Ratings based on 978 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

King Spa deluxe - room for improvement!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Check-in great.Efficient front desk attendant. Large lobby area welcoming.Concierge prompt/accomodating.King deluxe Spa harbour view room on level 9. view was fantastic!king size bed was amazing.Ordered lavender scented pillow from the "pillow menu"a great touch. Bathroom with large spa and walk-in shower well equipt ,plenty of towels,fantastic lighting-large vanity area.two tvs-one facing the sofa-one to the bed.2 Lighting control panels one located at entrance of room the other next to bed. Room was overall very comfortable.However.... we had intially been allocated a room on the 5th floor, this unfortunately was in no way up to standard in terms of cleanliness. Dust, smugdes on all silver fixtures, bathroom cleanliness was unexceptable poor BR design. supervisor at the time however-very professional, apologetic-genuinely interested in fixing the problem. We received an upgrade to the9th floor as compensation.certainly an improvement, still could be better!Received15%discount for the inconvenience. Polishing silver fixtures, bathroom vanity, window ledges and all other surface areas would really help!No minibar??key re-issued 4 times due to suddenly not working.pool and jacuzi exellent. fantastic buffet range with hot/cold food . Buffet area lacks flow- congested at times. Smudges on elevator walls/room doors out of place for a 5star. I would stay again however would upgrade to club room hoping to get more of a personalised stay with the added touches?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Luxury in the middle of the city

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We loved our stay, which was part of a package and so reasonable for such a lovely hotel. We appreciated how helpful all staff were and especially being able to check in early due to flights. We loved the facilities, pool and sauna, the rooms, the lusciousness of the bed and pillows. It was so handy right in the middle of the city and we had easy access to all we wanted to do. Loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by teina, Hotel Management
Dear Liz, Thank you for your lovely comment. I am please you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, appreciated how helpful all staff were and especially being able to check in early due to flights, loved the facilities, pool and sauna, the rooms, the lusciousness of the bed and pillows, so handy right in the middle of the city and we had easy access to all we wanted. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Very close to everything All staff are nice First class accommodation
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by teina, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. I have read your comment and I am delighted you enjoyed your time here, very close to everything, all staff are nice, first class accommodation. We strive for high level of service in all aspects and we certainly appreciate the opportunity to make sure your stay with us was comfortable and relaxed. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near fututre. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wellington, NZ

Beautiful hotel in a good location

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Location & public areas
Cons: n/a
Location: Located just over the road from the Waterfront where there are restaurants and bars, as well as various activities. Walking distance to everywhere.
We booked a last minute stay at the Intercontinental, we are both Wellingtonians so knew the location was going to be good - it's right by the waterfront and has lots of shopping and restaurants near by. It's down the CBD end of town rather than the nightlife end, but Wellington is compact so you can walk to anywhere. The public areas have been done up recently and they're really beautiful. The rooms are nice - they're not super flashy but they're nice and have everything you need, and everything is good quality. Buffet breakfast is outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by teina, Hotel Management
Dear Josie, Thank you for your lovely comment. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us whilst in Wellington. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, location and within walking distance to the waterfront, restaurants and bars, shops, public areas, rooms are nice. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to improve the guest experience. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth WA

Overnight stop

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Lovely stay, ate in the restaurant which was up market but the staff made it very personal and friendly. Wine list overpriced but that's our only complaint for the whole stay. We will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by teina, Hotel Management
Dear Sophie, Thank you for your loely comment. I am please you chose to stay with us whilst in Wellington. I am delighted to read you had a great stay here, staff made it very personal and friendly, restaurant was up market. However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your visit and for not living up to your expectations regarding our over priced wine. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to all concerned departments. We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location and very friendly staff

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: The club lounge
Cons: Upgrade the rooms
Location: Excellent location, was attending a conference at TSB so it was perfect
Room was very average to be honest. Quite tired and in need of upgrading. Toilet wouldn't even flush properly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by teina, Hotel Management
Dear Anna, Thank you for your comment. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Wellington. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, excellent location, within walking distance to your conference venue, Club Lounge. However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience during your visit and for not living up to your expectations regarding room was quite tired and toilet was not flushing. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to all concerned departments. We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mililani, Hawaii

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Service was EXCELLENT!! Our room was a little jaded ... but, to be fair, I was too cheap to pay the extra $50/night for the renovated option. Location is great.... Didi I mention that the hotel staff are excellent? THEY ARE WORLD CLASS ... I know because I travel all over the world.... Thank you for a very delightful stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Clifford, Thank you for your lovely feedback. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us recently. I am delighted to read you had an excellent time here, location is great, hotel staff was excellent. We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again in the near future. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great location and fantastic from start to finish

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Staff,service,bed and beautiful food
Cons: Cost of drinks a bit on the high side
Our 2n d stay at this lovely downtown hotel. The bed was so comfortable and room well appointed. We enjoyed a beautiful dinner at the hotel restaraunt Chameleon and lunch and drinks in the bar. The staff here certainly understand customer service. Look forward to our next opportunity to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Denyse, Thank you for feedback. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us whilst in Wellington. I am please to read you enjoyed your time here, staff, service, bed and beautiful food. But I am also saddened we did not meet all your expectations. We are committed to guest satisfaction and we certainly appreciate the opportunity to address your concern. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Luxurious Room and Great Location

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Service was good from the start. They took our luggage immediately and had it in our room waiting before we checked in and received the keys.
Cons: Overall, it was good. If there was something I could point out is that housekeeping didn't thoroughly go through the room to neaten it.
Location: Wellington Cable Car is a 3-min walk. Lambton Quay bus stop is a 3-min walk. The wharf with plenty of restaurants is about 5-min.
Service is outstanding from the start. Concierge picked up our luggage before we approached the check-in desk and had it waiting in our rooms. The location is outstanding. We were near the Cable Car and the Lambton Quay bus stop that has all sorts of routes going through it. Numerous shops within blocks of the hotel. Unfortunately, we didn't have the time or the clothes to take advantage of the other amenities offered e.g. indoor pool, gym, and spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Adrian, Thank you for your detailed comment. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We're glad you liked our location, Wellington Cable car, bus stop on Lambton Quay, wharf with plenty restaurants. However, we would like to apologize for the cleanliness of your room was not up to standard Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to all concerned departments for future reference. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Best regards, Scott Hamilton General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

made my weekend perfect

Posted May 21, 2017
Great location. Staff very friendly and professional.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your lovely comment. The team and I appreciate you choosing to stay with us recently.I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time here, great location, staff very friendly and professional. We strive for high level of service in all aspects and we greatly appreciate the opportunity to look after you and to make sure your stay with us comfortable and relaxed. We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again in the near future. Kind regards, Scott Hamilton General Manager