Location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I was attending a block course at The Learning Connexion in Taita and found the location excellent I was a few minutes walk from the bus stop, train station , and New World. There were a few fast food places also close and a bar and cafe in the backpackers so my basic needs were covered really conveniently after an exhausting day in classes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Awesome Place

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Nice and quiet. Definitely going back. Lovely staff. Very central to everything that is needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawke's Bay

very conveinient to facilities

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff. Hot water. User friendly facilities.
Location: Easy access to Rail, Buses, Ferry, Taxis, Cafes and Bars.
comfortable and friendly. Good value for amount paid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for backpackers

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
The location is great--just across the street from the railway station. Even though an hour of free WiFi was included in the room cost, the WiFi did not work at all.